Allen, William. The American biographical dictionary: containing an account of the lives, characters, and writings of the most eminent persons deceased in North America from its first settlement. 3d ed. Boston: J.P. Jewett and Company; Cleveland, O.: H.P.B. Jewett, 1857. Abbrev: ABHB
Allen, William. An American biographical and historical dictionary, containing an account of the lives, characters, and writings of the most eminent persons in North America from its first settlement, and a summary of the history of the several colonies and of the United States. 2d ed. Boston, W. Hyde & Co., 1832. Abbrev: ABHD
Allibone, S. A. Allibone's Critical Dictionary of English Literature. 3 vols. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott, 1858-71. Reprint, Detroit: Gale, 1965. Abbrev: ACDEL.
American art annual. New York: American Art Annual Inc.
American biography; a new cyclopedia. New York, Published under the direction of the American historical society, inc., 1919. Abbrev: En1b
American biography; a new cyclopedia. New York, published under the direction of the American Historical Society, Inc., 1933.
American Literary Yearbook: A Biographical and Bibliographical Dictionary of Living North American Authors, ed. by H. Traub. Vol. 1. Henning, MN: Paul Traub, 1919. Reprint, Detroit: Gale Research, 1968. Abbrev: ALY.
American Men and Women of Science. NY: Science Press, 1906-. Abbrev: AMWSindex
American Men and Women of Science. Editions 1 - 14 Cumulative Index. Ann Arbor, MI: R. R. Bowker, 1983, 847 pp. [1906-1979]
American national biography. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v, 2 suppl. and online. Abbrev: ANB.
Appleton's Cyclopaedia of American Biography. 6 vols. Ed. by J. G. Wilson & J. Fiske. NY: D. Appleton, 1888-89. Reprint, Detroit: Gale, 1968. Abbrev: ACAB.
Barbour, Thomas. A Naturalist's Scrapbook.
Barnhart, J. H. 1915. List of local floras of the Torrey club range. New York botanical garden Memoirs, 5, pp. 38-45.
Barr, E. S. 1973. An Index to Biographical Fragments in Unspecialized Scientific Journals. University: University of Alabama Press, 294 pp.
Barrow, M. V., Jr. 1995. Gentlemanly specialists in the age of professionalization: The first century of ornithology at Harvard's Museum of Comparative Zoology. Pp. 55-94 in: Contributions to the History of North American Ornithology, ed. by W. E. Davis, Jr. and J. A. Jackson. Memoirs of the Nuttall Ornithological Club, no. 12.
Biographical Dictionary of American Educators, ed. by J. F. Ohless. 3 vols. Westport, CT; Greenwood, 1978. Abbrev: BDAE.
Biographical encyclopedia of the United States. Chicago, American Biographical Pub. Co., 1901.
Boardman, S. L. 1893. Agricultural bibliography of Maine. Biographical sketches of Maine writers on agriculture, with a catalogue of their works: and an index to the volumes on the agriculture of Maine, from 1850 to 1892. Augusta: Printed for the author, 117 pp. 3 pl. Also: Annual report of the secretary of the Maine board of agriculture for 1892 (without the plates).
Britton, Nathaniel Lord. 1890. A list of state and local floras of the United States and British America. Ann.N.Y.acad.sci., v. 5, pp. 237-300.
Burke, William Jeremiah. American authors and books, 1640 to the present day. 3d rev. ed. Rev. by I. Weiss and A. Weiss. New York, Crown Publishers [c1972]. Abbrev: AAB.
Catalogue of scientific papers, compiled and published by the Royal Society of London. 19 v.
Bibliography of nineteenth-century periodical articles, which are listed by author. There are five alphabetical series, each of which must be checked to cover the whole century: v. 1-6. [First series] 1800-1863; v. 7-8. [Second series] 1864-1873; v. 9-11. [Third series] 1874-1883; v. 12. Supplementary volume, 1800-1883; v. 13-19. [Fourth series] 1884-1900.
Chittenden, Russell Henry. 1928. History of the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale University, 1846-1922. New Haven: Yale University Press; London: Oxford University Press.
Creese, M. R. S. 1998. Ladies in the Laboratory?: American and British Women in Science, 1800-1900: A Survey of their Contributions to Research. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 452 pp.
Cyclopedia of American Literature, by E. A. Duyckinck & G. L. Duyckinck. Philadelphia, PA: Wm. Rutrter & co., 1875. Reprint, Detroit: Gale Research, 1965. CAL
The Cyclopedia of American literature, by Evart A. Duyckinck and George L. Duyckinck. New York: Baker & Godwin, 1856.
