E-F

Ea

Eames, Edwin Hubert

Graves, Charles Burr, Edwin Hubert Eames ... Charles Humphrey Bissell, Luman Andrews, Edgar Burton Harger ... and Charles Alfred Weatherby ... committee of the Connecticut Botanical Society. 1910. Catalogue of the flowering plants and ferns of Connecticut growing without cultivation.. 23 cm. (Connecticut. Geological and Natural History Survey. Bulletin no. 14; (State of Connecticut.Public document no. 47). 569 pp.

Earle, John Milton 1794-1874
b, Leicester; d, Worcester, MA

John M. Earle. Pp. 1685-1686 (portrait facing p. 1538) in History of Worcester County, Massachusetts, vol. II, compiled under the supervision of D. Hamilton Hurd. Philadelphia, PA: J. W. Lewis & Co., 1889.

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 11, p. 145 (port.).

List of Land and fresh water shells of Massachusetts. In: Edward Hitchcock's Report on the geology, mineralogy, botany, and zoology of Massachusetts, 1833, 1835.

Eastman, Sara Chandler 1838-1926
b, North Conway, NH; Portland, ME; School teacher; Reporter to Biological Survey; Member: Audubon Club

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 182].

Eaton, Alvah Augustus -1908

Leavitt, R. G. 1908. In memoriam Alvah Augustus Eaton. Rhodora, vol. 10, no. 120 (Dec.), pp. 209-211.

Day, M. A. 1908. Botanical writings of the late Alvah Augustus Eaton. Rhodora, vol. 10, no. 120 (Dec.), pp. 211-214.

Eaton, Amos 1776-1842
17 May 1776 - 10 May 1842
b, Chatham; d, Troy, NY
Williams College, B.A. 1797
Attended Yale University, 1815-1817
m, Polly Thomas, Sally Cady, Alice Bradley, Alice Johnson; 10 children
Teacher
Lawyer and land agent, Catskill, NY, 1802-1810
Prison for alleged fraud, Greenwich Jail, NY, 1810-1815?
Traveling lecturer, eastern NY and western MA, 1817-18??
Castleton Medical Academy, professor, 1820-21
Rensselaer School, later Rensselaer Institute, professor, 1824-1842

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Sterling, K. B. et al., eds. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 937 pp.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements), article by G. P. M.

McAllister, Ethel M. 1941. Amos Eaton, scientist and educator, 1776-1842. Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press; London, H. Milford, Oxford University Press, 587 pp.

Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990.

Durfee, Calvin. 1860. A sketch of the life and services of the late Professor Amos Eaton. Boston: A. Williams and Co.

Merrill, E. D. 1946. The Amos Eaton Herbarium. Rhodora, vol. 48, no. 573 (Sept.), pp. 201-205. [at Yale University].

Gustafson, A. H. 1937. A note on Amos Eaton's herbarium. Rhodora, vol. 39, no. 461 (May), pp. 153-155.

Pessah, R. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 237-238.

Goode, Beginnings of American Science, p. 437. Quote

Primary works

Amos Eaton Herbarium, Yale University. [E.D. Merrill, ed.] [1946].

A botanical dictionary... 2nd ed. New Haven, 1819.

Botanical dictionary, being a translation from the French of Louis-Claude Richard. New Haven, 1817.

Richard, Louis-Claude. A botanical dictionary. New-Haven, CT: Printed by Nathan Whiting, 1816.

Richard, Louis-Claude. A botanical dictionary. New-Haven, CT: Hezekiah Howe, 1817 ([New-Haven, CT: N. Whiting).

Richard, Louis-Claude. A botanical dictionary. New-Haven, CT: Howe & Spalding, 1819 (Middletown, CT: Clark & Lyman).

Botanical exercises, including directions, rules and descriptions, calculated to aid pupils in the analysis of plants; with a labelling catalogue, for the assistance of teachers. Albany, Websters & Skinners, 1820.

