Wi-Z

Wi

Wilcox, Miss. Alice Wilson 1871-
b, Providence, RI; Vassar, AB, 1894; Instructor of Zoology, Vassar, 1896-1900; Instructor of Zoology, Wellesley, 1902-05; Instructor of Biology and Euthenics, Womens Colllege, Brown University, 1906-; Freshwater Bryozoa

American Men of Science, vol. 3

Wilder, Burt Green 1841-

Comstock, J. H. 1925. [Obituary]. Science, n.s., vol. 61, pp. 531-533

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 4, p. 481 (Port.).

Wilder, Harris Hawthorne

The Early Years of a Zoologist: The Story of a New England Boyhood. Edited and arranged by Inez Whipple Wilder. Smith College, Northampton, MA: Privately Printed, 73 pp.

Wilkins, Austin Horatio

Wilkins, Austin Horatio. The forests of Maine, their extent, character, ownership, and products. Maine Forest Service. Bulletin, no. 8. Augusta, Maine, Maine Forest Service, 1932.

Wilder, Inez Whipple (Mrs. Harris Hawthorne Wilder) 1871-
b, Diamond Hill, RI; Smith College, AM, 1904; Instructor of Zoology, Smith College, 1902-; Life history of Amphibia

American Men of Science, vol. 3

Willard, Frederic H.
Member, Linnaean Society, Amherst College, 1822; Meisel

Willard, Theodora 1871-1937
b,d, Boston, MA

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Balch, Francis N. 1938. Theodora Willard, a memorial notice for the records of the Boston Malacological Club.

Willcox, Mary Alice 1856-1953
b, Kennebunk, ME, April 24, 1856; Zurich, PhD, 1898; Teacher in normal and public schools, then Professor, Wellesley, 1883-; Comparative anatomy of molluscs

American Men of Science, vol. 3

Logan, John A., Mrs. 1912. The part taken by women in American history. Wilmington, Del: Perry-Nalle publishing co., 927 p. In Google Books. [p. 879]

Pocket Guide to the Birds of New England. Boston: Lee and Shepard, 1895, 1901, 1903.

Pocket guide to the common land birds of New England. Boston, Lee and Shepard, 1895, 158 pp.

Key to aid in identifying the more common birds of Wellesley. n.p., n.d. 20 pp.

Willey, Henry 1824-1907
b, Genesco, NY; Editor, New Bedford Evening Standard, 1857-90; Collected ferns in White Mountains, 1867-68; Lichens

American Men of Science, vol. 1

Howe, R. H., Jr. 1913. Henry Willey, Lichenist. New Bedford Standard. July 20, 1913. Botany Farlow Library: PAM

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

Enumeration of the lichens found in New Bedford, Massachusetts and its vicinity, from 1862-1892. New Bedford, MA: Printed for the Author, 1892, ii. 39 p.

Williams, Edward Newlin 1874?-1902
died 1/31/1902 in Maine.
Education: University of Pennsylvania, MD, 1898

Physician, practiced New Hope, PA.

Pennsylvania Medcal Journal, 6 (1902/03), p. 262.

Amateur botanist. Botanized in White Mountains with F. Schuyler Matthews. Mentioned in preface to Mathews' Field book of American wild flowers (1902).

Williams, Emile Francis 1858-1929; Botany in Coos County (1880), 1894-1907

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

Robinson, B. L. 1931. Emile Francis Williams. Rhodora, vol. 33, no. 385 (January), pp. 1-18, port. frontis.

Williams, Leonard Worcester 1875-; b, Muskogee, IN; Brown, PhD, 1901; Instructor of Comparative Anatomy, Assistant Professor of Biology, Brown, 1901-07; Instructor of Comparative Anatomy, Harvard Medical School, 1907; Cephalopod anatomy, copepod classification

American Men of Science, vol. 3

Williams, Mary Francis

Williams, Mary Francis. 1985. The Harpswell Laboratory, 1898-1920. Appendix F. Publications of Leonard W. Williams (omitting book reviews), 1 p.