Current Biography Yearbook CB
Cyclopedia of Education, ed. by P. Monroe. 5 vols. NY: Macmillan, 1911. Reprint, Detroit: Gale Research, 1968. Abbrev: CE.
Dabney, J. P. 1842-43. Graduates of Harvard originally from Salem, Mass. American Quarterly Register, 15:185-193
Dall, W.H. 1888. Some American conchologists. Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington, v. 4, pp. 95-134.
Dann, Kevin. 1985. The College of Natural History at the University of Vermont, 1826-1850. Vermont History, vol.53(2), p.77-94.
Davis, W. E., Jr. and J. A. Jackson, eds. 1995, 2000. Contributions to the History of North American Ornithology. Memoirs of the Nuttall Ornithological Club; nos. 12, 13.
Day, Deborah. 2001. Cumulated Bibliography of Biographies of Ocean Scientists. Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives. Revised December 3, 2001.
Day, Mary Anna. 1899. The local floras of New England. Rhodora, vol. I, 28 p.
Devlin, C. L. and P.J. Capelotti. 1996. Proximity to seacoast: G.W. Field and the Marine Laboratory at Point Judith Pond, Rhode Island, 1896-1900. Journal of the history of biology, v. 29, no. 2, pp. 251-265.
Dexter, Ralph W. 1962 The Lynn Natural History Society (1842-1855). Essex Institute Historical Collections 98: 175-183 [mentioned p. ].
Dexter, R. W. 1973. The scientific period of the Cape Ann Scientific and Literary Association and its successors, 1873-1952. Essex Institute Historical Collections, vol. 109, no. 2, pp. 165-174.
Dexter, R. W. 1974. From Penikese to the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole: The role of Agassiz's students. Essex Institute Historical Collection, 110: 151-161.
Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53.
Dexter, R. W. 1979. The impact of evolutionary theories on the Salem group of Agassiz zoologists (Morse, Hyatt, Packard, Putnam). Essex Institute Historical Collection, 115: 144-171.
Dexter, R. W. 1979. The organization and work of the U.S. Entomological Commission (1877-1882). Melsheimer Entomological Series (Entomological Society of Pennsylvania), 26: 28-32.
Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33.
Dexter, R. W. 1980. The Annisquam Sea-side Laboratory of Alpheus Hyatt, predecessor of the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole, 1880-1886. In: Oceanography: The Past. Ed. by M. Sears and D. Merriman. NY: Springer-Verlag, 812 pp.
Dexter, R. W. 1983. More on the Cuvier Natural History Society of Salem. Essex Institute Historical Collection, 119: 95-98.
Dexter, R. W. 1985. A century of fishery biology at Cape Ann, Massachusetts. American Neptune, 45: 81-85.
Dexter, R. W. 1986. Cape Ann visits of the great sea-serpent (1639-1886). American Neptune, 46: 213-220.
Dexter, R. W. 1986. Two centuries of naturalists on Cape Ann, Massachusetts. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 122, no. 3, 246-258.
Dexter, R. W. 1988. Origins of American marine biology. History of American marine biology and marine biology institutions. American Zoologist, v. 28.
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).
Dexter, R. W. 1989. Essex County and the development of American marine biology. American Neptune, v. 49, no. 1, pp. 34-38.
Drake, Francis S. Dictionary of American biography, including men of the time ... and a supplement. Boston: Houghton; Osgood, 1879. Abbrev: DDAB
Drake, Francis S. Dictionary of American biography, including men of the time; containing nearly ten thousand notices of persons of both sexes, of native and foreign birth, who have been remarkable, or prominently connected with the arts, sciences, literature, politics, or history of the American continent ... Boston, J.R. Osgood and company, 1872. Abbrev: DDAB
Egler, Frank E. 1948. Regional vegetation literature. I. Connecticut. Phytologia, vol. 3. issue: 1, pp. 1--26
Biodiversity Heritage Library (also Massachusetts, Rhode Island)
Egler. Frank Edwin. 1959. A Cartographic Guide to Selected Regional Vegetation Literature, where Plant Communities Have Been Described, by Institut botanique de l'Université de Montréal.
Elder, John, ed. 1996. American Nature Writers. 2 v. NY: Charles Scribner's Sons.
Elliott, C. A. 1979. Biographical Dictionary of American Science: The Seventeenth through the Nineteenth Centuries. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 360 pp. Abbrev: BDAS
Elliott, C. A. 1990. Biographical Index to American Science: The Seventeeth Century to 1920. NY: Greenwood Press, 300 pp.
Encyclopedia of American Biography. NY: American Historical Society. EAB
Essig, E, O, 1931. A history of entomology. New York, The Macmillan company, 1931, 1029 p.
