Research Guides: New England Naturalists: A Bio-Bibliography: C

C

Cabot, James Elliot 1821-1903

Higginson, Thomas Wentworth. Pp. 233-246 in Carlyle's Laugh, and Other Surprises. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1909.

Cabot, James Elliot. I. Autobiographical sketch. II. Family reminiscences. III. Sedge birds. Boston, G.H. Ellis Co., printers, 1904.

Emerson, E. W. 1918. James Elliot Cabot. Pp. 260-268 in The early years of the Saturday Club, 1855-1870, ed. by Edward Waldo Emerson. Boston: NY: Houghton Mifflin Company, 515 pp.

Higginson, Thomas Wentworth. James Elliot Cabot: From the Proceedings of the American academy of arts and sciences, vol. XXXIX. Boston, 1904.

[Obituary]. Proceedings of the American academy of arts and sciences, vol. 29 (1903-1904), pp. 649-655, 1904.

Simmons, N. C. 1980. Man without a Shadow: The Life and Work of James Elliot Cabot, Emerson's Biographer and Literary Executor. Princeton University Dissertation, 591 pp. DAI, vol. 41, no. 6, p. 2608-A, 8028661

Simmons, N. C. 1982. The "Autobiographical Sketch" of James Elliot Cabot. Harvard Library Bulletin, vol. 30, no. 2, pp. 117-152.

Simmons, N. C. 1983. Arranging the sibylline leaves: James Elliot Cabot's work as Emerson's literary executor. Studies in the American Renaissance, 1983, pp. 335-389.

Primary works

Cabot, James Elliot. Sedge-birds. March, 1869, pp. 384-386.

Our birds, and their ways. Atlantic, vol. 1, no. 2, pp. 209-216.

Papers, Harvard

Cabot, Louis
Dragonflies, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University.

Barbour, Thomas. 1946. A naturalist's scrapbook. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 218 p.[p. 33]

Cabot, Samuel 1815-1885
b,d, Boston, MA
Sept 15, 1815-April 13, 1885
m, Hannah Lowell Jackson, nine children
Harvard College, AB 1836
Harvard Medical School MD 1839
Studied in Paris 2 years
Stephens-Catherwood expedition to Yucatan, ornithologist, 1841-42
Medical practice, 1843-85
Massachusetts General Hospital, visiting surgeon, 1853-84
Boston Children's Hospital, president

Most of Cabot's ornithological work was done before 1850, after which his medical interests absorbed most of his time. The bulk of his work dealt with Yucatan birds, but he wrote also on the rarer birds of New England.

AOU

Auk, vol. 3 (January), p. 144, 1886

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Gifford, G. E. 1963. Samuel Cabot, Jr. - "gentleman naturalist." Harvard Medical Alumni Bulletin, vol. 37, no. 3 (Spring), pp. 15-19? ; Reprint??

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 25.

Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, n.s., v. 13 (whole ser., 21), pp. 517-520, 1886. Bibliography

Cahan, Abraham 1860-1951
Connecticut birdwatcher. Writer and editor of Forverts, a New York Yiddish newspaper.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Sorin, G. 1985. The prophetic minority: American Jewish immigrant radicals, 1880-1920. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 211 p.

Cahoon, John Cyrus 1863-1891
b, Harwich, MA; d, Collecting in Newfoundland; Professional collector and field naturalist; AOU

Allen, J. A. 1891. John C. Cahoon. Auk, v. 8, pp. 320-321.

W[ebster], F[rank] B[lake]. 1891. Horrible fate. Ornithologist and Oologist, v. 16, pp. 73-75. [about his death from fall from cliff].

Newspaper article about his death reprinted in Ornithologist and Oologist, v. 15, pp. 120-121.

References from: Barrow, Mark V., Jr. 1998. A passion for birds: American ornithology after Audubon. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 326 p. (p. 42).

Calkins, Gary Nathan1869-1943
18 Jan. 1869-4 Jan. 1943

Protozoologist at Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Call, Aubrey Brendon 1867-1901
b, Pittsfield, MA; d, Townshend, VT

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 113].

Canfield, Joseph Buckingham 1874-1924
b, Pekin, IL; d, Bridgeport, CT; Businessman

Capen, Elwina or Elwin A.

Capen, Elwina. 1886. Oölogy of New England: A Description of the Eggs, Nests, and Breeding Habits of the Birds Known to Breed in New England, with Colored Illustrations of their Eggs. Boston: Mudge, 116 pp. 25 col. pl.

Capen, Frederick Mortimer 1872-1929
b, d, NYC; Note on Mass. bird in Auk

Carey, John 1797-1880

Gray, A. 1880. [Obituary]. American Journal of Science, 3rd ser., vol. 19, pp. 421- Reprinted in Scientific Papers of Asa Gray, pp. 417-418.