Bulliard, Pierre. Botanical grammar and dictionary. 3d ed., wholly written over, and now including the natural orders of Linneus and Jessieu. Albany, Websters and Skinners, 1828.

Botanical grammar and dictionary, modernized down to 1836. 4th ed. Albany, 1836.

Botanical grammar and dictionary, modernized down to 1836. 5th ed.

Eaton's botanical grammar and dictionary, modernized down to 1836. 4th ed. Albany, N.Y., Oliver Steele; Troy, N.Y., N. Tuttle, 1836.

Manual of botany, for North America: containing generic and specific descriptions of the indigenous plants and common cultivated exotics, growing north of the Gulf of Mexico. 5th ed., rev., cor., and much extended. Albany: Printed by Websters and Skinners, 1829.

North American botany; comprising the native and common cultivated plants, north of Mexico. Genera arranged according to the artificial and natural methods. 8th ed.; with the ... additions of the Properties of plants, from Lindley's New medical flora ... Troy, N.Y., E. Gates, 1840.

Manual of botany for North America: containing generic and specific descriptions of the indigenous plants and common cultivated exotics, growing north of the Gulf of Mexico. 6th ed. With the addition of the most approved natural arrangement of genera: also their etymologies and eccentuation. Albany, O. Steele, 1833.

Manual of botany for North America: containing generic and specific descriptions of the indigenous plants and common cultivated exotics, growing north of the Gulf of Mexico. 7th ed., with an improved and modernized grammar and dictionary; and about 500 new species, chiefly from the Oregon and Arctic regions. Albany: Oliver Steele, 1836.

1 A manual of botany for the northern states: comprising generic descriptions of all phenogamous and cryptogamous plants to the north of Virginia, hitherto described: with references to the natural orders of Linneus and Jussieu: each genus is further illustrated by short descriptions of its most common species. Albany: Printed by Websters and Skinners, 1817.

2 A manual of botany for the northern and middle states. 2nd ed., corr. and enl. Albany [N.Y.]: Websters and Skinners, 1818.

2 A manual of botany for the northern states. Comprising generic descriptions of all phenogamous and cryptogamous plants to the north of Virginia, hitherto described; with references to the natural orders of Linneus and Jussieu. ed. 2, corrected and enlarged. Albany, 1818.

3 A manual of botany for the northern states. Comprising generic descriptions of all phenogamous and cryptog amous plants to the north of Virginia, hitherto described; with references to the natural orders of Linneus and Jussieu. ed. 3. Albany, 1822.

3 Manual of botany, for the northern and middle states of America: containing generic and specific descriptions of the indigenous plants and common cultivated exotics, growing north of Virginia: to which are prefixed, the natural and artificial classes and orders of Linneus, and the natural orders of Jussieu, with the medicinal properties of each order. Third edition, revised and corrected. Albany: Websters and Skinners, 1822.

4 A manual of botany for the northern states. Comprising generic descriptions of all phenogamous and cryptog amous plants to the north of Virginia, hitherto described; with references to the natural orders of Linneus and Jussieu. ed. 4, revised and corrected. Albany, 1824.

4 A manual of botany, for the northern and middle states of America, containing generic and specific descriptions of the indigenous plants and common cultivated exotics, growing north of Virginia; to which is prefixed a grammar and vocabulary; also the natural orders of Linneus and of Jussieu, with the medicinal properties of each order. 4th ed., rev. and corr. Albany: Websters & Skinners, 1824.

5 A manual of botany for the northern states. Comprising generic descriptions of all phenogamous and cryptog amous plants to the north of Virginia, hitherto described; with references to the natural orders of Linneus and Jussieu. ed. 5. Manual of botany for North America. Albany, 1829.

6 A manual of botany for the northern states. Comprising generic descriptions of all phenogamous and cryptog amous plants to the north of Virginia, hitherto described; with references to the natural orders of Linneus and Jussieu. ed. 6, with the addition of the most approved natural arrangement of genera: also their etymologies and accentuation. Albany, 1833.