Evans, David H. 2015. Marine Physiology Down East: The Story of the Mt. Desert Island Biological Laboratory. New York, NY : Springer New York, 1094 p.
Falk, Peter H. Who was who in American art. Madison, CT: Sound View Press, c1985. WWWAA
Fielding, Mantle. Dictionary of American painters, sculptors and engravers. Philadelphia, Printed for the Subscribers .
Fielding, Mantle. Dictionary of American painters, sculptors, and engravers. New York, J. F. Carr, 1965.
Flagg, Mildred Buchanan. Notable Boston authors : members of the Boston Authors Club, 1900-1966. Cambridge, MA: Dresser, Chapman & Grimes, 1965.
Flagg, Mildred Buchanan. Boston authors now and then; more members of the Boston Authors Club, 1900-1966. Cambridge, MA: Dresser, Chapman & Grimes, 1966, 269 p.
Gould, Augustus A. 1842. Notice of the origin, progress and present condition of the Boston Society of Natural History. American Quarterly Register, February, 8 p.
Gould, Augustus A. 1865. Historical memoir of the Linnaean Society of New England; being an epitome of its records. Proc. Boston Soc. Nat. Hist. 9. 335-340.
Gifford, G. E., Jr. 1980. The medical botany of the New England area, 1782-1842. Proceedings of the Cambridge Historical Society for the years 1973-1975. v. 43, pp. 365-378.
Graustein, J. E. 1964. Early Scientists in the White Mountains. Appalachia, new series, v. 30: 44-63.
Graustein, J. E. 1967. Thomas Nuttall, naturalist; explorations in America, 1808-1841. Cambridge, Harvard University Press, 481 pp.
Hale, Everett Everett. 1875. "The Harvard Natural History Society" in v. 2, pp. 385-388 of The Harvard book: a series of historical, biographical, and descriptive sketches, by various authors, collected and published by F.O. Vaille and H.A. Clark. 2 v. Cambridge: Welch, Bigelow, and Company.
Hammond, C. A. 1987. The botanic garden in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1805-1834. Herbarist, no. 53, pp. 45-73.
Harris, Stuart K. 1960. Plant lists are where you find them: a list of local floras of Massachusetts published since 1898. Rhodora, vol. 62, no. 733, pp. 20-29.
Harvard University. Quinquennial Catalogue of Officers and Graduates, 1636-1930. Cambridge, 1930.
Harvey, F. L. 1902. A catalogue and bibliography of the Odonata (Dragon-flies) of Maine, with an annotated list of their collectors. University of Maine Studies, no. 4.
Herringshaw's American blue-book of biography: prominent Americans of ... Chicago, Ill.: American Publishers' Association.
Herringshaw's national library of American biography: contains thirty-five thousand biographies of the acknowledged leaders of life and thought of the United States; illustrated with three thousand vignette portraits ... Chicago, Ill.: American Publishers' Association, 1909-14.
Holloway, L. M. 1981. Medical Obituaries: American Physicians' Biographical Notices in Selected Medical Journals Before 1907. NY: Garland, 513 pp.
Howard, Richard A. 1973. A partial history of the New England Botanical Club. Rhodora, vol. 75, no. 804, pp. 493-516
Humphrey, Harry Baker. 1961. Makers of North American botany. NY: Ronald Press, 265 p.
Humphrey, J. E. 1896. Botany and botanists in New England. New England Magazine v. 14, pp. 29-44.
Ingersoll, Ernest. 1886. Harvard’s botanic garden and its botanists. Century Magazine, vol. 32, (n.s. vol. 10), pp. 237-248.
Jackson, R. L. 1948. The Physicians of Essex County. Salem, MA: Essex Institute, 152 pp.
Johnson, R. 1997. Maine’s Portland Society of Natural History. Northeastern naturalist, v. 4, no. 3, pp. 189-196.
Kaufman, M., S. Galishoff & T. L. Savitt, eds. 1984. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. 2 v. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. [Includes physicians since, & omitted by, Kelly & Burrage] Abbrev: DictAmMedBiogr
Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton 1364 pp. Reprinted, Boston: Milford House, 1971.
King, Thomas Starr. 1859. The White Hills; their legends, landscape, and poetry, by Boston, I.N. Andrews, 403p. [Pp. 34-46. History of the Exploration of the White Hills]
Kohlstedt, Sally Gregory. 1979. From learned society to public museum: the Boston Society of Natural History. Pp. 386-406 in: The Organization of knowledge in modern America, 1860-1920, ed. by Alexandra Oleson and John Voss. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 478 p.
