Hi-I
Higgeson
Plants around Salem, 17th century
Robinson, J. 1902. Concerning the plants mentioned in Young's chronicles. Rhodora, v. 4, no. 40 (April), pp. 81-82.
Higginson, Alexander Henry 1876-
Birds of New England. New England Mag., n.s., v. 26, pp. 93-101. 1902.
Higginson, Thomas Wentworth 1823-
b, Cambridge; AM, LLD, Harvard, 1869; Corresponding secretary and curator of entomology, Harvard Natural History Society, 1840-1841; Flora of Boston and vicinity
Anon. Untitled obituary. Appalachia, v. 12, no. 3 pp. 279-280.
Cambridge Public Library. A bibliography of Thomas Wentworth Higginson. Cambridge, 1906.
Edelstein, Tilden G.. Strange enthusiasm; a life of Thomas Wentworth Higginson. New Haven, Yale University, 1968.
Flagg, M. B. 1965. Notable Boston Authors. Pp. 10-11.
Meyer, H. N. 1984. Thomas Wentworth Higginson. Pp. 195-203 in: The Transcendentalists: A Review of Research and Criticism. New York: Modern Language Association of America. (Includes section on manuscripts).
Thomas Wentworth Higginson: The Story of his Life. 1914, Portrait frontispiece.
Wells, A. M. 1963. Dear Preceptor: the Life and Times of Thomas Wentworth Higginson. Boston: Houghton Mifflin.
Primary works
Army life in a Black regiment. Williamstown, MA: Corner House Publishers, 1971; NY: W.W. Norton, 1984.
Cheerful yesterdays. Boston and New York: Houghton, Mifflin and company, 1898.
Contemporaries. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin, 1899.
Letters and journals of Thomas Wentworth Higginson, 1846-1906. New York: Negro Universities Press, 1969.
Outdoor Studies. l863; R. West, l973.
Botanical notebooks of Thomas Wentworth Higginson, 1841-1894 (inclusive). LOCATION: Botany Gray Herbarium, Harvard University: Access to qualified researchers by appointment only.
Letters and journals, 1824-1910 (inclusive), 1837 -1882 (bulk). LOCATION: Houghton Library, Harvard University
Higginson, Thomas Wentworth. Papers, 1823-1929 (inclusive), 1843-1911 (bulk).
Hildreth, Roger B.
Curator of birds, Springfield Museum of Natural History; Meisel, 1859
Morris, Robert Oliver, 1846-1925. Bird lore of other days. Roger B. Hildreth's diary. Springfield Republican. 1914. Mar. 26, 1 p.
Hilferty, Frank J.
Additions to the moss flora of Massachusetts. Bryologist, v. 62, pp. 262-264.
Hill, Albert Frederick 1889-
The vascular flora of the eastern Penobscot Bay region. Proceedings of the Portland society of natural history ; v. 3 (1919), pt. 2 199-304 p., 1 fold. leaf of plates, maps. [Thesis (Ph. D.), Yale, 1921????]
The vegetation of the Penobscot Bay Region, Maine. Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History ; v. 3 (1923), pt. 3, [305]-438 p. ill., maps
Hill, Elizabeth Sewall
Green, S. A. (Samuel Abbott). 1912. The natural history and the topography of Groton, Massachusetts together with other matter relating to the history of the town. Groton, MA: s.n., University Press, J. Wilson and Son), vi, 207 p. : ill.
Green, Samuel Abbott, [1830-1918]. 1912, 1914. Facts relating to the history of Groton, Massachusetts. Groton [Cambridge: J. Wilson and Son], 2 v. illus. Vol. 1 has title: The natural history and topography of Groton, Massachusetts Flora and fauna, by Elizabeth Sewall Hill: v. 1, p. 1-45.
Hill, James Haynes 1846-1922
b, China; d, New London, CT; Home: New London; Secretary, Fisher Island Sportsman's Club [Long Island?]; AOU
Hill, Thomas
Harvard president; Naturalist
Land, W. G. 1933. Thomas Hill: Twentieth President of Harvard. Cambridge.
Hinckley, Mary H.
Of Milton, Mass
Williamson, Mrs. M. B. 1898. Some American women in science II. Chautauquan, vol. 28, pp. 362-368. [p. 363]
Notes on the peeping frog, Hyla pickeringii Leconte. 1884. Mem. Boston Soc. Nat. Hist. iii. 1878-1894. 311-318. pl. 28.
On some differences in the mouth structure of tadpoles of the anourous batrachians found in Milton, Mass. Proc. Boston Soc. Nat. Hist., 1882. 21. 307-314. pl. 5.
Hinds, Warren Elmer 1876-
Entomology and zoology at the Massachusetts Agricultural College. Amherst, Mass. : Issued by the Massachusetts Agricultural College, 1911. 52 p. Includes: A list of the entomological publications from the Massachusetts agricultural college, to January 1, 1911: pp. 41-49.
Hitchcock, Charles Henry 1836-1919
b, Amherst, MA; AM, Amherst, 1859; Assistant State Geologist, Vermont, 1857-1861, 1901-; Maine State Geologist, 1861-1862; New Hampshire State Geologist, 1868-1878; Professor of Geology, Dartmouth College, 1868-1908; etc.; New England geology and ichnology
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)
Bent, A. H. Bibliography of the White Mountains, 1911, Portrait opposite p. 87.
Boardman, S. L. 1893. Agricultural bibliography of Maine, p. 46.
Popular Science Monthly, vol. 54 (December 1898), pp. 260-268.
Upham, C. 1920. Charles Henry Hitchcock. Geological Society of America Bulletin, vol. 31, pp. 64-80. Portrait
Hitchcock, Charles Henry 1836-1919
Catalogue of the mammals [and] birds of Maine. Proc. of the Portland Society of Natural History, v. 1, pp. 64-71, 1862.LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: V-H
Catalogue of the plants of New Hampshire, compiled for the Geological survey. n.p., n.d.