Carleton, Cyrus 1834-1907
d, Providence, RI

Carnegie, III, G. M.

A List of Batrachia Collected at Concord, Mass. Proceedings of the Thoreau Museum of Natural History at Middlesex School. 1 (1901): 31-32.

Carpenter, Frank
Curator, fossil insects, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University.

Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 293].

Carpenter, Horace Francis 1842-1937
b, Pawtucket; d, Edgewood, RI

Chemist, amateur conchologist and mineralogist

Published on RI mollusks

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Who Was Who in America, 1943

Carter, Charles Moreland 1852-1922
b, Cambridge, MA; d, St. Joseph, MO; West west in 1875; Sports,man; wrote: Shooting in the Early Days (NE??); AOU

Carter, Mrs. Isabel Paddock 1871-1907
b, d, St. Johnsbury, VT; Died fortnight after marriage to Carter; Educ: Smith; Taught music; Curator, St. Johnsbury Museum; Member, Vermont Bird Club, Vermont Botanical Society; Scored bird songs contributed to Chapman's Warblers of North America; AOU

Carter, Robert 1819-1879

Carter, Robert. 1864. A summer cruise on the coast of New England. Boston: Crosby, 261 p. [First edition] ; [New ed.] Boston: Cupples and Hurd, xiv, 261 p. front. (fold. map) 1888.; Boston: Crosby and Nichols; NY: Felt, viii, 261 p. 1900.; Carter's Coast of New England; A new edition of a Summer cruise on the coast of New England. Somersworth, NH: New Hampshire Pub. Co. 219 pp. 1969. 1977

Carter, Robert.Letters from various persons, 1851-1898 (inclusive), 1851-1862(bulk). Houghton Library, Harvard University
Carter, Robert.Letters from various persons, 1852-1882 (inclusive). Houghton Library, Harvard University

Cartier, Jacques 1491-1557

Cook, P. L. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 140-142.

Case, George Reynolds 1840-

Catalogue of wild plants growing in Norwich and vicinity, arranged in the order of flowering for the year 1882. Norwich. 1883. pp. 12. 8vo Addenda for 1883, by W.A. Setchell.

Cash, Harry Alvin 1870-1928
b, Pawtucket; d, Providence, RI; Furrier and taxidermist; AOU

Cassino, Samuel Edson1856-1937
4 Jan. 1854-6 Nov. 1937; b, Salem, MA; Entomologist; Publisher of the Naturalists Directory

Who Was Who in America, v. 1.

Kisling, V. N., Jr. 1994. The "Naturalists' Directory" and the evolution of communication among American naturalists. Archives of Natural History, v. 21, no. 3, pp.393-406.

Castiglioni, Luigi Gomes1757-1832
3 Oct. 1757-22 Apr. 1832

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Pace, Antonio, ed. 1983. Luigi Castiglioni's Viaggio: Travels in the United States of North America, 1785-87. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press, 487 pp. [Natural hstory edited by Joseph and Nesta Ewan]

Staack, F. 1960. A journey into Maine. Down East, v. 6, pp. 22-25, 41, 43-46.

Chace, Fenner (Albert) 1908-2004
Crustacea, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University.

Spent most of his career at the Smithsonian Institution.

Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 295].

Chadbourne, Arthur Patterson 1862-1936
b, Boston, MA; d, Washington, DC; Harvard College, 1885; Harvard Medical School, 1889; Member, Nuttall Club; Auk papers, 1886-1905; AOU

Chadbourne, Paul Ansel 1823-1883
b, October 21, 1823, Berwick, ME; d, February 23, 1883. Williams, 1848; Professor, President, Williams College; Botany; Durfee, C. 1860. History of Williams College

Biographical sketch (Williams College)

Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. [v. 1, pp. 562-564]. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

Durfee, C. 1871. Williams Biographical Annals., pp. 153-154.

His herbarium was sold to Bates College and then may have gone to Harvard's Gray Herbarium with the included Chester Dewey collection. Story (p.70-71) in:

Fernald, M. L. Some early botanists of the American Philosophical Society. Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, v. 86, no. 1, pp. 63-71. Reprinted in part (pp. 7-11) in: Barbour, T. 1946. A naturalist's scrapbook. Cambridge MA: Harvard University Press, 218 p.

His papers are at Williams College, Archives and Special Collections.

Chadwick, John
Foreign shells

Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53 [mentioned p. 40].

Chamberlain, Chauncy Ward 1851-1930
b, d, Boston; Businessman; Member: Cooper Ornithological Club, Nuttall, Wilson Ornithological Club; AOU

Chamberlain, Edward Blanchard 1878-1925

Knowlton, C. H. 1925. Edward Blanchard Chamberlain. Rhodora, vol. 27, pp. 73-76.