7 A manual of botany for the northern states. Comprising generic descriptions of all phenogamous and cryptog amous plants to the north of Virginia, hitherto described; with references to the natural orders of Linneus and Jussieu. ed. 7. Albany, 1836.

8 A manual of botany for the northern states. Comprising generic descriptions of all phenogamous and cryptog amous plants to the north of Virginia, hitherto described; with references to the natural orders of Linneus and Jussieu. ed. 8 by Eaton, A. and Wright, J. North American botany. Troy, 1840.

The young botanist's tablet of memory comprising a scientifical arrangement of botanical terms ... to which is added, a Linnean synopsis of classes and orders, with etymological definitions. Catskill [N.Y.]: Printed by Nathan Elliot, 1810.

Zoological text-book, comprising Cuvier's four grand divisions of animals: also, Shaw's improved Linnean genera, arranged according to the classes and orders of Cuvier and Latreille. Albany, Websters and Skinners, 1826.

Eaton, Daniel Cady 1834-1895
12 September 1834 - 29 June 1895
b, Fort Gratiot (now part of Port Huron), MI; d, New Haven, CT
m, Caroline Ketcham, 1866, 3 children
Yale College, B.A. 1857
Lawrence Scientific School, Harvard College, B.S. 1860
U.S. Army Commissary Dept., clerk and inspector of stores, 1861-64
Yale University, professor of botany, 1864-95

Grandson of Amos; Prepared ferns for Gray's Manual; Also marine algae and local flora; Collected in Coos County, 1858

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Davenport, G. E. 1895. Daniel Cady Eaton. Botanical Gazette, v. 20, no. 8 (August), pp. 366-369, pl. xxvi. Portrait

Brewer, W. H. 1895. Daniel Cady Eaton. Yale Sc. Monthly, vol. 2 (October), pp. 1-7.

American Journal of Science, ser. 3, vol. 50, pp. 184-188, 1895

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements), article by W.R.M.

Obituary Record of Graduates of Yale University Deceased during the Academical Year ending in June 1894. No. 4 of the fourth printed series (no. 53 of the whole record), p. 396.

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists: a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 15-18]

Setchell, W. A. 1895. Daniel Cady Eaton. Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club, vol. 2, no.. 7 (August), pp. 341-351. Portrait, bibliography.

Yale University. Sheffield Scientific School. A catalogue of the flowering plants and higher cryptogams growing without cultivation within thirty miles of Yale College. Introduction by Daniel Cady Eaton. Published by the Berzelius Society. New Haven, Sheffield Scientific School, 1878.

Eaton, George Francis 1872-
b, New Haven; Educ: Yale, Ph.D. 1898; Osteology, Paleontology

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

Eaton, John Wilkins 1901-1945
b, Boston; d, Portland, OR; No publications; AOU

Eaton, Richard Jefferson 1890-1976

In memoriam Richard Jefferson Eaton. Rhodora, v. 89, no. 859, p. 337, 1987.

The spontaneous flora of an old house-lot in eastern Massachusetts. Rhodora. Vol. 60 (1958), no. 711, pp. [61]-73 [Lincoln, MA].

A flora of Concord: an account of the flowering plants, ferns, and fern-allies known to have occurred without cultivation in Concord, Massachusetts from Thoreau's time to the present day. Cambridge: Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, 1974, xiii, 236 p. ill. (Museum of Comparative Zoology Special Publication no. 4)

A few noteworthy plants from southern Vermont. Rhodora, v. 34, no. 398 (Feb. 1932), p. 31-34. (with Ludlow Griscom)

Lemna minor as an aggressive weed in the Sudbury River Rhodora, v. 49 (July 1947), 165-171.

Eaton, Warren Francis 1900-1936

Summer birds of Vermont, particularly of the "Long Trail" through the Green Mountains. Joint Bulletin of the Vermont Botanical and Bird Clubs, vol. 11 (1926), pp. 53-63.