Hitchcock, Edward 1793-1864
b, Deerfield; d, Amherst, MA
Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).
Hitchcock, C. H. 1895. Edward Hitchcock. American Geologist, vol. 16, pp. 133-149. Bibliography.
Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990.
Foose, R. M. & J. Lancaster. 1981. Edward Hitchcock: New England geologist, minister, and educator. Northeast Geology, vol. 3, no. 1.
Goodwin. 1864??. Obituary notice of the Rev. Edward Hitchcock, D.D., LL.D. Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, vol. 9, pp. 443-449.
Guralnick, S. M. 1972. Geology and religion before Darwin: the case of Edward Hitchcock, theologian and geologist (1793-1864). Isis, vol. 63, pp. 529-543.
Lesley, J. P. 1867. National Academy of Sciences Annual for 1866, pp. 127-154.
Lesley, J. P. 1877. Memoir of Edward Hitchcock, 1793-1864. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 1, pp. 113-134.
Marché, J. D. II. 1992. Edward Hitchcock, Fucoides, and the ichnogenus Scoyenia. Earth Sciences History, vol. 11, pp. 13-20.
Merrill, G. P. 1906. Edward Hitchcock. U. S. National Museum Annual Report for 1904, pp. 307-315. Portrait
Popular Science Monthly, vol. 47 (September 1895), pp. 689-696.
[Obituary]. American Journal of Science, ser. 2, vol. 37, no. 110 (March 1864), pp. 302-304.
Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 33-35]
Robinson, G. 1979. Edward Hitchcock. In: Benjamin Silliman and his Circle: Studies on the Influence of Benjamin Silliman on Science in America, ed. by L. G. Wilson. NY: Science History Publ. Portrait.
Youmans, W. J. 1896. Pioneers of Science in America. [Edward Hitchcock, pp. 290-299]
Primary works
Reminiscences of Amherst college, historical, scientific, biographical and autobiographical: also, of other and wider life experiences. (With four plates and a geological map.) Northampton, MA: Bridgman & Childs, 1863, 412 p. front. (port.) 3 pl., fold. map. "List of my publications": p. 378-391.
A catalogue of plants growing without cultivation in the vicinity of Amherst College. catalogue of plants growing without cultivation in the vicinity of Amherst College. Amherst, Published by the Junior class in that Institution; J. S. and C. Adams, and Co., 1829, 64 pp
Report on the geology, mineralogy, botany, and zoology of Massachusetts. Massachusetts. Geological Survey.Amherst, MA: Press of J. S. and C. Adams, 1833.
Reprinted separately: Catalogues of the animals and plants of Massachusetts. With a copious index.;
- I. Mammalia, from notes by T. W. Harris, pp. 544-545
- II. Birds, by E. Emmons, pp. 545-551
- III. Reptilia, by D.S.C.H. Smith, p. 552
- IV. Fishes, by J.V.C. Smith, pp. 553-554
- V. Testacea or shells:
- List of the Marine Shells of Massachusetts, by T.A. Greene, pp. 554-557
- List of Land and fresh water shells of Massachusetts, by J.M. Earle, pp. 557-559
- List of shells observed on and near the coast of New England, by Col. Joseph G. Totten, pp. 559-562
- VI. Crustacea, from notes by A.A. Gould, pp. 563-564
- VII. Araneides, by N.M. Hentz, pp. 564-566
- VIII. Insects, by T.W. Harris, pp. 566-595; IX. Radiata, from notes by A. A. Gould, p. 596
- X. Catalogue of plants.
In his Report on the geology, mineralogy, etc. of Massachusetts, etc. 1833. pp. 543-652, 693-700.
Report on the geology, mineralogy, botany, and zoology of Massachusetts: made and published by order of the government of that state: in four parts: pt.I. Economical geology.pt.II.Topographical geology.pt .III.Scientific geology.pt. IV.Catalogues of animals and plants.With a descriptive list of the specimens of rocks and minerals collected for the government.2nd ed., cor. and enl. Massachusetts Geological Survey. Amherst: J. S. and C. Adams, 1835.
Reprinted separately: Catalogues of the animals and plants of Massachusetts: with a copious index. Amherst, MA: J.S. and C. Adams, 1835. 142 pp.; I. Mammalia, pp. 6-7; II. Birds, by E. Emmons pp. 8-14; III. Reptilia, by D.S.C.H. Smith pp. 14-15; IV. Fishes, by J.V.C. Smith pp. 15-18; V. Testacea: Marine shells, by T.A. Greene. pp. 18-22; List of Land and fresh water shells of Massachusetts, by J.M. Earle pp. 22-23; A Catalogue of Species, by a committee of the Boston Society of Natural History, chaired by A. Binney, pp. 24-28; VI. Crustacea, by A.A. Gould, pp. 28-30; VII. Araneides, by N.M. Hentz, pp. 30-32; VIII. Insects, by T.W. Harris, pp. 33-82; IX. Radiata, from notes by A. A. Gould, pp. 82-83; X. Catalogue of plants growing without cultivation, [by. E. Hitchock]; Index, pp. 133-142
Hitchcock, Orra White
Flynt, S., C. M. Cohen, E. C. Worman, D. D'Arienzo and R. Moorhead. 1992. Orra White Hitchcock, 1796-1863. Deerfield, MA: Deerfield Academy, 16 p. portrait, ill. (some col.)
Exhibition at Deerfield Academy, April 7 - June 9, 1991. Contents: Orra White Hitchcock's early years, by Suzanne Flynt. The history of herbaria, by Christina M. Cohen. Orra White Hitchcock's Amherst years, by Eugene C. Worman. Orra White Hitchcock's classroom drawings, by Daria D'Arienzo. Checklist.