Jones, D. A. 1925. Edward Blanchard Chamberlain. Rep. British Bryol. Soc., vol. 1, no. 3, p.181.

[Death notices]. New York Times, 4 (p. 21), 5 (p. 19), 6 (p. 17) February 1925.

American Fern Journal, vol. 17, pp. 141-142, 1927; vol. 18, p. 67, 1928.

Beals, A. T. 1925. Edward Blanchard Chamberlain. The Bryologist, vol. 28, pp. 43-50. Portrait.

Norton, A. H. 1926. Edward Blanchard Chamberlain. Maine Naturalist, vol. 5, pp. 100-105. Portrait.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 8-9]

Primary works

New stations for Maine plants. I-II. Rhodora , Vol. 5, No. 60 (December, 1903), p. 289; Rhodora , Vol. 6, No. 69 (September, 1904), pp. 194-195

Chamberlain, Montague 1844-1924
b, St. John, NB; d, Boston, MA; Businessman, then assistant secretary of the Harvard Corporation & secretary of the Lawrence Scientific School; Interested in birds, 1870-1900, and Indians; Wrote on Canadian birds (especially NB), and revised edition of Nuttall; Published in Bulletin of the Natural History Society of New Brunswick; AOU

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910)

T(averner), P. A. 1925. Obituary: Montague Chamberlain. Canadian Field-Naturalist v. 39, p. 20.

Champion, Merrill Edwin 1880-1963
b, Prince Edward Is.; d, Cambridge, MA; Harvard, B.S., 1902, M.D, 1906

Anon. Merrill E. Champion. Occasional Papers on Mollusks, 1945-1954, pp. iii. Portrait

Occasional Papers on Mollusks (Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University), vol. 1, pp. 3-6. Portrait, bibliography

Champlain

Grant, C. 1950. Champlain - herpetologist. Herpetologica, vol. 3, no. 3, p. 104.

Champlain, Samuel de c1570-1635

Cook, P. L. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 149-150.

Channing, Walter
Boston physician, naturalist

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Kass, A. M. 1999. “My brother preaches, I practice”: Walter Channing, M.D., Antebellum obstetrician. Massachusetts Historical Review, v. 1, pp. 79-94.

A survey of botany in the United States. North American Review, v. 13 (1821), pp. 100-134.

Chapin, Angie Clara 1855-1937
b, Adrian; d, Ann Arbor, MI; University of Michigan, A.B. 1875; M.A. 1895; 40 years in Classics at Wellesley College

Published in Bird Lore

Chapman, A. W.
Collected in White Mountains, ~1846

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club.

Chapman, Reuben A.
Founder, Springfield Museum of Natural History, 1859; Meisel 1859

Charleton, Leroy T.

Carleton, Leroy T., Henry O. Stanley & Charles E. Oak. 1896. Report of the Commissioners of Inland Fisheries and Game for the State of Maine for the Year 1896.

Carleton, L. T., J. W. Brackett & Edgar E. Ring. 1907. Report of the Commissioners of Inland Fisheries and Game for the State of Maine for the Year 1906.

Chase, Sidney 1847-1932
b, d, Nantucket; Businessman; AOU

Chesley, Charles Henry

List of plants found in Barrington and adjoining towns. Manchester Union, Jan. & Feb. 1898.

Cheney, Robert Francis 1875-1949
b, Lee; d, Southborough; M.A., Williams; Episcopal Theological Seminary, Cambridge, 1901; Rector, Southborough; Connected with St. Mark's and Fay School; A director, Massachusetts Audubon Society, 1920-1948; AOU

Chester, Webster 1876-
b, Noank, CT; A.B. (1900), ScD (1935) Colgate; A.M., Harvard, 1908; Instructor, science & math, Colby Academy, 1900-1902; Prof Biology, Colby College, 1903-; Lecturer, Bangor Theological Seminary, 1914-; Instructer, MBL, 1908; Anatomy and life history of Tottenia gemma

American Men of Science, ed. 1 (1906) and 6 (1938).

Chickering, John White, Jr. 1831-1913
b, Bolton, MA; Washington, DC; A.B. (1852), A.M. (1855), Bowdoin; President, Portland Society of Natural History, 1851; Botany Meisel, 1843

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910)

Wood, W. 1888. John White Chickering. Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History, 1888-1889, pp. 6-9.

Who Was Who in America

Childs, H. H.
Curator, Lyceum of Natural History of the Berkshire Medical Institute, Pittsfield; Meisel, 1823

Chittenden, Alfred Knight

Forest conditions of northern New Hampshire. Bulletin / Bureau of Forestry; no. 55. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Bureau of Forestry, 1905.