Williams, Samuel 1743-1817
23 April 1743 - 2 January 1817

Son of the Reverend Wareham Williams and Abigail (Leonard) Williams of Waltham, MA, Samuel Williams, graduated from Harvard College in 1761. He traveled with Harvard's Professor John Winthrop to Newfoundland in 1761 to observe the transit of Venus. He was the author of several papers in physical science. Williams became minister at Bradford, MA, in 1765, and in 1768 married Jane Kilbourn who bore him five children. During his time in Bradford he taught science to Benjamin Thompson, the future Count Rumford. In 1780, Williams accepted Harvard's offer of the Hollis Professorship of Natural and Experimental Philosophy. Also in 1780, he helped found the Amerian Academy of Arts and Sciences in Boston, and participated in an expedition to Penobscot, with the permission of the occupying British forces, to observe an eclipse of the sun. Williams was known for his showy and extravagent way of life, and in 1788 he was indicted for forgery. He escaped to Rutland, Vermont. There he served as minister of the First Church, until his decision to leave the ministtry in 1794, after which he engaged in newspaper editing and publishing. His promotion of a university for the new state led to the establishment of the University of Vermont. He was employed by the State to resurvey its northern boundary. Sibley

MSS lecture notes in Harvard Archives

Portrait from New England Magazine, vol. 12, p. 498. The original is lost.

Rothschild, Robert Friend. 2009. Two brides for Apollo: the life of Samuel Williams (1743-1817). NY: IUniverse, 2009. xxx, 469 p.

Shipton, C. K. 1970. Sibley's Harvard Graduates, vol. 15, pp. 134-146.

Bibliography of his physical science articles in Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900. (London: Royal Society of London, 1867-1925, 23 vols.).

The natural and civil history of Vermont. Walpole, NH: Isaiah Thomas and David Carlisle, Jun. 1794, 416 pp. later eds. Burlington, VT: Samuel Mills, 2 v., 1809.

Williams, Stephen West 1790-1855
27 Mar. 1790-7 July 1855

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Deane, J. 1856. Biographical sketch of the late Steph. W. Williams, M.D. Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, vol. 53, no. 2 (August 9), pp. 29-32.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements). Article by H.R.V.

Memorial Biographies of the New England Historic Genealogical Society, vol. 2, 1853-1855. Boston, The Society, 1881. [Stephen West Williams, pp. 389-397]

Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, vol. 52, p. 507, 1855

Transactions of the American Medical Association, vol. 29, pp. 775-777, 1878

Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, pp. 1308-1309.

Bibliography of his articles in Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900. (London: Royal Society of London, 1867-1925, 23 vols.).

Floral and zoological calendar kept at Deerfield, Mass., with miscellaneous remarks. American Journal of Science vol. 1, no. 4, pp. 359-73, 1818.

Report on the indiginous medical botany of Massachusetts. Transactions of the American Medical Association (Philadelphia), vol. 2, pp. 863-927, 1849.

Williamson, W. D.
1832 Hist of the St of ME

Table of identification in Kendall, Fishes of Maine, p. 105

Willis, Henry -1868 at 36
Vice-President, Portland Society of Natural History, 1862; Meisel, 1843

Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History, vol. 1, no. 2, p. 192, 1869.

Wilson, Alexander

Fowler, S. P. 1856-66. Ornithology in the United States. Proceedings of the Essex Institute, vol. 2, pp. 327-334. [Mentions Wilson's visit to New England in 1808 guided by John Prince]

Wilson, Anne

Wilson, Anne. 1908. Boggy solitudes of Nantucket. New York and Washington: The Neale publishing company, 118 p. (Juvenile literature).