Tyler, W. S. (William Seymour). A biographical sketch of Mrs. Orra White Hitchcock, given at her funeral, May 28, 1863. Springfield, S. Bowles & Company, Printers, 1863.
Hitchings, E. H.
A list of some of the flowers found growing naturally in the vicinity of Boston. Pp. 11-20 in Window gardening, and a list of some of the flowers found growing naturally in the vicinity of Boston .Boston: Massachusetts Horticultural Society Committee on Window Gardening, 1889, 20 p. illus. (HU, Frances Loeb Library)
Hoar, Edward S.
Collected in Coos County, 1858
Angelo, R. 1984. Edward S. Hoar revealed. Concord Saunterer, vol. 17, no. 1 (Mar.) pp. 9-16, 17-33. Port. Article by Mr. Angelo prints text of two letters from Hoar to Walter Deane (dated July 31, 1886 and Sept. 12, 1886) Also includes: Edward S. Hoar's conversations on Concord with Edward S. Burgess, [edited] by Marcia Moss, (p. 17-33).
Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]
Hodge, Clifton Fremont 1859-
b, Janesville, WI; PhD, Johns Hopkins, 1889; Professor of Biology, Clark University, 1892- etc.; Neurophysiology, bird population dynamics, conservation, Passenger Pigeon, nature study
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)
Hoffmann, Ralph 1870-1932
b, Stockbridge, MA; d, California; AB, Harvard, 1890; Secondary school teacher; Member, Nuttall Club, New England Botanical Club, Cooper Ornithological Club; New England birds, Berkshire County flora; AOU
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)
Swanton, H. 1981. Ralph Hoffmann: unsung guide to th birds. Natural History, vol. 90, no. 11 (November), pp. 20-30.
Flora of Berkshire County, Massachusetts. Boston Society of Natural History. Proceedings, v.36 (1922), no.5, p. 171-382.
A guide to the birds of New England and eastern New York; containing a key for each season and short descriptions of over 250 species, with particular reference to their appearance in the field. Boston New York Houghton, Mifflin and company 1904. 4th ed., 1910.
Common birds. First series to accompany Audubon Bird Chart number one. Boston, Massachusetts Audubon Society, 1916.
Flora of Berkshire County, Massachusetts. Boston Society of Natural History. Proceedings, v.36, no.5. Boston, Printed for the Society
List of birds noted in Stockbridge, Massachusetts, throughout the year. Stockbridge, 1914.
Twenty-six common birds. Boston: Published by Massachusetts Audubon Society, 1899.
Seton, Ernest Thompson. Bird portraits, with descriptive text, by Ralph Hoffmann. Boston : Ginn & Company, 1901. 4 p. ., 40 p. : front., plates
Holbrook, Josiah
MA educator interested in botany
Holcomb, Irving 1855-1934
Home: Granby, CT; Local botany; Bishop, Cat. Pl. Conn., ed. 2, p. 2; ed. 3, pp. 42, 49 ???; Barnhart
Holden, Isaac 1832-1903
Collins, F. S. Isaac Holden. Rhodora, vol. 5, no. 57 (Sept.), pp. 219-220.
Holder, Charles Frederick1851-1915
5 Aug. 1851-10 Oct. 1915; Son of J. B. Holder
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).
Kunz, G. F. Science, n.s., vol. 42, pp. 823-825, 1915.
Holder, Dr. Joseph Bassett 1824-1888
October 26, 1824 - Feb. 27, 1888
b, Lynn, MA; d, NY, NY
m, Emily Augusta Grove, one? child
Friends' School, Providence, RI, graduated
Harvard Medical Scool, attended
Medical practice, Swampscott, then Lynn (city physician), MA, 1846-
Surgeon in chief and scientific work with U. S. government engineers at Florida reef, 1859-
Health officer and surgeon, U. S. Army, at military person at Fort Jefferson, Dry Tortugas, FL, 1861?-
Fortress Monroe, VA, 1869-
American Museum of Natural History, assistant director, 1871-81
American Museum of Natural History, curator of zoology, 1881-88
Member, New York Academy of Sciences
While in Lynn prepared list of birds and plants of Essex County, MA. Became acquainted with Louis Agassiz who had a laboratory at his Nahant (near Lynn) summer home, and they dredged locally. Agassiz and S. F. Baird advised his move to Florida.
Founder, Lynn Natural History Society; Marine ecology, Invertebrates; His plants included in Tracy, 1858
AOU
Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.
Dexter, Ralph W. 1962 The Lynn Natural History Society (1842-1855). Essex Institute Historical Collections 98: 175-183.
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements). Article by M.B.H.
[Obituary]. Auk, 1888, v. 5 (April), p. 220
Kelly, H. A. and W. L. Burrage. 1920. American medical biographies. Baltimore: Norman, Remington Co., 1320 pp.[p. 539]
National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 7, p. 402 (Port.).
Hollick, Charles Arthur 1857-1933
Observations on the geology and botany of Martha's Vineyard. Transactions of the New York Academy of Sciences, v. 13 (1894) pp. 8-22 (Contributions from the Geological Department of Columbia College no. 15)
Botanical notes Cape Cod and Chappaquidick Island, Mass. Bull. New York Botan. Garden. 1902. 381-407. pl. 40, 41.
Discovery of a mastodon tooth and the remains of a boreal vegetation in a swamp on Staten Island, N. Y. New York : New York Academy of Sciences, 1901. p. 67-68 ; 24 cm. Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences, v. 14, art. 3
Holmes, Ezekiel 1801-1865
b, Kingston, ME; AB, Brown, 1821; MD, Bowdoin, 1824; Naturalist, Maine Geological Survey; Taught at Gardiner Lyceum and Colby; Meisel, 1836
Boardman, S. L. 1893. Agricultural bibliography of Maine, p. 44-46???.
