F

Fa

Fairbanks, The Hon. Franklin -1895 at 67
b, VT; d, St. Johnsbury, VT; Businessman; Promoter of natural history; Gave Fairbanks Museum of Natural History to St. Johnsbury(?); AOU

Fall, Henry Clinton 1862-1939
b, Farmington, NH; d, Tyngsboro, MA

Darlington, P. J., Jr. 1940. Henry Clinton Fall (1862-1939). Psyche, vol. 47, pp. 45-54.

Linsley, E. G. 1940. Henry Clinton Fall. Pan-Pacific Entomologist, vol. 16, pp. 1-3.

Mallis, Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.

Sherman, J. D., Jr. 1940. Henry Clinton Fall. Journal of the New York Entomological Society, vol. 48, pp. 33-36.

Fanning, Jed F.
Portland; Norton Auk obit

Farley, John Austin 1860-1930
b, Andover; d, Fall River, MA; Reporter in Worcester; Associate of Forbush in Gypsey moth & bird work; Entomology; AOU

Farlow, William Gilson 1844-1919
b, Boston; 17 Dec. 1844-3 June 1919
Education: Harvard University, MD 1870, LLD 1896; Harvard Asst prof - prof. 1874-; Systematic algology & mycology

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Blakeslee, A.F., R. Thaxter & W. Trelease. 1920. William Gilson Farlow, December 17, 1944-June 3, 1919. American Journal of Botany, vol. 7 (May), pp. 173-181. Portrait.

Henderson, L. J. 1927. William Gilson Farlow. Pp. 314-316 in Later Years of the Saturday Club, 1870-1920, ed. by M. A. De Wolfe Howe. Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 427 p. Portrait

Harris, H. F. 1945. The Correspondence of William G. Farlow during his student days at Strasbourg. Farlowia, vol. 2, pp. pp. 9-37. Portrait

Jackson, C. L. 1922. William Gilson Farlow (1944-1919). Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 57, pp. 484-491.

Linder, D. H. 1945. In honor of William Gilson Farlow. Farlowia, vol. 2, no. 1 (January), pp. 1-8.

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 22, pp. 207-208.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 21-23]

Riddle, L. W. 1920. William Gilson Farlow. Rhodora, vol. 22, pp. 1-16. Portrait.

Setchell, W. A. 1927. Biographic Memoir of William Gilson Farlow 1844-1919. National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs, vol. 21, no. 4, 22 pp. Portrait.

Thaxter, R. 1919 or 1920. William Gilson Farlow. Botanical Gazette, vol. 69, pp. 83-87. Portrait.

Thaxter, R. 1919. William Gilson Farlow. Harvard Graduates Magazine, December, pp. 269-277. [Portraits] Reprinted in American Journal of Science, ser. 4, vol. 49, pp. 87-95 (1920).

Thaxter, R., W. J. V. Osterhut and T. W. Richards. 1919. Minute on the life and services of Professor William Gilson Farlow. Harvard University Gazette, vol. 15, 60-61 (13 December 1919).

W[akefield], E. M. 1919. William Gilson Farlow. Kew Bull. Misc. Inf., vol. 9, pp. 388-390.

Primary works

The Marine Algae of New England and Adjacent Coast. Report of the U. S. Fish Commission for 1879, 1881 or 1882, 210 pp.

Farnum, Joseph, Jr.
Reptiles & fish; Dexter, 1977, p. 44

Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53 [mentioned p. 44].

Faxon, Charles Edward 1846-
b, Roxbury; B.S. HU, 1867; hon, A.M., 1897; Asst Dir, Arnold Arboretum, 1882-; Collected in White Mountains, 1872-1902; Botanical illustration

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

Charles Edward Faxon, delineavit. Arnoldia, v. 46, no. 3 (1986), pp. 18-22. Portrait.

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

Sargent, C. S. 1918. Charles Edward Faxon. Rhodora, vol. 20, no. 235 (July), pp. 117-122. Portrait.

Faxon, Edwin 1823-1898
Collected in White Mountains, 1872-1902

Kennedy, G. G. 1900. Edwin Faxon. Rhodora, vol. 2, no. 18 (June), pp. 107-111. Portrait.