Wilson, Charles Branch 1861-
b, Exeter, ME; Colby, AM, 1883; Johns Hopkins, PhD, 1910; Professor of Biology, Head, Department of Science, State Normal School, Westfield, MA, 1896-; Nemerteans/Gephyeans of North America, copepods

American Men of Science, vol. 3

Wilson, J. S. P. H.
Report, Commissioner of Inland Fishreries and Game, 1913; Kendall, 1914, Fishes of Maine

Winkley, Henry W. 1858-1918
b, Boston; d, Danvers, MA; Harvard, B.A., 1881; Episcopal Theological School, 1884; New England shells collection, in MCZ

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Johnson, C. W. 1918. The Nautilus, vol. 31(4), pp. 136-137 (portrait).

Winkley, H. W.  1902. New England marine collecting. Nautilus, vol. 16, pp. 14-15.

Winsor, Dr. Frederic
Mammals; Dexter, 1980, p. 23

Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33 [mentioned p. 23].

Winthrop, John, Jr. 1605-1676

Benton, R. M. 1973. The John Winthrops and developing scientific thought in New England. Early American Literature, v. 7, pp. 272-290.

Black, R. C. 1966. The younger John Winthrop. NY: Columbia University Press, 459 p.

Browne, C. A. 1927. Scientific notes from the books and letters of John Winthrop, Jr. (1606-1676) first governor of Connecticut. Isis, v. 11, no. 36, pp. 325-342.

Shute, M. M., ed. 1980. The Scientific Work of John Winthrop. NY: Arno Press.

Reprints 18 articles, letters, etc., published between 1742 and 1916.

Winthrop, R. C. 1878. Remarks by the President [Correspondence of John Winthrop with the Royal Society] Proceedings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, vol. 16, pp. 206-251. [Oldenburg to JW, 17 July 1669 "recommend to you afresh the composure of a faithfull and ample Natural History of New England." p. 245

A further accompt of the stellar fish. Philosophical Transactions, vol. 6, no. 74 (August, 1671), pp. 2221-2224.

Winthrop, John. 1670. Concerning some natural curiosities of those parts of Connecticut, especially a strange and curious fish, sent for the repository of the Royal Society. Phil. Trans. 5: 1151-1153. Abstr. in Abridg. ed. 1749, 3: 564-565; 1809 ed. 1: 421-423.

Grew, Nehemiah. Musaeum regalis societatis, or, A catalogue and description of the nature and artificial rarities belonging to the Royal Society and preserved at Gresham Colledge. London: Printed for S. Holford, 1686.

Royal Society (Great Britain). Museum. Musaeum Regalis Societatis, or, A catalogue & description of the natural and artificial rarities belonging to the Royal Society and preserved at Gresham Colledge. London: Printed by W. Rawlins for the author, 1681.

Winthrop papers, ed. by Malcolm Freiberg. Boston: The Massachusetts Historical Society, 1929- . Contents: v. 1. 1498-1628; v. 2. 1623-1630; v. 3. 1631-1637; v. 4. 1638-1644; v. 5. 1645-1649; v. 6. 1650-1654.

Wo

Wolcott, Henrietta H. T. (Mrs.) 1826-1903
b, Boston; d, Dedham, MA

Dall, W. H. 1903. The Nautilus, vol. 17, p. 84.

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Wolcott, Robert Henry

Swenk, M. H. 1935. Robert Henry Wolcott. Wilson Bulletin, vol. 47, pp. 45-49. Portrait.

Wood, Alphonzo; Teacher at New Hampshire Academy; Dupree, Gray, p. 169

Eggleston, W. W. 1927. The botanical publications of Alphonso Wood. Agr. Libr. Notes, v. 2, pp. 95-100.

Merrill, E. D. 1948. Unlisted new names in Alphonso Wood's botanica;l publications. Rhodora, v. 50, no. 593 (May), pp. 101-130.

Class-Book of Botany, 1845

Wood, Dr. William 1822-1885
b, Somers; d, East Windsor Hill, CT; Published in American Naturalist; Familiar Science and Fancier's Journal; Ornithologist and Oologist; Hartford Times

Auk, vol. 2 (October 1885), p. 391.