Chivers, Arthur Houston 1880-
b, Amesbury, MA; A.M. Harvard, 1904; Instructor, Dartmouth; Ascomycetes

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

Chrysler, Mintin Asbury 1871-
b, Berlin, Ont.; PhD, University of Chicago, 1904; Professor, University of Maine, 1907-; Botany and plant anatomy

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910)

Churchill, Joseph Richmond 1845-
b, Dorchester, MA; Judge; Phenogamic botany; Botany in Coos County, 1889-1895; Pease, 1895

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910)

Knowlton, C. H. 1934. Joseph Richmond Churchill. Rhodora, vol. 36, no. 421 (Jan.), pp. 1-7, pl. Portrait.

Chute, A. P.
Plants in Tracy, 1858

Clapp, Cornelia M. 1849-1934
17 Mar. 1849-31 Dec. 1934

Shmurak, C. B. 1996. Cornelia M. Clapp (1849-1934) zoologist. Pp. 73-78 in Notable Women in the Life Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary, edited by B. F. Shearer and B. S. Shearer. Westport, CT: Greenwood.

Librarian during early years of Marine Biological Laboratory.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Clapp, William Frederick 1880-1951
d, Boston, MA; Molluscs, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, 1911-23; Collection of New England shells in Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University.

Published in Nautilus, 1911-30

Clench, W. J. 1952. William F. Clapp [Obituary]. The Nautilus, 66(1): 31.

Clench, W. J. 1953. William F. Clapp. Johnsonia, 2: ii-iii.

Dexter, R. W. 1976. Dr. Victor Sterki and some of his malacological correspondence. Sterkiana, 63/64: 65-76.

Clark, Dr.
Plants included in Tracy, 1858

Clark, Anna M.

The trees of Vermont. Burlington, VT: Free Press Association, 1899, 86 pp. (Contributions to the botany of Vermont V)

The trees of Vermont. Burlington: Botanical Department of the University of Vermont, pp. [33]-86, [47] p. ill. (Contributions to the botany of Vermont 5) Reprint of the 1899 ed. published by Free Press Assoc., Burlington, as Vermont Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin no. 73, plus interleaved pages containing notes by L.R. Jones, 1899??.

Clark, Austin Hobart 1880-1954
b, Wellesley, MA; d, Washington, DC; AB, Harvard, 1903; Smithsonian Institution, 1908-; Birds, Echinoderms, Lepidoptera

Pawson, D. L. and D. J. Vance. 2010. Austin Hobart Clark (1880-1954): his echinoderm research and contacts with his colleagues. In: Echinoderms: Durham. Proceedings of the 12th International Echinoderm Conference, Durham, New Hampshire, USA, 7-11 August 2006. Pp. xxv-xxxvi.

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910)

Who Was Who in America

Notes on the odors of some New England butterflies. Psyche. 1926. 33: 1-5.

Some unusual and interesting butterflies from eastern Massachusetts. Psyche. 1925. 32: 293-298.

Three interesting butterflies from eastern Massachusetts. United States National Museum. Proceedings of the United States National Museum; v.45.

Clark, B. Preston1860-1939
Member, Cambridge Entomological Club, ~1913; Hummingbird moths; Grandson of Charles Sumner

Arbeiten über morphologische und taxonomische Entomologie aus Berlin-Dahlem, v. 6, p. 188.

Mann, W.M. Ant Hill Odyssey, p. 115

Rehn, J. A. G. 1939. Entomological News, v. 50, p. 90.

Who Was Who in America, v. 1, 1897-1942.

Clark, C.
President, Phi Beta Theta, Amherst College, 1834; Meisel, 1822

Clark, Henry James 1826-1873
22 June 1826-1 July 1873
b, Easton; d, Amherst, MA
m, Mary Young Holbrook, 8 children
University of the City of New York, AB 1848
Lawrence Scientific School, Harvard, SB 1854
Teacher, White Plains, NY, 1848-50
Assistant to Louis Agassiz. 1854-
Lawrence Scientific School, Harvard (Adjunct professor of natural history, assistant professor of zoology, 1860-65

Microscopy, anatomy, histology, morphology; animals, some plants

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Packard, A. S., Jr. 1877. National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoir, vol. 1, pp. 317-328. Bibliography

Tuckerman, F. 1912. Science, n.s. vol. 35, no 906 (May 10), pp. 725-730.

American Journal of Science 3 ser., vol. 6, p. 160, 1873.

Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, n.s. vol. 1, pp. 328-330, 1874.