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 24-25]

Faxon, Walter 1848-1920
b, Jamaica Plain; d, Lexington, MA; Harvard, A.B., 1871, S.B., 1872, Sc.D., 1878; Curator of Invertebrates, MCZ, 1874-1920 (AOU); Assistant in charge of Molluscs & Crustacea, 1886- ; Instructor-Professor, HU, 1872-1886; Collected Wilsoniana

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

AOU

Barbour, Thomas. 1946. A naturalist's scrapbook. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 218 p.[p. 27, 33]

Henshaw, S. 1921. Walter Faxon. Harvard Graduate's Magazine, vol. 29 (March), pp. 417-421.

Jackson, R. T. 1929. Amer. Peony Society Bull. v. 21, pp. 16-17

T[aylor], W. M. 1921. [Obituary]. Auk, vol. 38 (January), pp. 157-158.

Primary works

On the summer birds of Berkshire County, Massachusetts.

The birds of Berkshire county, Massachusetts, by W. Faxon and Ralph Hoffmann. [S.l.: s.n., 1900?]. 60 pp.

Fe

Fellows, Dana Willis 1847-1928

The fern flora of Maine. Fern Bulletin, vol. 14, pp. 97-104, pl.

History of dentistry in Maine : being a history of the Maine Dental Society, together with biographies of the Presidents of the Maine Dental Society : a biographical sketch of the early dentists in Maine : a history of dental legislation in Maine : a history of local dental societies in Maine : a list of veterans of the Civil War, who were also dentists of Maine : a list of Maine dental authors and a list of Maine dental inventors and inventions / prepared for the Maine Dental Society by Dana Willis Fellows. Portland, Maine : Maine Dental Society, 1924. 126 p.

History of the town of Lincoln, Penobscot County, Maine, 1822 -1928, by Dana Willis Fellows ... Lewiston, Me., Printed by the Dingley press, inc. [c1929] 436, [8] p.

Ferguson, Margaret Clay 1863-1951

Botany at Wellesley; the new greenhouses and gardens. Wellesley alumnae quarterly. v. 8 (1924), p. [170]-183. illus., plans (1 fold.)

Fernald, Charles Henry 1838-1921
b, Mt. Desert Island, ME; A.M., Bowdoin, 1871; Ph.D., Maine, 1886; Professor of Natural History, Maine, 1871-1886; Zoology, Mass. Coll., 1886-; Insects- Lepidoptera, moths

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Boardman, S. L. 1893. Agricultural bibliography of Maine, pp. 34-?????.

Braun, A. F. 1921. Charles Henry Fernald. Entomological News, vol. 32, pp. 129-133.

Charles Henry Fernald, pp. [4]-10 in Entomology and zoology at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, by Warren Elmer Hinds. Amherst, MA: Massachusetts Agricultural College, 1911, 52 p. Includes list of the entomological publications from the Massachusetts agricultural college, to January 1, 1911: pp. 41-49. Portrait.

Hinds, W. E. 1933. Fernald Club Yearbook. Amherst: University of Massachusetts.

Howard, L. O. 1910. C. H. Fernald. Science, vol. 32, pp. 769-775.

Mallis, Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.

Spear, R. J. 2005. The great gypsy moth war: the history of the first campaign in Massachusetts to eradicate the gypsy moth, 1890-1901. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 308 p.

The butterflies of Maine ... Augusta [Me.]: Sprague & Son, 1884.

Fernald, Henry Torsey 1866-1952
b, Litchfield, ME; 5 Oct. 1873-22 Sept. 1950
Education: M.S., Maine, 1888; Ph.D. Hopkins, 1890
Professor of Entomology, Mass. College, 1899- ; Economic entomology, Sphecidae

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

Alexander, C. P. 1943. Henry Torsey Fernald (1866-1952). Entomological News, vol. 64, pp. 85-88.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Henry Torsey Fernald, pp. 11-14 in Entomology and zoology at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, by Warren Elmer Hinds. Amherst, MA: Massachusetts Agricultural College, 1911, 52 p. Includes list of the entomological publications from the Massachusetts agricultural college, to January 1, 1911: pp. 41-49. Portrait.

Mallis, Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.

Fernald, Maria [Mrs. C. H. Fernald] 1839-1919
b, Monmouth, ME;

Felt, E. P. 1920. Maria E. Fernald. Journal of Economic Entomology, vol. 15, p. 153.