Boardman, S. L. (& A. E. Verrill according to Casey Wood). 1903. The Naturalist of the St. Croix. Memoir of George A. Boardman, a Selection of his Correspondence and PublishedWritings, Notices of Friends and Contemporaries, with his List of Birds of Maine and New Brunswick. Bangor, ME: Privately printed, 351 pp. [William Wood, pp. 213-217, portrait 212 or facing p. 213???]

Wood, Dr. William
Vice-President, Portland Society of Natural History, 1851; Meisel, 1843; President, Portland Society of Natural History, 1889 ; Kendall, 1914, Fishes of Maine

Wood, William

Nevv Englands prospect. A true, lively, and experimentall description of that part of America, commonly called Nevv England: discovering the state of that countrie, both as it stands to our new-come English planters; and to the old native inhabitants. Laying downe that which may both enrich the knowledge of the mind-travelling reader, or benefit the future voyager. Printed at London by Tho. Cotes for Iohn Bellamie, 1635.

New England's prospect. [Boston]: [Boynton], [1897].

Wood's New-England's prospect. New York, B. Franklin, 1967

New England's prospect. The Commonwealth series. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1977.

New Englands prospect. A true, lively, and experimentall description of that part of America, commonly called New England: discovering the state of that countrie, both as it stands to our new-come English planters; and to the old native inhabitants. Laying downe that which may both enrich the knowledge of the mind-travelling reader, or benefit the future voyager. Printed at London by Tho. Cotes, for John Bellamie, 1634.

New Englands prospect. London, Printed by T. Cotes for I. Bellamie, 1634. [Boston? Reprinted for E. M. Boynton, 1898?].

New-England's prospect. The third edition. [Boston]: London, printed 1639. Boston, New-England, re-printed by Thomas and John Fleet, in Cornhill; and Green and Russell, in Queen-Street, 1764.

Woods, William Colcord

The biology of Maine species of Altica. Bulletin / Maine Agricultural Experiment Station; 273. Orono: Maine Agricultural Experiment Station, 1918. ME economic entomologist

Woodward, Frank Ernest 1853-1921
b, Damariscotta, ME; d, Brookline, MA; Businessman; Society of Mayflower Descendents (President and VP), New England Historic Genealogical Society (Council), Massachusetts Society of the Sons of the Revolution (President); AOU

Woodward, Lemuel Fox 1857-1931
b,d, Worcester, MA; Harvard Medical School, 1881; Member: Nuttall, Worcester Natural History Society (President and Trustees); AOU

Woodworth, Jay Backus 1865-1925

Sayles, Robert Wilcox, 1878-1942. Jay Backus Woodworth. 7 p. port. 24 cm. Harvard graduates magazine, March, 1926.

Geography and geology of the region including Cape Cod, the Elizabeth islands, Nantucket, Marthas Vineyard, No mans land and Block island. Memoirs of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard College. v. 52. Cambridge, Mass., Printed for the Museum, 1934.

Woodworth, William McMichael 1864-
b, San Francisco, CA; Harvard, PhD, 1891; MCZ, various posts, Keeper, 1889-

American Men of Science, vol. 3

Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 18].

Wr

Wright, C.
Curator, Lyceum of Natural History of the Berkshire Medical Institution, Pittsfield; Meisel, 1823

Wright, Charles 1811-1885
29 Oct. 1811-11 Aug. 1885; b,d, Wethersfield, CT; Yale, 1835; Botanical exploration; Last years "devoted to the exploration of his native hills."

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Dodson, C. 1993. Botanists of the Mexican-United States Boundary Survey. Huntia 9(1):89-96.

Elliott, C. A. 1979. Biographical Dictionary of American Science: The Seventeenth through the Nineteenth Centuries. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 360 pp.

Hartmann, C. P. 1992. Charles Wright: botanizer of the boundary. Part I: A Connecticut yankee in Van Horne's train. Password (El Paso Historical Society), 37(2): 55-70.