Eaton, Walter Prichard 1878-

Barn doors and byways. Ill. by Walter King Stone. Boston: Small, Maynard, 1913, xii + 300 pp. front, illus., plates (part col.).

Green trails and upland pastures. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, Page, 1917, xii + 303 pp., col. front., col. plates.

In Berkshire fields. Ill. by Walter King Stone. NY & London: Harper & Brothers, 1920, 4 + vii-xiii + 312 pp., col. front., illus (part col.), plates (part col).

In Berkshire fields. Ill. by Walter King Stone. Boston: W.A. Wilde, 1926, xiii + 312 pp. col. front., illus , plates (part col).

New England vista. Ill. by Walter King Stone. Boston: W.A. Wilde, 1930, 121 pp. col. front.

On the edge of the wilderness; Tales of our Wild Animal Neighbors. Ill. by Charles Livingston Bull. Boston, Chicago: W.A. Wilde, 1920, 312 pp. front., plates.

On yankee hilltops. Ill. by Edwin H. Lincoln. Boston: W.A. Wilde, 1933, 128 pp., front.

Skyline camps; a notebook of a wanderer in our northwestern mountains. Ill. by Fred H. Kiser, Boston, Chicago: W.A. Wilde, 1922, 7 + 245 pp., front, plates. Cascade Range; Northwest, Pacific.

Wild gardens of New England. Ill by photographs. Boston: W.A. Wilde, 1936, 124 pp. front., plates ????

Eaton, Warren Francis 1900-1936
b, Weston, MA; Montclair, NJ; Educ: Harvard, 1922; Business; Moved to NYC c1924, to NJ, 1927; Fieldwork in Green Mountains; Member: Green Mountain Club, Linnaean Society of New York; Montclair Bird Club, New Jersey Field Ornithology Club, New Jersey Ornithological Society, Nuttall Club; AOU

Ec

Eckstorm, Fannie Pearson Hardy 1865-1946
18 June 1865 - 31 December 1946
b,d, Brewer, ME
Smith College, 1888
m, Rev. Jacob A. Eckstorm, 2 children
Brewer School superintendent, 1889-91
D.C. Heath, Boston, reader of manuscripts on scientific subjects, 1891-92

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

Strom, D., ed. 1986. "Fannie Hardy Eckstorm 1865-1946." Pp. 99-111 in Birdwatching with American Women. NY: W. W. Norton. [Biographical sketch, portrait, and "Concerning the bad reputation of Whiskey John."]

Chapter on Maine Indians. Pp. 110-113 in The Maine Book, by Henry F. Dunnock. Augusta, 1920, 338 pp.

Ring, E. 1953. Fannie Hardy Eckstorm: Maine woods historian. New England Quarterly, vol. 26, pp. 45-64.

Sterling, K. B., ed. 1997. Biographical dictionary of American and Canadian naturalists and environmentalists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 937 p. [article by C. D. Chambers, pp. 238-240.

Whitten, J. P. 1975. Fannie Hardy Eckstorm: A Descriptive Bibliography. Northeast Folklore, vol. 16, pp. 10-76.

Williams, D. H. 1985. Lady of the woods: Some correspondence of Fannie Hardy Eckstorm. Colby Library Quarterly, vol. 21, pp. 28-33.

Edwards, Vinal N. 1840-1919

Born in Woods Hole March 19, 1840, died April 5, 1919, both in Woods Hole. Collector for the U.S. Fish Commission.

See VINAL N. EDWARDS.

Galtsoff, P. S. 1962. The story of the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries Biological Laboratoy, Woods Hole, Massachusetts. U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Bureau of Commercial Fisheries Circular 145, 121 p. [pp. 13, 16-17, portrait, fig. 7 (p. 15)]

Traver, Tim. 2006. Sippewissett, or, Life on a salt marsh. White River Junction, VT: Chelsea Green Pub., 250 p. [pp. 29-31]

Eggleston, Willard Webster 1863
Botany in Coos County, 1898-1901

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

Addenda to the Flora of Vermont, by W. W. E. and Ezra Brainerd. Rhodora v. 6 (1904): 137-144.