Day, Clarence Albert. Ezekiel Holmes, father of Maine agriculture. Orono, University of Maine Press (University of Maine studies, 2nd ser., no. 86), 1968. vii, 185 p. illus., facsim., ports
Agric. Maine, 1865, pp. 205-226.
Maine Board of Agriculture, 35th Annual Report for 1892. 1893. appx. pp. 44-46.
Medical and Surgical Rep. Philadelphia, vol. 12, p. 340, 1864/65
Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, vol. 72, p. 268, 1865
In correspondence with T. Say. Weiss and Zeigler, p. 110
Day, C. A. 1968. Ezekiel Holmes: Father of Maine Agriculture. University of Maine Press, 185 pp.
Annual report upon the natural history and geology of the State of Maine. 2nd (1862)- [S.l.: s.n.. LOCATION: Widener: Sci 1635.22.9
Birds injurious to agriculture. LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: A-H.
Maine farmer and mechanic's advocate. New ser., vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 15, 1842) -v. 2, no. 52 (Dec. 30, 1843) = Whole no. 470-572. Winthrop, Me.: William Noyes, 1842-1843.
The New-England farmers' and mechanics' journal. Jan.-Nov. 1828. Gardiner [Me.: s.n.], 1828. LOCATION: Widener: Sci 1622.11.12
Preliminary report upon the natural history and geology of the State of Maine, ed. by E. H. & Charles H. Hitchcock. Augusta, ME: s.n., Stevens & Sayward, 1861, pp. [91]-477 : ill., map. With: Sixth annual report of the Secretary of the Maine Board of Agriculture. LOCATION: Widener: Sci 1635.22.9
Annual report upon the natural history and geology of the State of Maine, ed. by E. Holmes and Charles H. Hitchcock. [?????2nd (1862)-]
Second annual report upon the natural history and geology of the state of Maine, 1862. Augusta, ME: s.n., Stevens & Sayward), 1862, 477 p., 1 leaf of plates, ill., map. With: Seventh annual report of the Secretary of the Maine Board of Agriculture. Hitchcock, Charles H. (Charles Henry)?
Report of an exploration and survey of the territory on the Aroostook River, during the spring and autumn of 1838. Augusta: Smith & Robinson, printers to the state, 1839.
Report on the fishes of Maine, including some of the elementary principles of ichthyology. LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository F 5706.2 Consult Circ. Desk for HWFIAQ
Holmes, Henry
Curator, Natural History Society of Hartford; Meisel, 1835
Holyoke, Edward Augustus 1728-1829
Bell, W., Jr. in American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. vol. 11, pp. 108-109. Online version available.
Brazer, John. 1829. A discourse delivered in the North Church in Salem : on Saturday, 4th of April, 1829 : at the interment of Edward Augustus Holyoke. Salem: Foote & Brown, 34 pp.
The Holyoke Diaries, 1709-1856, ed. by George F. Dow (1911). Diary extracts, pp. 31-43.
Peirson, A. L. 1829. Memoir of Edward A. Holyoke, M.D., LL.D. Essex District Medical Society. (also in Massachusetts Medical Society, Medical Dissertations, vol. 4 (1829), pp. 185-260).
Biographical sketches of graduates of Harvard University, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, by John Langdon Sibley, ed. by C. K. Shipton, et al. Cambridge, MA: Charles William Sever, University Bookstore, 1873- . Vol. 12 (1962), pp. 30-41, Includes Holyoke's bibliography.
Jackson, James. 1856. Letters to a Young Physician, 4th ed. (1856), pp. 19-22.
Wiswall, R. H. 1930. Dr. Edward Augustus Holyoke. IN: Sketches about Salem People. Salem: The Club, 1930, 23 pp. 1 pl. (Book consists of separately paginated articles)
Dodge, E. S. The natural history department, in Handbook to the Collections of the Pabody Museum of Salem, by. E. S. Dodge and C. H. P. Copeland. Salem, MA: Peabody Museum, 1949. [Pp.47-48: 1859 letter to Andrew Oliver about the sea anemone at Nahant.]
Actinia marginata, Lesueur. J. Ac. Nat. SCi., vol. 1, p. 172; May be merely the A. mesembryanthemum of European authors.
Holyoke's manuscripts are in the Peabody-Essex Museum, Salem, Mass.
Hooker, Henrietta Edgecomb 1851-
b, Gardiner, ME; PhD, Syracuse, 1889; Professor, Mt. Holyoke, 1873-; Botany, Historical sketches of Mt. Holyoke
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)
Hoopes, I.
Bufo in New England. Bulletin of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 57, pp. 13-20, 1930.
Marbled salamanders from New Hampshire. Bulletin of the New England Museum of Natural History, vol. 87, pp. 16-17, 1938.
Hoover, Earl E.
Biological survey of the Androscoggin, Saco and coastal watersheds. Concord, N.H. : New Hampshire Fish and Game Dept., 1937. 160 p. : ill., graphs, map ; 31 cm. Survey report - New Hampshire Fish and Game Department; no.2
Biological survey of the Merrimack watershed. Concord, N.H. : New Hampshire Fish and Game Dept., 1938. 238 p. : ill., graphs, maps (2 fold. in pocket) ; 31 cm. Survey report - New Hampshire Fish and Game Department ; no.3
Preliminary biological survey of some New Hampshire lakes. Survey report - New Hampshire Fish and Game Department; no.1. Concord, N.H.: New Hampshire Fish and Game Dept., 1936? 77 pp.
Hopkins, Albert 1807-
Stockbridge, MA
Durfee, C. 1871. Williams Biographical Annals, pp. 147-148.
Hopkins, J. B.
A list of Coleoptera collected at Concord, Mass. Concord, MA: Proceedings of the Thoreau Museum of Natural History, vol. 1 (1911), pp. 7-10. [sr author: Heffenger, C. P. W. W.]