[List of Noctuidae taken in Orono, ME, and vicinity] Papilio, vol. 3 (1883), pp. 21-23.

Mallis, Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.

Fernald, Merritt Lyndon 1873-1950
b, Orono, ME; d, Cambridge, MA; B.S. HU, 1897; Asst, Gray Herarium, 1891-1902; Instructor - asst professor, HU, 1902-; Systematic & geographical botany

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 38, pp. 590-591.

Nat. Canad. v. 80, pp. 176-185

Bartlett, H. H. 1951. Fernald as reviser of Gray's Manual. Rhodora, vol. 53, no. 626 (February), pp. 44-55.

Drobnicki, J. A. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 265-266.

Fogg, J. M., Jr. 1951. Fernald as teacher. Rhodora, vol. 53, no. 626 (February), pp. 39-43.

Pease, A. S. 1951. Merritt Lyndon Fernald. Rhodora, vol. 53, no. 626 (February), pp. 33-39. Port.

Rollins, R. C. 1951. Fernald as a botanist. Rhodora, vol. 53, no. 626 (February), pp. 56-61

Merrill, E. D. Merritt Lyndon Fernald. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 28 (1954), pp. 45-98, p. b.

Griscom, L. 1951. Fernald in the field. Rhodora, vol. 53, no. 626 (February), pp. 61-65.

Hinds, J. W. and R. C. Harris. 1997. The lichen collections of Merritt Lyndon Fernald and Elmer Drew Merrill, two eminent botanists from Maine. Northeastern Naturalist, v. 4, no. 4, pp. 293-300.

Mehrhoft, L. J. 1990. "A Dream of the Woods:" a recently discovered piece of early Fernaldiana. Rhodora, vol. 92, pp. 113-119. Poem

Mehrhoft, L. J. 1995. Merritt Lyndon Fernald - 1873-1950. Bulletin of the Josselyn Botanical Society of Maine, v. 12, pp. 11-16.

Primary works

The Portland catalogue of Maine plants : Supplement (Portland Society of Natural History (Me.). Proceedings ; v. 2 (1895), pt. 3 73-96).

Second supplement to the Portland Catalogue on Maine plants.

New list of Maine plants. Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History, 1892, pp.41-72. (The Portland catalogue of Maine plants 2d ed).

Key to the families of spring-flowering plants of eastern Massachusetts. Cambridge: Harvard University, 1924.

Notes on the plants of Wineland the Good. Rhodora, v. 12 (1910), p. 17-38.

Gray, Asa. Manual of Botany: A Handbook of the Flowering Plants and Ferns of the Central and Northeastern United States and Adjacent Canada. 8th (centennial) ed., illustrated. Largely rewritten and expanded by Merritt Lyndon Fernald, with assistance of specialists in some groups. NY: American Book Co., 1950.

Ferry, Miss Mary Bissell 1849-1915
b,d, Norwalk, CT; Supported protective legislation; AOU

Fewkes, Jesse Walter 1850-1930
b, Newton, MA; d, Forest Glen, MD; 14 Nov. 1850-31 May 1930
EDUCATION: Harvard, A.B., 1875, PhD., 1877
Overseer, Peabody Museum, Harvard; Ethnologist, zoologist

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Stephens, L. D. and D. R. Calder. 2010. The zoological career of Jesse Walter Fewkes (1850–1930). Archives of Natural History, v. 37, pp. 255-273.

Who Was Who in America, 1943

Fi

Field, George Wilton 1863-1938
b, N. Bridgewater, MA; AM, Brown, 1890; PhD, Johns Hopkins, 1892; Mass. Commission on Fisheries and Game, 1903-; Birds, echinoderms, edible fishes & shellfish; heath hen

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

Wilson, J. Walter. George Wilton Field, 1863-1938 : a pioneer conservationist. Providence, R.I. : Priv. print., 1968. 85 p. : port.

Primary works

A report upon the eastern pinnated grouse or heath hen. (Tympanuchus cupido). Rept. Comm. Fish & Game. Mass. 1907 (1908). 42. 56-66. pp. 13. 3 pls.