Vermont plants, 1901. Rutland, VT: W.W. Eggleston, [4] p. (Includes: Mt. Washington plants).

The flora of Mt. Mansfield. 1895?. Botanical Gazette, vol. 20, pp. 72-75.

Vermont Botanical Club. Brainerd, Ezra, L. R. James, and W. W. Eggleston. Flora of Vermont; a list of the fern and seed plants growing without cultivation. Contributions to the botany of Vermont, VIII. Burlington, Free press association, 1900, 113 pp. (Extracted from 20th Vermont Agricultural Report) LOCATION: Widener: Sci 1644.2

Ekblaw, Walter Elmer 1882-1949
b, Rantoul, IL; d, Grafton, MA; Clark University, Ph.D., 1926; Department of Geology, Clark University; Managing editor, Economic Geology; Founder/first president, Forbush Bird Club, Worcester, MA; Director/secretary, Worcester Natural History Society; Director, Massachusetts Audubon Society; Column in Worcester Sunday Telegram; AOU

El

Eldredge, Arthur Stuart 1860-1919
b, West Roxbury; d, South Lincoln; Farmed in Lincoln; had ranch in Texas; Knew Forbush

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 187].

Eliot, Charles 1859-1897
b, Cambridge, MA, d, Brookline, MA; 1 Nov. 1859-25 Mar. 1897

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements), article by T.K.H.

Eliot, C. W. Charles Eliot: Landscape Architect, A Lover of Nature and of his Kind, Who Trained Himself for a New Profession, Practised it Happily and Through it Wrought Much Good. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin, 1902.

Eliot, Jared

Thomas, H. 1958. The doctors Jared of Connecticut: Jared Eliot, Jared Potter, Jared Kirtland. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 76 pp.

Thomas, H. 1967. Jared Eliot: Minister, doctor, scientist, and his Connecticut. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 156 pp.

True, R. H. 1928. Agricultural History, v. 2, pp. 185-212.

Thom, H. 1959. Th portraits of two Connecticut doctors, pioneers in American medicine. Connecticut, vol. 23 (Dec.).

Biggs, C. L. Jared Eliot: a son of Guilford. 7 pp.

Eliot, Samuel Atkins, Jr.
Northampton; AOU

Bagg, Aaron Clark, and Samuel Atkins Eliot, Jr. 1937. Birds of the Connecticut Valley in Massachusetts. Northampton, MA: The Hampshire bookshop, 813 p.

Ely, J. W. C.
President, 1854-55, Providence Franklin Society; Meisel, 1821

Em

Emerson, C. B.
Collected in White Mountains, 1819

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]

Emerson, C. C.

Edward Hitchcock included birds from Emerson's report to the Boston Society of Natural History in his Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts. Massachusetts, 1835.

Emerson, George B. 1797-1881
b, Wells, ME; d, Newton, MA; Harvard, B.A., 1817

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp. [Seila emersoni named in honor by C. B. Adams]

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements), article by E.H.J.

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 11.

Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 16 (1881), pp. 427-429.

Bouvé, T. T. 1880. Boston Society of Natural History Anniversary Memoir, pp. 235-237. Portrait.

Hay, I. 1994. George Barrell Emerson and the establishment of the Arnold Arboretum Arnoldia (Jamaica Plain). 54(3), pp. 12-21.

Waterston, R. C. Memoir of George Barrell Emerson, Ll.D. Cambridge: John Wilson and Son, 1884.

Winthrop, R. C. Tribute to John C. Gray and George B. Emerson. Addresses and Speeches on Various Occasions from 1878 to 1886. Boston: Little, Brown, 1886, pp. 227-232. Addresses and Speeches on Various Occasions, v. 4. [MHS address]

Primary works

Reminiscences of an Old Teacher. Boston: Alfred Mudge & Son, 1878, and New-England Journal of Education, vol. 3, no. 2 - vol. 4, no. 8, (1876).