Hartmann, C. P. 1992. Charles Wright: botanizer of the boundary. Part II: At the edge of the power struggle in th U. S. Boundary Commission. Password (El Paso Historical Society), 37(4): 171-187.

Hinckley, L.C. 1950. The centennial of Charles Wright's trip through Trans-Pecos Texas. American Midland Naturalist, 44(2): 488-494.

Humphrey, J. E. 1896. Botany and botanists in New England. New England Magazine, v. 14, pp. 29-44 (p. 39).

Mearns, B. & R. Mearns. 1992. Audubon to Xantus: The Lives of Those Commemorated in North American Bird Names. London: Academic Press, 588 pp. Biographical sketches with references.

Shaw, E.A. 1987. Charles Wright on the Boundary 1849-1852 or Plantae Wrightianae Revisited. Westport, CT: Meckler Publishing Co., 44 pp.

Wright, C. 1940. Field notes of Charles Wright for 1849 and 1851-52 relating to collections from Texas, New Mexico, Arizona and adjacent Sonora and Chihuahua. A copy with commentary by Ivan M. Johnston, Gray Herbarium, Harvard University. Unpublished typescript.

Wright, Elizer (Elizor?)

Wright, Ellen. 1893. Elizer Wright's Appeals for the Middlesex Fells and the Forest, with a Sketch of What he did for Both, by his daughter, Ellen Wright. The Medford Public Domain Club, 156 pp.

Wright, Horace Winslow 1848-1920
b, Dorcester, MA; d, Jefferson Highland, NH (Summer home); Harvard, 1869; New Church Theological School, 1873; Minister, then librarian, Abington Public Library, Abington, MA; Member, Nuttall; AOU

Allen, G. M. 1920. [Obituary]. Auk, vol. 37 July), pp. 509-510.

Birds of the Boston Public garden, a study in migration. Boston and New York, Houghton Mifflin co., 1909, 238 pp.

The birds of the Jefferson region in the White Mountains, New Hampshire. Proceedings of the Manchester Institute of Arts and Sciences, v. 5, pt. 1. Manchester, N.H., Manchester Institute of Arts and Sciences, 1911, 126 pp.

Wright, Jane Atherton

The Loggerhead Shrike in Massachusetts. Bird-Lore, vol. 5, pp. 122-124.

Wright, Mabel Osgood 1859-1934
26 Jan. 1859-16 July 1934; d, Fairfield, CT; Founder Connecticut Audubon Society (President); National Association of Audubon Societies (Director); AOU

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Curran, J. M. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 833-834.

Strom, D. "Mabel Osgood Wright 1859-1934." Pp. 144-158 in Birdwatching with American Women. NY: W. W. Norton, 1986. [Biographical sketch and selections from Citizen Bird and The Friendship of Nature.]

Birdcraft; a field book of two hundred song, game, and water birds. NY: Macmillan, 1895, xvi + 317 pp., 15 plates (part col., incl. front.).

Birdcraft; a field book of two hundred song, game, and water birds. Ill. by Louis Agassiz Fuertes. NY: Macmillan, 1897, xvi + 317 pp., col. front., 79 plates, facsim. Also: 9th ed. 1917.

Citizen bird; scenes from bird-life in plain English for beginners, with Elliott Coues. Ill. by Louis Agassiz Fuertes. NY: Macmillan, 1897, xiv + 430 pp., front., 110 ill.

First reader: Stories of earth and sky. Ill. by Joseph M. Gleeson. NY: Macmillan, 1904, viiii + 125 pp., front., illus., 4 plates.

Flowers and ferns in their haunts. Ill. from photos by the author and J. Horace McFarland. NY: Macmillan, 1901, xix + 358 pp., front., illus., plates. Also: 1907, 57 plates (incl.front).

Four-footed Americans and their kin. ed. by Frank M. Chapman. NY: Macmillan, 1898, xv + 432 pp., front., illus., plates.

The friendship of nature; a New England chronicle of birds and flowers. NY: Macmillan, 1894, vii + 238 pp., front.