Clark, Howard Lee 1857-1926
5/25/1857-11/3/1926

Collected at his residence , "North Farm", north of Bristol, Rhode Island. His collection was donated after his death to the Boston Society of Natural History.

J[ohnson], C. W. 1927. The Clark collection of Lepidoptera. Bulletin of the Boston Society of Natural History, no. 45, pp. 5-6. Also in Entom. News. 1928. v. 39, pp. 23-24.

Clark, Hubert Lyman 1870-1947
b, Amherst; d, Cambridge, MA; Amherst, 1892; PhD, Johns Hopkins, 1897; Echinoderms, marine invertebrates, MCZ, 1905-; AOU

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

Chace, F. A. 1948. Hubert Lyman Clark: teacher and friend, January 9, 1870-July 31, 1947. Allan Hancock Pacific Exped. 8: ii-iv. Portrait

Pattee, M. 1948. Bibliography of Dr. H. L. Clark's echinoderm papers. Allan Hancock Pacific Exped. 8: v-ix.

Primary works

Butterflies of Amherst. Amherst, MA:M.A.C., 28 p. (Bulletin of Mass. Natural history. v. 1, nos. 1-2, Apr.-May, 1884).

The birds of Amherst and vicinity: including nearly the whole of Hampshire County, Massachusetts. Introduction by C. H. Fernald. Amherst, MA: J.E. Williams, Publisher, 1887. 55 pp. ; Amherst, Mass., Press of Carpenter & Morehouse, 1906. 96 pp.

"My idea of God" - faith of a naturalist ... Boston Evening Transcript. Saturday April 25, 1936.LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology:MCZ-C.

Clark, John Nathaniel 1831-1903
b,d, Saybrook, CT; Teacher, probate judge, etc.; AOU

Clark, William Smith 1826-86

Observations on the phenomena of plant life: a paper presented to the Massachusetts Board of Agriculture. Boston: Wright & Potter, 1875, 111 p. ill. (From the 22nd Annual report of the secretary of the Mass. Board of Agriculture). (Physiology)

Clarke, Cora Huidekoper 1851-
b, Meadeville, PA; Address: Boston; Caddis worms, insect galls, mosses of New England, seaweed

Williamson, Mrs. M. B. 1898. Some American women in science II. Chautauquan, vol. 28, pp. 362-368. [pp. 367-368; with portrait]

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

Clarke, Daniel Allen

The commercial forest trees of Massachusetts. How you may know them. A pocket manual. Ed. 4. Boston: Wright & Potter Printing Company, State Printers, 1916, 66 p. illus. (Massachusetts. State Forester). 1916.; Boston, Wright & Potter Printing Company, State Printers, 1908.

Clarke, Grace M.
Of Montpelior? VT

Crane, C. E. 1942. Winter in Vermont. NY: Knopf. [pp. 151-153]

Course in Bird Study.

Clarke, Samual Fessenden 1851-
b, Geneva,m IL; Professor of Natural History, Williams, 1881-; American hydroids, alligator embryology

American Men of Science, ed. 2 (1910).

Calder, D. R. and L. D. Stephens. 1997. The hydroid research of American naturalist Samuel F. Clarke, 1851-1928. Archives of Natural History, v. 24, pp. 19-36.

Cleaveland, Parker 1780-1858
b, Byfield, MA; Harvard, A.B., 1799

Large shell collection used by A. S. Packard, etc.

American Journal of Science, ser, 2., vol. 26 (Nov. 1858), pp. 448-449.

Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 4, pp. 226-227, 1860.

Woods, L. 1960. Parker Cleaveland. 2nd ed. Brunswick, ME, 80 pp. From: Maine Historical Society Collections, vol. 6, pp. 375-435, 1859.

Proceedings of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, vol. 31, pp. 9-10, 1883

Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, 1364 pp.

Clench, William James 1897-
b, Brooklyn, NY; Harvard, M.S., 1923; University of Michigan, Ph.D., 1953 ; Curator, Molluscs, MCZ, 1926-1966; Hon curator, 1966- .

Bibliography: Publications by marine biologists and malacologists. http://www.fjas.nl/clench.htm

AMSVI

Baker, H. B. 1986. Remembering Bill Clench - from Bunny Baker. Nautilus, v. 100, no. 4, pp. 153-154.

Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 297].

Johnson, R. I. 2003. Molluscan taxa and bibliographies of William James Clench and Ruth Dixon Turner. Bulletin of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard College, v. 158, no. 1, pp. 1-46.

Johnson, R. I. 2006. William J. Clench and Ruth D. Turner, with a personal perspective on the Department of Mollusks, Museum of Comparative Zoology. Sporadic Papers on Mollusks, no. 3, pp. 111-166.