Hopkins, Rev. John Henry
Episcopalian Bishop of Vermont
Prepared drawing of Menobranchus maculator (Mudpuppy) for George Wyllys Benedict who sent it to J. E. Holbrook who published it in his North American Herpetology (2nd ed.). Had, as a boy of 15, colored plates for Wilson's American Ornithology. Member of the University of Vermont natural history society, 1838-39.
Barnhill, G. B. 1987. The publication of illustrated natural histories in Philadelphia, p. 83
Dann, K. T. 1987. George Wyllys Benedict and the "Proteus of the Lakes." Vermont History, v. 55, no. 1, pp. 31-40
Horner, Charlotte N. S.
Horner, Charlotte N. S. Notes on the flora of South Georgetown.[Salem. 1884.]. Bull.Essex Inst.xv:107&ff. 1884.au
Horton, J. I.
Ipswich
Dexter, R. W. 1980. An early application for a bird collecting permit (1877). Journal of Field Ornithology, v. 51, no. 3, p. 283.
Hosmer, Miss.
In or near Concord; Mushrooms; Concord River, p. 141
Hosmer, Alfred W.
[Journal, 1888-1903, in One Manuscript Volume]. MS at CFPL. (Diary of botany walks.)
List of the Wild Flowers (and Time of Blooming [1878-1902]) Found in Concord and Vicinity [in Two Manuscript Volumes]." (1878). MS at CFPL.
Hosmer, Hiram, MD
Watertown; Fisheries of Charles River; Acknowledged in Storer, 1839
Houghton, Abel
Birds
Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53 [mentioned p. 44].
Houghton, John C.
Exploring Circle, Lynn Natural History Society; Botany
Dexter, Ralph W. 1962 The Lynn Natural History Society (1842-1855). Essex Institute Historical Collections 98: 175-183.
Houston, John F.
Member, N.L.D. Society, 1832; President, Phi Beta Theta, 1832, Amherst College; Meisel, 1822
Hovey, Rev. Horace Carter 1833-
b, Rob Roy, IN; DD, Wabash, 1883; Pastor, Congregational and Presbyterian churches; Presbyterian church, Newburyport, MA, 1909-1910; Cavern fauna and flora; Archeology; General natural history
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)
Hovey, Sylvester
Durfee, C. 1871. Williams Biographical Annals, pp. 34-35.
Howe, Carlton Dexter
Brother of Clifton Durant Howe; Secretary, Vermont Botanical Club
Fifty common birds of Vermont. Montpellier, [1905]. 92 pp?? Circ. of Educ. Inf. no. 18, Dept. of Educ., VT
Howe, Clifton Durant 1874-1946
Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [p. 35]
A preliminary list of the Hepaticae of Vermont. Burlington: Botanical Dept. of the University of Vermont, 1899, 10 pp. (Contributions to the botany of Vermont 3).
A preliminary list of the birds found in Vermont, by George Henry Perkins, assisted by Clifton D. Howe. New York; Albany: Wynkoop Hallenbeck Crawford Co., 1901, 34 pp. Vermont Agriculture Report, 1901, v. 21, pp. 85-118.
Howe, Inez Addie 1878-1924
b, West Waterford; d, St. Johnsbury, VT; Educ: Lyndon Institute; Staff, Fairbanks Museum of Natural History, St. Johnsbury; St. Johnsbury Academy; Member, Vermont Bird and Botany Club???; Frequent contributor to the Vermonter; Reported to Forbush; AOU
Howe, Reginald Heber, Jr. 1875-1932
b, Quincy, MA; Lawrence Scientific School, Harvard, 1901; Doctorate, Sorbonne, 1912; Research student, Bussey Institute; Thoreau Museum, Middlesex School, Concord, MA, 1901-1920; Founder, Belmont Hill School, 1923
American Men of Science, ed. 4 (1927)
Duncan, R. F. 1985. The story of Belmont Hill School, 1923-1983. Belmont? MA, x, 413 p. [Earlier ed.: The story of Belmont Hill School, 1923-1973. 1973.
Fortmiller, H. C. 2003. Find the promise: Middlesex School, 1901-2001. Concord, MA: Middlesex School, 510 pp.
Prenatt, H. 1998. Belmont Hill School, 1923-1998: an anniversary album. Belmont, MA: Belmont Hill School, 179 p. Portraits.
Who's who among North American authors, v. 5, 1931/32.
Who's Who in America, 1908/1909
Johnson, C. W. 1932. Reginald Heber Howe. Bulletin of the Boston Museum of Natural History, no. 63, pp. 29-30. Portrait, list of major publications.
Primary
Henry Willey. Botanical Gazette, v. 56 (1913), pp. 502-503. Port. [Taken from account in New Bedford Standard, July 20, 1913]
A new race of Microtus pennsilvanicus. Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History, v. 2 (1901), pp. 201-202, pl. 5.
North American wood frogs. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, v. 28 (1899), pp. 369-374.
Birds
New Massachusetts Records for the Hawk and Great Gray Owls. Auk XXV (1908): 84.
Holboell's Grebe in Concord, Massachusetts. Auk XXX (1913): 267.
The birds of Massachusetts. With Glover Morrill Allen. Cambridge, MA., 154 pp. [published by subscription, 500 copies]
The birds of Rhode Island. With Edward Sturtevant. [n.p.] 1899, 111 pp., front., 5 plates.
"Every bird"; a guide to the identification of the birds of woodland, beach and ocean. Ill. by the author. Boston: B. Whidden, 1896, vii + 192. [line illus.]
On the birds' highway. Ill. by the author and Louis Agassiz Fuertes (front.). Boston: Small, Maynard, 1899, xv + 175 pp., col. front., illus., plates (photos).