A report on the trees and shrubs growing naturally in the forests of Massachusetts. Boston, Dutton and Wentworth, state printers, 1846.

A report on the trees and shrubs growing naturally in the forests of Massachusetts: originally published agreeably to an order of the legislature by the commissioners on the zoological and botanical survey of the state. 2nd ed. 2 v. Boston: Little, Brown, and Co., 1875. 3d ed. 2 v. Boston: Little, Brown, 1878.

Forest trees. Trans. Norfolk Agricultural Society, 12 pp., 1859.

Emerton, James Henry 1847-1930
b, Salem; d, Boston, MA

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

Canadian Field-Naturalist, vol. 45, p. 90, 1931.

Calvert, J. 1931. Entomological News, vol. 42, p. 95. Portrait.

Davis, J. J. 1931. Annals of the Entomological Society of America, vol. 24, p. 188.

Banks, N. 1932. J. H. Emerton. Psyche, vol. 39, pp. 1-8. Bibliography, portrait.

Banks, N. 1931. J. H. Emerton. Canadian Entomologist, vol. 63, pp. 23-24.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements), article by E. A. Back.

Johnson, C. W. 1931. James Henry Emerton. Bulletin of the Boston Society of Natural History, no. 58, pp. 21-22.

Johnson, C. W. 1931. James Henry Emerton. Nautilus, vol. 44, pp. 94-95.

Mallis, Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.

Emilio, S. Gilbert

Griscom, L. 1954. Thumbnail sketches of our vice-presidents: S. Gilbert Emilio. Bulletin of the Massachusetts Audubon Society, v. 38, pp. 270-271.

Emmerton, S. P.

Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33 [mentioned p. 24].

Emmons, Ebenezer 1799-1863
May 16, 1799-Oct. 1, 1863
b, Middlefield, MA; d, Brunswick County, NC
Williams College, AB 1818
Studied at Albany Medical College
Renssalaer School, graduated 1826
m, Maria Cone, 3(+) children
Lecturer in chemistry, Albany Medical College
Medical practice, 1827- , Cester and Willkiasmtown, MA
Lecturer in chemistry, Williams College, 1828-34
Professor of natural history, Williams College, 1833-59
Junior professor of chemistry, Renssalaeir Institute, 1830
Lecturer at Castleton (Vermont) Medical School
Geologist, New York Natural History Survey, 1836-1842
Custodian, New York state collections, 1842-51.
Professor of chemistry, Albany Medical College, 1838-51
North Carolina state geologist, 1851-59
Professor of geology and mineralogy, Williams College, 1859-1863

Although known primarily for his geological work in New York and North Carolina, Emmons contributed sections on mammals to the Massachusetts Geological Survey, 1833, revised edition, 1835
Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists

Berry, J. B. 1869. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 12, pp. 214-216.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Deane, Ruthven. Manuscript of Emmon's catalogue of Massachusetts birds. 1901. Auk, v. 18, pp. 403-405.

Durfee, C. 1871. Williams Biographical Annals. pp. 142-145.

Marcou, J. J. 1891. American Geologist, vol. 7, pp. 1-23. Bibliography, portrait.

Marcou, J. J. Science, vol. 5, pp. 456-458, 1885.

Osborn, H. 1937. Fragments of Entomological History, p. 141. Portrait

Popular Science Monthly, vol. 48 (January), pp. 406-411, 1896. Portrait

Scudder, 1869. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 12, pp. 261.

Sterling, K. B. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 249-251.

Strecker, H. 1878. Butterflies and Moths of North America, p. 225. Bibliography.

Walton, W. R. 1921. Proceedings of the Entomological Society of Washington, vol. 23, pp. 85-86.

Youmans, W. J. 1896. Pioneers of Science in America, pp. 347-355. Portrait.

Birds. In: Edward Hitchcock. Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts. Massachusetts, 1933, 1935.