The larva of Asterias vulgaris. Quart. Journ. Micr. Sci. 1892. 34. 105-128. pl. 13-15. pp. 24. 3 pls. 8vo

Report of the Biological Division for 1897. Rhode Island Agricultural Experiment Station, p. 117-165, ill. In: Rhode Island State College. Agricultural Experiment Station. Annual report, 1897 (1898). (Includes: Point Judith Pond by George Wilton Field; Methods in planktology by George Wilton Field; The star-fish (Asterias fobesii) in Narrangasett Bay by George Wilton Field).

Field, William Lusk Webster 1876-
b, Milton, MA; Instructor, Milton Academy, 1900-; Editor, Psyche, 1904-09; Insects, variation & Inheritance

Finneran, L. C.

Reptiles in Branford, Connecticut. Herpetologica, vol. 4, pp. 123-126, 1948.

Fisher, Joshua 1748-1833

Contributed descriptions of quadrupeds to Morse's American Universal Geography, 1793

Bentinck-Smith, W. & E. Stouffer. 1991. Fisher Professorship of Natural History, 1834. In Harvard University History of Named Chairs, vol. ??, pp. 200-202.

Channing, W. 1833. A Brief Memoir of Joshua Fisher, M.D. Late President of the Massachusetts Medical Society. The Society, 9 pp.

Jackson, R. L. 1948. The Physicians of Essex County. Salem, MA: Essex Institute, 152 pp. [p. 43]

Sibley's Harvard Graduates, edited by Clifford K. Shipton, vol. 16 (1972), pp. 355-358. [with portrait]

Fiske, W. F.

An annotated catalogue of the butterflies of New Hampshire. Durham: N.H. College of Agriculture and the Mechanic Arts, Technical Bulletin no. 1 (1901), 80 pp.

Fl

Flagg, Wilson 1805-1884
5 Nov. 1805-6 May 1884

AOU

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Auk, vol. 1 (July), p. 306, 1884.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 8, p. 310 (port.).

The birds and seasons of New England. Boston: J.R. Osgood, 1875, vi + 457 pp., front., 11 plates.

Halcyon days. Boston: Estes and Lauriat, 1881, 316 pp. [selections from: The birds and seasons of New England and The woods and by-ways of New England]

Studies in the field and forest. Boston: Little, Brown, 1857, vi + 330 pp

The woods and by-ways of New England. Boston: J.R. Osgood, 1872, xviii + 442 pp. front., plates.

A year among the trees; or The woods and by-ways of New England. Boston: Estes and Lauriat, 1881, xviii + 335 pp.

A year with the birds; or, The birds and seasons of New England. Boston: Estes and Lauriat, 1881, iv + 324 pp. [partial reprint of The birds and seasons of New England]

Flanagan, John Henry 1868-1920
b, Cranston,; d, Providence, RI; Harvard Law School; Lawyer; Secretary, Rhode Island Bird Commission; Bird Commissioner for Providence County and Chairman of the Board, 1905-08; Obit, Providence Evening Bulletin, Feb. 24, 1920, reprinted in The Oologist, vol. 37, p. 42, 1920.; Member, Providence Gun Club; Providence Fish and Game Association; AOU

Fletcher, Emily Francis 1845-1923

Robinson, B. L. 1923. Emily Francis Fletcher. Rhodora, vol. 24, no. 297 (Sept.), 149-150.

Fletcher, Laurence Brown

Birds of the Massachusetts South Shore. South Shore Nature Club. 1932.

Flint, Charles Louis 1824-1889
b, Middleton, MA; Education: Harvard; Permanent secretary, Massachusetts Board of Agriculture, 1853-1880.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements), by C.R.B.

Putnam, F. W. 1890. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 24, pp. 199-200.

Flint, William Francis
Collected alpine plants in White Mountains, 1870s

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

Observations upon the distribution of plants in New Hampshire and Vermont. American naturalist, 1877, pp. 89-95.

Flynn, Nellie Francis 1861?-1922

Flora of Burlington and vicinity; a list of the fern and seed plants growing without cultivation. Burlington, VT: Free Press Printing Company, 1911, 124 p. (Contributions to the botany of Vermont 9).

Flora of Burlington and vicinity: a list of the fern and seed plants growing without cultivation. 2d ed. Burlington, VT: Free Press Print Co., 1935, 130 p., [1] leaf of plates, port. (Contribution to the botany of Vermont 9)

Fo

Foerster, Norman

Summer birds in the Harvard Yard. Harvard Grad. Mag., v. 19 (1911), pp. 615-618.