Contributions to North American ornithology. Vol. 1 (Oct. 14, 1901)- . Longwood, MA?: R.H. Howe?
"Every bird;" a guide to the identification of the birds of woodland, beach and ocean. With one hundred and twenty-four line illustrations. Ill. by the author. Boston, B. Whidden, 1896, 192 pp. [New England birds].
Bird varieties along the Thames. List of the feathered visitors noted in past three years. New London, The Day, Nov. 1, 1900, p. 6.
The birds of Brookline. Brookline: A Favored Town, pp. 173-184.
Birds of Brookline, Mass. [Brookline], 1897, [2] pp..
The birds of Brookline, Massachusetts. Brookline: Riverdale Press, C.A.W. Spencer, 1900. [Reprinted from The Chronicle, Brookline, March 10, 17, 24, 31; April 7; May 19, 26; June 2, 1900].
The birds of Massachusetts, by R. H. H. & G. M. Allen. Cambridge, Mass., 1901, 154 pp. LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Spec. Coll. Has manuscript annotations by William Brewster. "This copy is no. 155."
The birds of Rhode Island, by R. H. H. & Edward Sturtevant. [n.p.] 1899, 111 pp, front., 5 pl.
Breeding habits of the American robin (Merula migratoria) in eastern Massachusetts. Auk, v. 15 (1898), pp. 162-167.
A new subspecies of Passerculus sandwichensis. Contributions North American Ornithology, v. 1 (1901), pp. 1-2.
A North American faunal index to the "Ornithologist" and "Oologist". Part 1-4. Contributions North American Ornithology, v. 1 (1901-04), pp. 3-4, 33-38, 45-51, 59-61.
On the bird's highway. Boston, Small, Maynard & Company, 1899, 15, 174 pp.
On the birds' highway. Boston, Sherman, French & Company, 1907, 175 pp, col. front., pls.
Out-of-door studies. A ramble for winter birds. Boston Evening Transcript, December 14, 1895, [1 p.].
A partial list of birds of Waldo and Knox Counties. Bangor, Journal of the Maine Ornithological Society, v. 2 (1900), pp. 28-32.
A review of Prof. George H. Perkins' "A preliminary list of the birds found in Vermont" Contributions to North American ornithology; v. 2 (1902), pp. 5-23. [Includes list of birds found in Vermont, pp. 8-22]
A revised list of the birds of Brookline, Massachusetts. Brookline Chronicle, May 31; June 7, 14, 21, 28; July 5, 12, 19, 1902.
Sir Charles Blagden, earliest of Rhode Island ornithologists. American Naturalist, v. 39 (1905), pp. 397-404.
A supplement to The birds of Rhode Island, by R. H. H. & Edward Sturtevant. Middletown, R.I.: [s.n.], 1903, 24 pp.
Notes on Rhode Island ornithology. Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. [1900])-v. 3, no. 4 (Oct. [1902]). Brookline, Mass.: R.H. Howe, Jr., 1900-02. Edited by R.H. Howe, Jr.
How the birds arrive. Boston Evening Transcript, April, 1897, [1] p.
A list of the birds of Bristol. Rhode Island, and adjacent localities. Bristol Phoenix, April 10, 1896.
Insects
Manual of the Odonata of New England. Concord, MA: Thoreau Museum of Natural History at Middlesex School (Memoir, no. 2), 1917-20 [i.e. 1921], 115, 14 pp., illus. (incl. maps), fold. plates [issued in 6 [i.e. 8] parts].
A new dragonfly from New England. Occasional Papers, Boston Society of Natural History, v. 5 (1922), pp. 19-20.
The Odonata of Concord, Massachusetts. Entomological News, v. 30 (1919), pp. 10-14.
Odonata of the Franconia region, New Hampshire. Canadian Entomologist, v. 51 (1919), pp. 9-15.
The distribution of New England Odonata. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, v. 36 (1921), pp. 105-133.
Manual of the Odonata of New England. Memoir of the Thoreau Museum of Natural History; II. Concord, Mass.: Thoreau Museum of Natural History, 1917-1920 [i.e. 1921].
Lichens
N. American lichens and the genus Usnea worldwide
Aspects of New England lichens. Plant World, v. 11 (1908), pp. 45-55.
The foliaceous and fruticose lichens of Concord, Massachusetts with keys to all New England species. Proc. Thoreau Museum of Natural History, Concord, v. 1 (1913-15), pp. 27-29, 30-32, 37-40. LOCATION: Botany Farlow Library: H858 v.3 (1)
Lichens of Mount Katahdin, Maine. Bryologist, v. 16 (1913), pp. 33-36, pl. 3.
Lichens of Mount Monadnock, New Hampshire. American Naturalist, v. 40 (1906), pp. 661-665.
Lichens of the Mount Monadnock region, N.H. Bryologist, v. 11 (1908), pp. 35-38.
Lichens of the Mount Monadnock region, N.H., no.5. Bryologist, v. 13 (1910), pp. 119-121.
Preliminary notes on the genus Usnea, as represented in New England. Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club, v. 36 (1909), pp. 309-327, pl. 21-23.
Some additions to the flora of Middlesex County, Massachusetts. Bryologist, v. 9 (1906), pp. 81-82.
Some lichens of Mt. Watatic, Massachusetts. Bryologist, v. 9 (1906), pp. 46-48.
Common and conspicuous lichens of New England: a fieldbook for beginners, by R. H. H. & Marion Appleton Howe. 5 pts. Boston: W.B. Clarke, 1906-1908.
A monograph of the Usneaceae of the United States and Canada. 2 pt. Memoir of the Thoreau Museum of Natural History. Concord, MA: Thoreau Museum of Natural History, 1914, 25, 36 pp.
Thoreau, the lichenist. Sound Beach, CT: The Agassiz Association Guide to Nature, v. 5, no. 1, pp.17-20, May 1912.