Kunitz. 1942. Twentieth Century Authors. and 1st Supplement Abbrev: TCA
Lyell, Charles. 1849. A second visit to the United States of North America. New York, Harper & Brothers; London, J. Murray. 2 v. (Vol. 1, pp. 71-72]
Mallis, A. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 pp.
Martin, S. M. 1995. Maine’s early malacological history. Maine Naturalist, 3(1): 1-34
Matthews, Janice R. 1974. History of the Cambridge Entomological Club. Psyche, vol 81, no 1, pp 3-37
Men and women of America; a biographical dictionary of contemporaries. New York City, L.R. Hamersly & Company, 1910.
Miner, Roy Waldo. 1922. Biological work on Mount Desert Island. Natural History, vol. 22, pp. 46-55.
New-England historical and genealogical register. Index of Persons for v. 1-50 Abbrev: NEHGRindex
The National cyclopaedia of American biography. NY: J.T. White, 1898- Abbrev: NCAB
Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. Abbrev: AOU
Pauly, P. J. 1988. Summer resort and scientific discipline. Pp. 121-150 in The American Development of Biology. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press.
Pease, Arthur Stanley. 1917. Notes on the Botanical Exploration of the White Mountains, Appalachia, v. 14: 157-178.
Preston, Wheeler. American biographies. 1st ed. New York: Harper, c1940.
Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp.
Royal Society of London. Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900. London: Royal Society of London, 1867-1925. Abbrev: RSC
Scheltema, Rudolf S. & H. Scheltema, Amelie. 1972. 11.—Deep-sea Biological Studies in America, 1846 to 1872—their contribution to the Challenger Expedition. Proceedings of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. Section B. Biology, v. 72, no. 11, pp. 133-144.
Schopf, T. J. M. Atlantic Continental Shelf and Slope of the United States - Nineteenth century exploration. U.S. Geological Survey Professional Paper 529- F, pp. 1-12 Online version https://pubs.usgs.gov/pp/0529f/report.pdf
Sibley’s Harvard graduates. Biographical sketches of those who attended Harvard College, by John Langdon Sibley, Clifford K. Shipton, and others. Boston: Massachusetts Historical Society, 1873-.
Socolow, Arthur A., ed. 1988. The State geological surveys: a history. Grand Forks? N.D.: Association of American State Geologists, 1988, 499 p.
Sterling, K. B. et al., eds. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 937 pp. Abbrev: BDACNE
Thacher, James. 1828. American medical biography; or, Memoirs of eminent physicians who have flourished in America. To which is prefixed a succinct history of medical science in the United States, from the first settlement of the country. Boston, Richardson & Lord, 2 v. in 1.
Google Books version.
Thoms, H. 1960. The doctors of Yale College, 1702-1815, and the founding of the Medical Institution. Yale University. School of Medicine. Dept. of the History of Medicine. Publication no. 39. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press.
Tuckerman, Frederick. 1921. Early Visits to the White Mountains. Appalachia, vol 15. No. 2, pp. 111-127.
The twentieth century biographical dictionary of notable Americans ... Ed. by Rossiter Johnson. Boston, The Biographical Soceity, 1904. Abbrev: TCBDNA
Wallace, W. Stewart. 1951. A dictionary of North American authors deceased before 1950. Toronto: Ryerson Press. Abbrev: DNAA
Who's Who in Massachusetts. Boston: Larkin, Roosevelt & Larkin, v. 1 (1940/41) - 2 (1942/1943).
Who's Who in New England. Chicago: A.N. Marquis, v. 1-4 (1909-1949)
Who Was Who in America. Chicago: Marquis Who's Who.
Who was who in American art, 1564-1975: 400 years of artists in America. Madison, CT.: Sound View Press, 1999.
Who's who among North American authors. v. 1-7; 1921-39. Los Angeles. Abbrev: WWWNAA
Who was who among North American authors, 1921-1939. Detroit: Gale Research Co. (Compiled from Who's Who among North American Authors, vol. 1-7, 1921-1939).
Williams, Mary Frances. 1985. The Harpswell Laboratory, 1898-1920: a marine biological station. South Harpswell, ME: M.F. Williams. x, 149 leaves,  p. of plates.
Williams, Mary Frances. 1987. The Harpswell Laboratory, 1898-1920: a marine biological station. Maine Historical Society Quarterly, v. 27, pp. 82-99.
Williams, Stephen West. 1845. American medical biography; or, Memoirs of eminent physicians, embracing principally those who have died since the publication of Dr. Thacher's work on the same subject. Greenfield, MA: L. Merriam, 664 p.