Fogg, Benjamin F.
Curator, Portland Society of Natural History, 1862; Meisel, 1843

List of reptiles and amphibians found in the state of Maine. Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History, vol. 1, p. 86, 1862.

Fogg, John M.

The flora of the Elizabeth Islands, Massachusetts. Cambridge, MA: Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (Contributions, No. 91), 1930, pp. [119]-281. map.

Folger, E. V.

Griscom, L. & E. V. Folger. 1948. The Birds of Nantucket. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 156 pp.

Forbes, Eli 1726-1804
5 Oct. 1726-15 Dec. 1804; Pastor of North Brookfield and Gloucester, MA. Friend of Manasseh Cutler.

Dexter, R. W. 1986. Two centuries of naturalists on Cape Ann, Massachusetts. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 122, no. 3, 246-258 [mentioned p. 246].

Sibley’s Harvard graduates. Biographical sketches of those who attended Harvard College, by Clifford K. Shipton. Boston: Massachusetts Historical Society, 1965, vol. 13, pp. 47-60.

Forbes, William Trowbridge Merrifield, 1885-

Field tables of Lepidoptera, by Wm. T. M. Forbes. Worcester, Mass., 1906. 141 p.
Museum Comp Zoology | E.D.Lep.-F695

[Field tables of Lepidoptera.] In : Nature study and life, by Clifton F. Hodge, 1902, p. 264-273.
Museum Comp Zoology | Z-H 688

Forbush, Edward Howe 1858-1929
b, Quincy; 24 Apr. 1858-8 Mar. 1929
Various offices, Worcester Natural History Society, 1880-91; Massachusetts State Board of Agriculture, 1891-
Ornithology, economic entomology

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

AOU

May, John H. 1928. Edward Howe Forbush: A biographical sketch. Proceedings of the Boston Society of natural History, vol. 39, no. 2, pp. 33-63, 2 pl.

Chambers, C. D. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 275-277.

Cheney, Rev. Robert F. 1928. A list of the writings of Edward Howe Forbush. Proceedings of the Boston Society of natural History, vol. 39, no. 2, pp. 64-72.

Pearson, T. Gilbert. 1930. Edward Howe Forbush. Auk, April.

Primary works

Birds of Massachusetts and other New England states. Ill. by Louis Agassiz Fuertes, Allan Brooks, the author, and others. Massachusetts Department of Agriculture, (Norwood, MA: Norwood Press) 1925-29, 3 v., front. (v.3), illus. (incl. map), plates (part col,.) v. 3 includes biographical sketch of the author by John Richard May.

A history of the game birds, wild-fowl and shore birds of Massachusetts and adjacent states... with observations on their...recent decrease in numbers; also the means for conserving those still in existence. [Boston, Wright & Potter printing company, state printers, 1912].

Two years with the birds on a farm. A revision of a lecture delivered at the public winter meeting of the State board of agriculture at North Adams ... 1902. Massachusetts. Dept. of Agriculture. Economic Ornithology. Bulletin no. 4. Rev. and reprinted from the 50th annual report of the Massachusetts State Board of Agriculture. Boston, Wright and Potter, State Printers, 1920.; 2nd ed., rev. June, 1908. Boston: Wright & Potter Printing Co., 1908.

Useful birds and their protection. Containing brief descriptions of the more common and useful species of Massachusetts, with accounts of their food habits, and a chapter on the means of attracting and protecting birds. 2d ed. [Boston, Mass.] 1907.

Natural bird gardens on Mount Desert Island. Bar Harbor, ME: The Wild Gardens of Acadia, 1917?, 11 pp.. illus. (Sieur de Monts publications, xv).

Ford, Howard I.

The birds of Andover. Andover, MA: The School Department, 1900. 19 pp.

Forsyth, Dr. J. B.
Of Sandwich; Cape Cod fishes; Acknowledged in Storer, 1839

Fortner, H. C.

A list of Vermont birds, by H. C. Fortner, Wendell P. Smith & E. J. Dole. Bulletin, no. 41. Montpelier, Vt., Published by Department of agriculture, 1933? 54 pp.