Howell, Arthur Holmes
A preliminary list of the summer birds of Mount Mansfield, Vermont. 1901. Auk, v. 18, pp. 337-347 Not NE
Howes, Paul Griswold 1892-
Backyard exploration, Garden City, NY: Doubleday, Page & Company, 1927, 211 pp. front., illus., plates. 1935 xvi p., 211 p. Animals within a 5 mi. radius of Stamford, CT
Howland, John Snowdon -1885
d, Newport, RI; Oologist
Hoyt, William Henry 1855-1929
b, Stamford, CT; d, Palatka, FL (Winter home); Home: Stamford; Artist and ornithologist; Studied Cape Cod with Bristol Branting Club at Monomoy
Hubbard, Henry Guernsey 1850-1899
b,d, Detroit, MI
Mallis, A. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.
Schwarz, E. A., L. O. Howard and O. F. Cook. 1901. Henry Guernsey Hubbard. Proceedings of the Entomological Society of Washington, vol. 4, pp. 350-360.
Smith, J. B. 1899. Henry Guernsey Hubbard. Entomological News, vol. 10, pp. 80-82.
Hubbard, Oliver P.
Curator, Northern Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hanover, NH, 1841; Meisel, 1841
Humphrey, Edward Goss 1855-1934
b, St. Johnsbury, VT; d, Somerville, MA
Blake, J. H. 1935. The Nautilus, vol. 48, p. 103.
Humphrey, James Ellis 1861-1897
Amherst trees. An aid to their study. Amherst, Mass., Carpenter & Morehouse, 1892. 78 p. 19 cm. "Based on a series of eleven papers ... which originally appeared in the issues of the Amherst Record from May 4th to July 13th, 1892" -Prefatory note.
Botany and botanists in New England. New England magazine, v. 14 (1896), pp. 29-44.
Hunt, Chreswell J.
August birds of Lake Sebago, Maine. Wilson Bulletin, n.s., vol. 14 (1907), pp. 16-19.
Hunt, David
Vice-president, Lyceum of Natural History of the Berkshire Medical Institute, Pittsfield; Meisel, 1823
Hunt, Ebenezer
Danvers; Quadrupeds
Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53 [mentioned p. 40].
Hunt, G.
Collected in Coos County, 1840; Member, Providence Franklin Society, 1840s; Botany; Meisel, 1821
Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]
Hunt, William Simpson 1842-1920
Bulletin of the Essex County Ornithological Club of Massachusetts, vol. 2, no. 1 (Dec. 1920), p. 54. (under Bubier)
Huntington, Asahel
President, Essex Institute
Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33 [mentioned p. 25].
Huntington, J. H.
Portrait: Bent, A. H. 1911. Bibliography of the White Mountains, opposite p. 87; Collected in the White Mountains, 1870s
Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.
Huntington, John Higginson
Molluscs, MCZ
Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 312].
Huntington, J. H. 1877. The flowering plants of the White Mountains. Appalachia, v. I, pp. 100-107.
Hutchings, William Henry Bradfield 1896-1961
b, N. Chili, NY; d, Springstead Farm, Somers, CT
Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.
Hutchinson, Ethel Priscilla 1895-1966
Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 36-37]
Hyatt, Alpheus 1838-1902
b, Washington, DC; d, Cambridge, MA; 5 Apr. 1838-15 Jan. 1902
Education: Harvard, B.S., 1862
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Brooks, W. K. 1909. Memoir of Alpheus Hyatt, 1838-1902. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 6, pp. 311-325.
Crosby, W. O. 1903. Geological Society of America Bulletin, vol. 14, pp. 504-512. Bibliography
Dall, W. H. 1902. Alpheus Hyatt. Popular Science Monthly, pp. 439-441. Portrait.
Dexter, R. W. 1952. The Annisquam laboratory of Alpheus Hyatt. Scientific Monthly, v. 74, pp. 112-116.
Dexter, R. W. 1973. Historical aspects of Alpheus Hyatt's work on fossil cephalopods. Malacological Review, 6(1): 38-40.
Dexter, R. W. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 389-391.
Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990.
Haber, F. C. 1951. Sidelights on American science as revealed in the Hyatt Autograph Collection. Maryland Historical Magazine, v. 46(4), pp. 233-256.
Henshaw, S. 1902. Alpheus Hyatt. Science, n.s., vol. 15, pp. 300-302.
Jackson, R. T. 1913. Alpheus Hyatt and his principles of research. American Naturalist, vol. 47, pp. 195-205.
Mayer, A. G. 1911. Alpheus Hyatt. Popular Science Monthly, vol. 78 (February), pp. 129-146.
National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 3, p. 101 (1893).
Packard, A. S, Jr. 1903. Alpheus Hyatt. Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 38, pp. 715-727.
Proceedings of the Washington Academy of Science, vol. 5 (1905), pp. 389-391.
Tarr, R. S. 1885. Popular Science Monthly, vol. 28 (December), pp. 261-267. Portrait.
Memorial of Professor Alpheus Hyatt. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 30, no. 4 (June, 1902), pp. 413-433. [addresses by E. S. Morse, A. S. Packard, W. Warren, A. C. Boyden, F. W. Putnam]
Hyde, Lucius L.
Springfield Museum of Natural History; Birds; Meisel, 1859
Hyland, Fay 1900-
Check-list of the vascular plants of Maine, by Eugene Cecil Ogden, Ferdinand Henry Steinmetz, & F. H. Orono, ME: Josselyn Botanical Society of Maine, 1948, 69 p. Rev. ed. Orono, ME: Josselyn Botanical Society Bulletin no.8, 1966, 71p.