Kline, M. C. 1986. About Bill Clench - from Mary C. Kline. Nautilus, v. 100, no. 4, pp. 152-153.

Fresh water shells of New Hampshire. Concord, NH: New Hampshire Fish and Game Dept., [1940].

Cline, Albert Collins 1892-

The virgin upland forest of central New England; a study of old growth stands in the Pisgah mountain section of southwestern New Hampshire. Harvard forest. Bulletin no. 21. Petersham, Mass., Harvard Forest, 1942.

Clinton, George Perkins 1867-
b, Pola?????, IL; ScD, Harvard, 1902; Botanist, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, Connecticut Board of Agriculture; Fungi

Cobb, Nathan Augustus 1859-1932

A list of plants found growing wild within thirty miles of Amherst. Northampton, MA: S.E. Bridgman & Co., 1887, 51 p. Hampshire County

Coburn, Louise Helen 1856-

Flora of Skowhegan and vicinity. s.l. : s.n.,1920 145 leaves ; 24 cm. Carbon copy of typescript.

Trees of Coburn Park. Skowhegan, Me.: [The Independent Reporter], 1928. 73 pp.

Smith, Grace Coburn. Louise Helen Coburn as seen through her poems. Skowhegan, Me. [1928?]. 19 p. ports.

Codman, James McMaster 1862-1925
Harvard, 1894; Harvard Law School?; AOU

Coe, Wesley Roswell 1869-
b, Middlefield, CT; PhD, Yale, 1895; Professor of Biology, Yale; Comparative anatomy and embryology; American Men of Science, ed. 1 (1906)II

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

Coe, William Wellington 1842-1885
b, Madison; d, Portland, CT; Banker; Published in Forest and Stream, Ornithologist and Oologist; AOU

Coffin, Dr. Edward L.
Founder, Lynn Natural History Society

Dexter, R. W. 1962 The Lynn Natural History Society (1842-1855). Essex Institute Historical Collections 98: 175-183.

Cogswell, Joseph Green 1786-1871

Ticknor, A. E., ed. 1874. Memorial of Joseph Green Cogswell. Boston.

Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. [v. 1, p. 679]. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

Cogswell, William
Curator, Northern Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hanover, NH, 1841; Meisel 1841

Colburn, William Wallace -1899 at 60
b, New Boston, NH; d. Springfield, MA; Dartmouth, 1861; Teacher & principal; AOU

The Birds of the Connecticut River Valley in Massachusetts. Springfield, MA, 1891. 24 pp. [with R. O. Morris] Reprinted from Auk, 1891, p. 384????

Colburn, William W. and Robert O. Morris [1846-1925] The birds of the Connecticut valley in Massachusetts. Springfield, MA: Clark W. Bryan, printer, 1891. 24 pp.

Our friends the birds.[Springfield, 1895]. pp. [9]. Park Commissioner's report. Springfield, Mass. 1894.

Colburn, William Wallace. (and Robert O. Morris??). Our local ornithology. A complete list of birds found in the Connecticut River Valley in Massachusetts. Homestead. June 39, July 7, 14, 1888.

Cole, Leon Jacob 1877-1948
b. Allegany, NY, 1 June 1877; d. Madison, Wisc., 17 February 1948

Largely known as geneticist at the University of Wisconsin (1910-1948). Teaching fellow, Harvard (1903-1905), Division of Animal Breeding and Pathology at the Rhode Island Experiment Station (1906), instructor in zoology, Sheffield Scientific School, Yale (1907-1910). Several summers at the Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole. Suggested idea of bird banding (1901). Led New Haven Bird Club committee to organize a banding program, winter of 1907/08 and the following year. Initiated American Bird Banding Association.

Cole, L. J. 1922. Early history of bird banding in America. Wilson Bulletin, v. 34, pp. 108-114.

Chapman, A. B. 1990. Cole, Leon Jacob. Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Supplement II, ed. by F. L. Holmes. NY: Scribner. (v. 1 of Suppl. II, v. 17 of whole series.)

Cole, Samuel W. 1796-1851 nat???

Maine Board of Agriculture, 35th Annual Report for 1892. 1893. appx. pp. 30-31. (Agricultural Bibliography of Maine)

Cole, Thomas 1779-1852
Infusoria

Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33 [mentioned p. 22].

Memorial History of Boston, vol. 4, p. 520, 1881.

Cole, Thomas. 1853. List of infusorial objects found chiefly in the neighborhood of Salem, Mass, etc. 1853. Proc. Essex Institute. v. 1, pp. 33-48.

Collier, Priscilla L.