Foster, Benjamin 1700-1775
b, Ipswich, MA

Felt's History of Ipswich

Foster Genealogy, p. 144

Jackson, R. L. 1948. The Physicians of Essex County. Salem, MA: Essex Institute, 152 pp. [p. 44]

Foster, George Sanford

Birds and bird clubs. Boston, The Christopher publishing house, 1936, 237 p. New Hampshire.

Foster, Nathan W.
Commission of Fisheries of the State of Maine, 1868; Kendall, 1914, Fishes of Maine

Foster, Richard Winslow 1920-1964
b, Brookline, MA; d, Rome, Italy; Harvard, A. B., 1950; MCZ

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Turner, R. D. 1970. Johnsonia, vol. 4, p. 3. Portraits

Fowler, Samuel P.

Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. [v. 2, p. 518]. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

Anon. 1889. Samuel P. Fowler. Historical Collections of the Essex Institute, vol. 26, nos. 4, 5, & 6, pp. 81-89, portrait facing p. 81.

White, A. P. 1888. "Danvers." in History of Essex County, Massachusetts, ed. by. D. Hamilton Hurd. Philadelphia, PA: A. W. Lewis, 2 vols. [Samuel P. Fowler, vol. 1, pp. 553-556, portrait facing p. 553]

Catalogue of the Valuable Library of Samuel P. Fowler, esq., of Danvers, forming a very valuable collection of works relating to the history of America and England, early voyages and travels, ornithology and botany, treatises relating to witchcraft, and a choice selection of English standard books ... To be sold by auction ... April 27, 28, 29, 1887 ... Charles F. Libbie & co. Auctioneers. Boston: C. F. Libbie, Jr., printer, 1887, 120 pp.

Cope, E. D. "Bufo lentiginosus fowleri Putnam." Pp. 279- 281 in The Batrachia of North America. U.S. National Museum Bulletin 34. [Includes letter by. Fowler to F. W. Putnam, pp. 280-281.]

Memoir of Samuel Page Fowler. New-England Historical and Genealogical Register, vol. 46 (1892), pp. 339-345.

The Samuel Fowler House Our Second Acquisition. Bulletin of the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities, vol. 3, no. 1 (ser. no. 6), pp. 2-6, cover photo. [Built 1809, SPF's father's house, Danversport, side door on Liberty St]

Stickney, M. A. 1883. The Fowler Family: A Genealogical Memoir... Salem, MA: the Author. Pp. 190-193, portrait facing p. 190.

Trask, R. B. 2002. Danvers. (Postcard History series). Dover, NH: Arcadia Pub. [Photograph of Fowler house on p. 65]

Yankee Farmer, July 18, 1840

New England Farmer, June 2, 1841

Fox, William Henry 1857-1921
b,d, Washington, DC; Attended Sheffield Scientific School; MD Columbian (now George Washington) University; President, Yale Society of Natural History; Summer trips to New Hampshire and Tennessee, 1878-1887; Entomology; AOU

Fr

Francis, Nathaniel Atwood 1859-1921
b, Brookline; d, Boston; Harvard Law School; Member, Nuttall; Egg collecting trips to Texas, 1919-1921 with J. M. Priour; Kennard, F. H. Wilson Bull. v. 48, pp. 284-289; AOU

Franklin, Henry James 1883-1958
b, Guilford, VT; Buzzards Bay, MA; Massachusetts Agricultural College, Ph.D., 1908; Massachusetts Agricultural Experiment Station, 1910-; Cranberry insects, Thysanoptera, Collembola

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

Mallis, Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.

Tomlinson, W. E., Jr. and A. I. Bourne. 1958. Henry James Franklin. Journal of Economic Entomology, vol. 51, pp. 564-565.

Frazer, Marston Abbott 1860-1925
b, Watertown; d, Boston? MA; Name changed to Abbott M. Frazer, 1876-88; Member, Nuttall; Collected for Brewster and Cory; Records in Brewster's Birds of Cambridge; Prominent citizen of Brookline; Dealer in natural history objects and furrier; Notes in Nuttall Bulletin, one in Auk; AOU

Freeman, Miss Harriett Elizabeth 1847-1930
b, Boston; d, Newton, MA; Lived in Union Park for over 65 years; Botany, mineralogy, forestry, wildlife conservation; AOU

French, Charles Ephraim 1867-1932
b, Berkeley; d, Lowell, MA; Educ: University of maryland; Physician in Lowell for over 30 years

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 217].