Gray lady and the birds; stories of the bird year for home and school. New York, The Macmillan company, 1907.

Gray lady and the birds; stories of the bird year for home and school. NY: Macmillan, 1915, xviii + 440 pp., front.

Second reader: Stories of plants and animals. Ill. by Albert D. Blashfield. NY: Macmillan, 1904, xii + 143 pp., front., illus., plates.

Third reader: Stories of birds and beasts. Ill. by Louis Agassiz Fuertes and Ernest Thompson Seton. NY: Macmillan, 1904, xi + 130 pp., front., illus., plates.

A year with the birds; a guide to the naming of 100 birds commonly to be seen in Connecticut. Comp. by Mabel Osgood Wright. 1905, 145 pp., plates (Connecticut School Document no. 4-1905; whole number 269).

Wright, Mary Angelina 1850-1928
b, Dorchester; d, Cambridge, MA; Member, Massachusetts Audubon Society

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 624].

Wy

Wyeth, Nathaniel Jarvis
Helped Nuttall with birds; Graustein, Nuttall, pp. 243, 249.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements). Article by J.S.

Wyman, Jeffries 1814-1874
11 Aug. 1814-4 Sept. 1874; b, Chelmsford, MA; d, White Mountains, CT; Harvard, M.D., 1833

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

American Journal of Science, 3 ser., vol. 8, pp. 323-324, 1874

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Appel, T. A. 1988. Jeffries Wyman, philosophical anatomy, and the scientific reception of Darwin in America. Journal of the History of Biology, v. 21, pp. 69-94.

Appel, T. A. 1992. A scientific career in the age of character: Jeffries Wyman and natural history at Harvard. Pp. 96-120 in Science at Harvard: Historical Perspectives, ed. by C. A. Elliott and M. W. Rossiter. Bethlehem, PA: Lehigh Univ. Press.

Appel, T. A. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 836-839.

Benjamin, M. 1899. Jeffries Wyman. Proceedings of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, vol. 48, pp. 421-423. Portrait.

Benjamin, M. 1899. Jeffries Wyman. Science, n.s., vol. 10 (November 10), pp. 674-675.

Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, vol. 191, pp. 429-435, 1924. Portrait.

Bouvé, T. T. 1880. Jeffries Wyman. Boston Society of Natural History Anniversary Volume, pp. 169-177.

Bulletin of the Essex Institite, vol. 7, p. 93, 1876

Dupree, A. H. 1953. Jeffries Wyman's views on evolution. Isis, vol. 44, no. 3, pp. 243-246

Emerson, E. W. 1918. Jeffries Wyman. Pp. 420-427 in The early years of the Saturday Club, 1855-1870, ed. by Edward Waldo Emerson. Boston: NY: Houghton Mifflin Company, 515 pp.

Gifford, G. E., Jr., ed. 1978. Dear Jeffie: Being the Letters of Jeffries Wyman, First Director of the Peabody Museum, to his Son, Jeffries Wyman, Jr. Cambridge: Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, 82 pp.

Gray, A. 1875. American Journal of Science, 3 ser., vol. 9, pp. 81-93, 171-177.

Gray, A. 1875. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol 17, p. 96-126.

Gray, A. An address delivered at a memorial meeting of the Boston Society of Natural History, October 7, 1874; Reprinted in Scientific Papers of Asa Gray, selected by C. S. Sargent. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1889, vol. 2, pp. 377-400.

Holmes, O. W. Professor Jeffries Wyman. A memorial outline. Atlantic monthly. Nov. 1874. pp. 611-623.

Nature, vol. 10, p. 487, 1875

Packard, A. S. 1886. Biographical memoir of Jeffries Wyman, 1814-1874. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 2, pp. 75-126. Portrait???, bibliography

Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, n.s., vol. 2, (whole ser., vol. 10) (1875), pp. 496-505. Bibliography.