Ingalls, Charles Edward 1851-1917
b,d, East Templeton, MA; Businessman; Publications: Forest and Stream; Auk; American Bird Magazine; Philadelphia Weekly Pr; Gardner Journal; AOU
A provisional list of the mammals, reptiles and fishes of northern Worcester County, Massachusetts. n.p. n.d. Gardner Journal, Sept. 8, 1904, 4 pp.
Birds of Templeton and the adjoining towns. Gardner News, 1889. June 1.
Isham, Charles Bradley 1863-1951
b, New York City; d, Hyannis, MA; 2 articles in Auk, 1902; New England??; AOU
Ives, Benjamin Hale 1806-1837
Dexter, 1980, p. 23
Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33 [mentioned p. 23].
Essex Institute Proceedings, vol. 2 (1862), pp. 25-26.
Ives, Eli 1779-1861
7 February 1778 - 8 October 1861
Yale University, AB, 1799, A.M., 1811;
Physician, botanist and professor at Yale College. Born in New Haven, CT, of Levi Ives, physician, and Lydia (Augur) Ives. After graduating from Yale in 1799, during fifteen months as rector at Hopkins Grammar School in New Haven, he began the study of medicine with his father and with Dr. Eneas Munson, a notable botanist. He then went to Philadelphia to attend the lectures of Barton, Rush, and Wistar at the University of Pennsylvania. Returning to New Haven in 1802, he began his own practice and joined the Connecticut Medical Society, which granted him an honorary M.D. in 1811. He married Maria Beers in1805 and had five children. He had a major part in the founding of the Yale Medical School in 1813 and became its first professor of materia medica and botany, with Eneas Munson. In 1829 he shifted to the chair of theory and practice of medicine, then back to materia medica and botany in 1852, retiring a year later, and professor emeritus until his death. He served in the 1820 convention that compiled the Pharmacopoeia of the United States of America and was president of the second (1830) convention.
Ives was known for his thorough knowledge of local medicinal plants which be often prescribed and for his interest in horticulture. He published lists of New Haven plants in Timothy Dwight's 1811 Statistical Account of the City of New Haven (320 species) and in Baldwin's Annals of Yale College, 1831 and 1838, with William Tully and Melines C. Leavenworth (1156 species). Ives described the mudwort, Limosella subulata, which he discovered in Connecticut estuaries; H. N. Fenn and M. C. Leavenworth had also found it in New Haven. Ives established a botanical garden in association with the Medical School, but it had to be abandoned due to lack of support. Amos Eaton studied with Ives during Eaton's 1810-??? sojourn at Yale.
1817. Botanical description of the Tillaea connata and Limosella subulata. Transactions of the Physico-Medical Society of New York, vol. 1, pp. 439-442, 1 pl.
CAL CE TCBDNA
American Journal of Science, ser. 2, vol. 32 (November 1861), p. 455.
American Medical Times, vol. 3 (1861), p. 361.
Appleton's Cyclopaedia of American Biography. 6 vols. Ed. by J. G. Wilson & J. Fiske. NY: D. Appleton, 1888-89 Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.
Bierring, W. L. 1947. Eli Ives, M.D. Pp. in Morris Fishbein, History of the American Medical Association 1847 to 1947. Saunders. Portrait, autograph.
Blummer, G. 1932. Eli Ives: practitioner, teacher and botanist. Yale Journal of Biology and Medicine, vol. 4, pp. 649-663.
Bronson, H. 1867. Biographical notice of Professor Eli Ives, M.D. New Haven, CT: Tuttle, Morehouse & Taylor, 12 pp. Portrait. [Reprinted from Proceedings of the Connecticut Medical Society, ser. 2, vol. 2 (1867), pp. 311-320] (vol. 1, p. 67 (appendix)????)
Buffalo Medical and Surgical Journal, vol. 2, p. 382, 1863
Burget, G. C. 1966. Eli Ives of New Haven and Yale. Yale Medicine, vol. 2 (Winter), pp. 18-21; and Connectcut Medicine, vol. 31, no. 7 (July 1967), pp. 509-512.
Dexter, F. B. 1911. Biographical Sketches of the Graduates of Yale College, vol. 5. NY: H. Holt. [Eli Ives, pp. 358-362]
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements). Article by H. T. -S.
Drake, Francis S. Dictionary of American biography, including men of the time ... and a supplement. Boston: Houghton; Osgood, 1879
Dutton, S. W. S. 1861. An Address at the Funeral of Eli Ives, M.D., October 10th, 1861. New Haven, CT: Thomas J. Stafford, 20 pp. [Reprinted from the New Englander, October, 1861
Greene, Nicholas M. "Eli Ives and the medical use of ether prior to 1846". J. Hist. Med. 1960, 15: 297-299.
Massey, R.U. "Eli Ives, 1779-1861" Connecticut Medicine 1992 May, 56(5): 269.
National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 12.
Pearson, Howard A. "Lectures on the diseases of children by Eli Ives, MD, of Yale and New Haven: America's first academic pediatrician". Pediatrics. 1986 May, 77(5):680-6.
Pearson, Howard A. Lectures on the diseases of children by Eli Ives, M.D.: professor of materia medica ... the Medical Institution of Yale College, New Haven, Connecticut, 1813-1852. New Haven: Yale University School of Medicine, Dept. of Pediatrics, 1985.
Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, pp. 634-635
Thoms, H. 1960. Eli Ives, 1779-1861, Class of 1799. Pp. 140-143 in Doctors of Yale College, 1702-1815, and the Founding of the Medical Institution. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 199 pp. Portrait.
Catalogue of the phenogamous plants and the ferns growing without cultivation, within five miles of Yale College, Ct. New Haven. 1831.
Botanical description of the Tillaea connata and Limosella subulata. Transactions of the Physico-Medical Society of New York, vol. 1 (1817), pp. 439-442, 1 pl.
Observations on a species of Limosella, recently discovered inthe United States. American Journal of Science
Ives, John M.
Salem
Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53 [mentioned p. 38].