French, Daniel Chester 1850-1931
b, Exeter, NH; d, Stockbridge, MA; Sculptor; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; Member, American Academy of Arts and Letters; AOU

French, Mrs. Sarah E. 1816-1901

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [p. 26]

Waltham, MA, Daily Free Press-Tribune, 12 January 1901

Friend, Roger Boynton 1896-1962
b, Hyde Park, MA

Mallis, Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.

Turner, N. 1962. Roger B. Friend. Journal of Economic Entomology, vol. 55, p. 422.

Frost, Charles Christopher 1805-1880
b,d, Brattleboro, VT; Shoemaker, Brattleboro, VT

Cabot, M. R., ed. 1921. Annals of Brattleboro, 1681-1895. Brattleboro, VT: E. L. Hildreth & Co., vol. 1. Charles C. Frost - The Learned Shoemaker, pp. 476-479.

Davenport, E. B. 1904. Recollections of Charles Christopher Frost. Rhodora, vol. 6, no. 62 (Feb.), pp. 25-27. Portrait.

Dudley, W. R. 1886. Charles Christopher Frost. Journal of Mycology, vol. 2 (October), pp. 114-118.

Eggleston, W. W. 1926. The early botanists of the Green Mountains, with an account of C. C. Frost's visit to Mt. Mansfield and Smuggler's Notch, August 12, 1851. Joint Bulletin Vermont Bot. Bird Club, vol. 11, pp. 19-28.

Halling, R. 1983. Charles Frost, Boletologist from Brattleboro. Bulletin of the Boston Mycological Club, vol. 38, no. 3 (October), pp. 7-9. Portrait.

Halling, R. E. 1983. Boletes described by Charles C. Frost. Mycologia, vol. 75, no. 1, pp. 70-92.

Jones, L. R. 1902. The Pringle and Frost herbaria at the University of Vermont. Rhodora, vol. 4, no. 45 (September), pp. 171-174.

Murrill, W. A. 1908. Notes on the life and work of Charles C. Frost. Torreya, vol. 8 (August), pp. 197-200.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 26-28]

Fu

Fuertes, Louis Agassiz

Portraits of New England birds. [Boston] The Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1932.

Fuller, Charles Anthony 1839-1906
b, East Corinth, ME; d, Brookline, MA; Businessman; President, Brookline Thursday Club

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 220].

Fuller, Dr. Charles B.
Cabinet-keeper, Portland Society of Natural History, 1862; Meisel, 1843; Author of anonymous articles on fossil walrus [Norton, A.H. 1930. Mammals of Portland]; Norton Auk obit

Winkley, W. H. 1893. Charles B. Fuller. Nautilus, vol.7 (September), p. 58.

Fuller, Henry Corbin 1839-1942
b, Worcester, MA; d, New Haven, CT; Educ: Worcester Polytechnic; Chemistry; USAA etc.; Member, Washington Biologists' Field Club; Baird Ornithological Club; Washington Academy of Sciences; Cosmos Club ; Chemical societies; AOU

Fuller, Timothy Otis 1845-1916
b,d, Needham; Businessman; Needham and White Mountains; Botany in Coos County, 1883-1900 [ AOU

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

Furbish, Catherine (Kate) 1834-1931
b, Exeter, NH; d, Brunswick, ME; 19 May 1834-6 Dec. 1931

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Graham, A. & F. Graham, Jr. 1995. Kate Furbish and the Flora of Maine. Gardiner, ME: Tilbury House, 161 pp.

Huck, T. J. 1995. Lousewort, cursed but undammed. American Horticulturist, vol. 74, no. 9 (September), p. 5

Keeney, L. B. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 293-294.

Osgood, C. 1979. Nothing Could be Finer than a Crisis that is Minor in the Morning. Holt, Rinehart and Winston. [Poem on Furbish and the lousewort] In: Mohlenbrock, R. H.. 1983. Where have all the Wildflowers Gone? NY: Macmillan, pp. 12-14.

Schwarten, L. 1971. Furbish, Kate, May 19, 1834 - December 6, 1931. Notable American Women, 3 vols., 1 vol. suppl. (1980). Cambridge: Harvard University Press, vol. 1, pp. 686-687.

Ward, E. M. 1995. The amazing Miss Furbish. Down East, v. 41 (July), pp. 62-65, 86-87.