Proceedings of the Linnean Society of London, 1875-75, lxx-lxxv

Wilder, B. G. 1875. Sketch of Dr. Jeffries Wyman. Popular Science Monthly, vol. 6 (January), pp. 355-360. Portrait

Wilder, B. G. 1910. Jeffries Wyman. Pp. 171-209 in Leading American Men of Science, ed. by D. S. Jordan.

Wilder, B. G. 1874. Jeffries Wyman. Old and new. XI. 533-544. 1874.

Ya

Yale, Dr. Leroy Milton
Holme's Hole (now Vineyard Haven)

Acknowledged for specimens in Augustus A. Gould's Report on the Invertebrata of Massachusetts (1841) and in David Humphreys Storer's A report on the fishes of Massachusetts. (Boston Journal of Natural History, vol. 2, no. 3-4, pp. 289-570, 1839).

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Gifford, G. E. 1962. Thomas Mayo Brewer, M.D. ... a blackbird and duck, sparrow and mole. Harvard Medical Alumni Bulletin, vol. 37, no. 1 (Fall), pp. ?????. Reprinted in Medicine and Science in Early America, Being the Collected Essays of George Edmund Gifford, Jr., 1930-1981. Friends of George E. Gifford, Jr., 1982, pp. 11-13.

Yale sent Thomas Mayo Brewer a specimen of the Hairy-Tailed Mole, which Brewer forwarded to John Bachman, who described it as a new species.

Young, Dr. Aaron 1819-1898

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements). Article by H.R.V.

Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, 1364 pp.

Bean, R. C. 1953. Further light on Aaron Young Jr's flora of Maine. Rhodora, vol. 55, no. 658 (October), pp. 293-296.

Norton, A. H. 1935. Dr. Aaron Young, Jr. and the botanical survey of Maine. Rhodora, vol. 37, no. 433 (Jan.), pp. 1-16, port. frontis.

Young, Aaron. Report : botanical exploration of Mt. Katahdn. Notes on the journey - 1847. Maine Farmer, Mar. 16, Apr.13, Apr.20,27, May 4,11,18, 25,1848. Botany Gray Herbarium: Fol 2 Y8

Young, Aaron. 1848. A flora of Maine,illustrated with specimens from nature, arranged according to the natural system, and containing descriptions of all the known indigenous plants growing in the state, giving their generic and specific characters, principal synonymous places of growth, and time of flowering, and occasional remarks. Bangor: S.S. Smith, Printer, 1 v. specimens. 51 cm.

Report and resolves of the Legislature of the state of Maine respecting international literary exchanges, together with documents relating thereto. Pub. by order of the Legislature of Maine. Augusta: W. T. Johnson, Printer to the State, 1847, 109 p. illus. (In Documents printed by order of the Legislature ... 1847 ...Augusta, 1848; Includes: Lecture of Mons. Vattemare, Augusta, July 23, 1847; and Instructions on ... collecting, preserving and transporting objects of natural history. Written by the professors, administrators of the Museum of Natural History at Paris. Rev., with the addition of notes, by Aaron Young, Jr., State Botanist. Vattemare, Alexandre, 1796-1864. Young, Aaron, 1819-1898.

Young, Augustus 1785-1857

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 3, p. 506.

Young, D. B.

Loomis, F. B., and D. B. Young. 1912. On the Shell Heaps of Maine. American Journal of Science, 4th Series, Vol. XXXIV, no. 199, pp.17-41.

Young, Herbert Andrew 1857-1894

Catalogue of the flora of Oak Island, Revere, Massachusetts: with notes. Essex inst. Salem, Mass. Bull. 14: 141-157. map. JL.-Dec. 1882.

Reprinted: Catalogue of the flora of Oak Island, Revere, Massachusetts: with notes. Salem [Mass.]: Peabody Academy of Science, 1883, 19 pp.

Zappey, Walter Reeves 1878-1914
b, Roxbury; Home: Arlington and Cambridge; Taxidermist, then collector for Walter Rothschild, O. Bangs, MCZ, then preparator, MCZ; AOU