Report on the quadrupeds of Massachusetts. Cambridge [Mass.]: Folsom, Wells, and Thurston, printers to the University, 1840, 277+86pp. LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Spec. Coll.

Massachusetts. Zoological and Botanical Survey. Reports of the Commissioners on the zoological survey of the state. Boston, Dutton and Wentworth, state printers, 1838.

Massachusetts. Zoological and Botanical Survey. Reports on the herbaceous plants and on the quadrupeds of Massachusetts. Cambridge, Folsom, Wells, and Thurston, Printers, 1840.

Ennis, Beulah Pearl

The life forms of Connecticut plants and their significance in relation to climate. State Geological and Natural History Survey of Connecticut. Bulletin no. 43. Thesis (PH.D.) - Yale university, 1925. 100 pp. 20 pl.

Eu

Eustis, George D. -1837
Estate on Martha's Vineyard; Bird bander, collected insects

Jones, F. M. 1938. George D. Eustis of Hollyholm. Bull. Boston Society of Natural History, no. 87, pp. 14-15.

Evans, Alexander William 1868-1959
b, Buffalo, NY; PhD. Yale, 1899, MD, 1892; Instructor-Professor, Yale, 1895-; Hepaticae

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

Anderson, L. E. 1960. Personal reflections on Alexander W. Evans. The Bryologist, vol. 63, pp. 84-88. Portrait.

Fernald, M. L. 1950. Alexander W. Evans. Rhodora, vol. 52, no. 615 (March), pp. 49-51.

Hale, M. E., Jr. 1960. Alexander W. Evans and lichenology. The Bryologist, vol. 63, pp. 81-83.

Hale, M. E., Jr. 1960. Alexander William Evans. Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club, vol. 87, pp. 354-356.

Nichols, G. E. 1938. Alexander William Evans, hepaticologist. Annales bryologici, vol. 11, pp. 1-5. Portrait

Reeder, J. R. 1960. Alexander William Evans. Taxon, vol. 9, pp. 168-169. Portrait.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 18-20]

Schuster, R. M. 1960. Alexander W. Evans - an appreciation. The Bryologist, vol. 63, pp. 73-81. Portrait.

Stotler, R. E. 1984. Evans - a bryological/licenological interconnection. Evansia, vol. 1, no. 1, pp. 2-3.

Primary Sources

Catalogue of the lichens of Connecticut. State Geological and Natural History Survey of Connecticut. Bulletin no. 37. Hartford, Printed by the State Geological and Natural History Survey, 1926. 49 pp.

Notes on Connecticut lichens. [n.p.] 1927.

Notes on the Cladoniae of Connecticut. [I]-IV. [n.p.], 1932-50.

Supplementary report on the Cladoniae of Connecticut. Transactions of the Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences, v. 35. New Haven, Conn., Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1944.

The Cladoniae of Connecticut. Transactions of the Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences, v. 30, June 1930, p. 357-510. New Haven, Conn., Connecticut academy of arts and sciences [1930].

The Cladoniae of Vermont. [n.p.], 1947.

The bryophytes of Connecticut, by A. W. Evans & George Elwood Nichols. Connecticut. State Geological and Natural History Survey. Bulletin no. 11, State of Connecticut. Public document no. 47, 1908, 203 pp.

Preliminary lists of New England plants. XI. Hepaticae.

The bryophytes of Connecticut. Connecticut. State Geological and Natural History Survey. Bulletin no. 11. State of Connecticut. Public document no. 47. Hartford, Printed for the State Geological and Natural History Survey, 1908.

Everett, Oliver -1802 at 49
Harvard, 1779; Wm. Allen, Am. Biogr. Hist. Dict.

Evermann, Barton Warren 1853-1932

An annotated list of the fishes known from the state of Vermont. Report U.S. Commissioner Fish & Fisheries. 1894. 579-604. Washington, 1896.

An annotated list of the fishes known from the state of Vermont. Washington, Govt. print. off., 1896.