Botany of Cohasset. Pp. 541-552 in A Narrative History of the Town of Cohasset, Massachusetts, by? E. Victor Bigelow. Boston, MA: Press of S. Usher, 1898, xviii, 561 pp. Published under the auspices of the Committee on Town History. ; Pp. 541-552 in A Narrative History of the Town of Cohasset, Massachusetts, by E. Victor Bigelow. Cohasset: Committee on Town History, 2 v. 1956.; Pp. 541-552 in A narrative history of the town of Cohasset, Massachusetts, by E. Victor Bigelow. West Hanover, MA: Halliday Lithograph Corp. 1970.

Collins, Frank Shipley 1848-
b. Boston; Tufts, AM, 1910; Seaweeds, North American algae; Fellow, American Academy; American Men of Science, ed. 1 (1906)II

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Setchell, W. 1925. Albert.Frank Shipley Collins, 1848-1920. American journal of botany, XII (January), pp. 54-62.

Setchell, W. A. 1933. Frank Shipley Collins, 1848-1920. Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 68, no. 13, pp. 615-618.

The marine algae of Casco Bay. Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History, v. 2 (1911), pt. 9, 257-282 p.

Collins, George L.
President, Providence Franklin Society, 1852-54; Meisel, 1821

Collins, James Franklin 1863-1940

Fernald, M. L. 1942. Incidents of field work with J. Franklin Collins. Rhodora, vol. 44, no. 520 (April), pp. 98-147. pls. Bibliography.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 9-11]

Snell, W. H. 1942. J. Franklin Collins. Rhodora, vol. 44, no. 520 (April), pp. 93-97. Portrait.

Snell, W. H. and A. M. Waterman. 1941. James Franklin Collins. Phytopathology, vol. 31, pp. 475-477. Portrait.

Some interesting Rhode Island Bogs.

Fern genera [of the flora of Rhode Island.].

Preliminary lists of New England plants. XIX.

Papers of James Franklin Collins, 1884-1935 (inclusive). Botany Gray Herbarium, Harvard University:

Collins, Joseph Williams 1839-1904
b, Isleboro, ME; Self-educated; Chairman, Massachusetts Fish and Game Commission, 1899- .

Linton, E. 1915. Reminiscences of the Woods Hole Laboratory of the Bureau of Fisheries, 1882-89. Science, New Series, Vol. 41, No. 1064, pp. 737-753.[p. 749-750]

Twentieth century biographical dictionary of notable Americans. Boston: The Biographical Soceity, 1904, 10 v. [v. 2]

Who Was Who in America, vol. 1, p. 245.

Collins, W. O.
President, Phi Beta Theta, Amherst College, 1833; Meisel, 1822

Coman, Dale Rex 1906-

The endless adventure. Chicago: H. Regnery Co. 1972, 185 pp. Reprinted: Camden, ME: Down East, 1972, 205 pp.

Mammals, reptiles and amphibians of Mount Desert Island, Maine. 3rd ed. Bar Harbor, ME: Island Wide Printing, 1987, 47 pp. Ill. by author and W.W. Frazier.

The native mammals, reptiles and amphibians of Mount Desert Island, Me. Bar Harbor, ME: Parkman Press, 1981, 30 pp.

The native mammals, reptiles and amphibians of Mount Desert Island, Maine. S.l., 1972, 32 pp.

Pleasant River. NY: W.W. Norton 1966 , 169 pp. Reprinted: Camden, ME: Down East Magazine, 1976.

About the Pleasant River valley, Washington County, ME

Comey, Arthur Coleman, 1904-1950??

Schriftgiesser, Karl. Skiing up Mt. Katahdin's ice and snow to its peak, Arthur Comey reaches Maine's highest summit by stiff alpine climbing - the first time the wintry slopes have thus been conquered. Boston evening transcript, March 27, 1926, p. 3,

A partial list of the summer birds of Holderness, New Hampshire. Wilson Bulletin, vol. 16 (1905), nos. 5-9.

Summer birds of New Hampshire, a partial list of the summer birds of Holderness, New Hampshire. [1904].

Papers of Arthur Coleman Comey, 1904-1950 (inclusive). Loeb Design Library, Harvard University

Comstock, John L.
Founding member, Connecticut Society of Natural History (1845), Secretary, 1857-58; Meisel, 1835

Conant, Dr. Thomas
2nd president, Cape Ann Scientific and Literary Association

Dexter, R. W. 1973. The scientific period of the Cape Ann Scientific and Literary Association and its successors, 1873-1952. Essex Institute Historical Collections, vol. 109, no. 2, pp. 165-174.

Cook, Caleb 1836-1880
b,d, Salem, MA

Zool. Anz. 3 Jahrg. p. 528. 1880.

Dexter, R. W. 1970. Peabody Academy's Caleb Cook, the devoted. Biologist, vol. 52, pp. 112-119. Bibliography

Dexter, R. W. 1979. More on Caleb Cook's expedition to Zanzibar, 1860-1865. Biologist 61(1): 11-15.

Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33 [mentioned p. 24].

Cook, Harold Oatman

The forests of Worcester County: the results of a forest survey of the fifty-nine towns in the county and a study of their lumber industry. Boston: Wright & Potter, state printers, 1917.

Cook, L. G.

Starlings of Amherst, Massachusetts. Bird Lore, vol. 12 (1910), p. 78.

Cook, Mabel Priscilla

A list of plants seen on the island of Monhegan, Maine, June 20-25, Rhodora, vol. 3 pp. 187-190. 1901.

Cooke, Phineas
Curator, Northern Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hanover, 1841; Meisel, 1841

Cooley, Dennis 1787-1860

Beal, W. J. 1901. Report of the Michigan Academy of Science for 1900, vol. 2, p. 108. Portrait.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 11-12]

Floral calendar for the years 1815, 16, 17, 18, and 19; kept at Deerfield, Mass. ... one hundred miles from the sea coast. American Journal of Science, vol. 2 (1820), no. 1, p. 254.

Cooley, George Ralph 1896-1986

Howard, R. A. 1987. George Ralph Cooley (1896-1986). Taxon, v. 36, no. 3, pp. 696-698.

Howard, R. A. 1987. Some botanical reminiscence of George Ralph Cooley, 1896-1986. Journal of the Arnold Arboretum, v. 68, no. 4, pp. 471-478.

Howard, Richard Alden. George R. Cooley's plant collecting trips. MS. Arnold Arboretum Library, Harvard University.

Coolidge, Harold Jefferson 1904-1985

Assistant curator of mammals, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard, 1929-1946; Associate in mammalogy at Harvard from 1946-70.
Executive director, Pacific Science Board, National Academy of Sciences, 1946-70.
Honorary president of the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN), 1972- .
Mainly a primatologist

Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [p. 312].

Cevasco, G. A. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 166-168.

A tribute to Harold Jefferson Coolidge. The Environmentalist, v. 5, no. 2, (June, 1985), pp. 83-84

Papers of Harold Jefferson Coolidge, 1904-1985 (inclusive)
Finding aid available in repository
73.8 cubic feet in 223 containers
Location: Harvard Archives

Cooper, Gerald P.?

A biological survey of 31 lakes & ponds of the upper Saco River & Sebago Lake drainage systems in Maine. A report. [Augusta] Maine: Dept. of Inland Fisheries and Game, 1939, 147 p. illus. plates, tables, diagrs (part fold). (Maine. Dept. of Inland Fisheries and Game. Fish survey report no. 2)

A biological survey of the waters of York County, and the southern part of Cumberland County, Maine. [Augusta] Maine, 1939, 58 p. illus. fold. chart, tables 2. (Maine. Dept. of Inland Fisheries and Game. Fish survey report no. 1)

Cooper, Joseph.

Letter ... on the Hession Fly and the early white wheat. Mass. Soc. Promoting Agri. Papers, 1799, pp. 26-28.

Copeland, Manton 1881-
b. Brunswick, ME; PhD Harvard 08; Biology, Bowdoin, 1908-; Ecology of birds and mammals; article on mammals with Alton Pope, 1917; Norton, Mammals of Portland

Published in Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).

Dexter, R. W. 1986. Two centuries of naturalists on Cape Ann, Massachusetts. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 122, no. 3, 246-258 [mentioned p. 255].

Notes on Maine mammals. Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington, vol. 30 (1917), pp. 159-160.

Notes on the mammals of Mt. Greylock, Massachusetts. Proc. Biol. Soc. Wash. 25:157-162.

The saga of Cape Ann, by Melvin T. Copeland & Elliott C. Rogers. Freeport, Me., Bond Wheelwright Co., 1960.

Cornelius, Elias 1794-1832

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 5, p. 431.

Correa de Serra, Joseph Francisco 1750-1823
b, Serpa; d, Caldas, Portugal; Member of the Friday Evening Club in Boston; [Putnam, J.J. Memoir of Dr. James Jackson]

Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. [v. 1, p. 746]. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

Davis, R. B. 1993. The Abbé Correa in America, 1812-1820. New preface by Gordon S. Wood, new afterward by L. Bourdon. Providence, RI: Gavea-Brown., 375 pp. Reprint of Transactions of the American Philosophical Society, vol. 45, no. 2, 1955.

Cory, Charles Barney 1857-1921
Lawrence Scientific School; 31 Jan. 1857-29 July 1921; b. Boston; d. Chicago?; AOU

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Chapman, F. M. 1933. [anecdotes], pp. 53-55 in Autobiography of a Bird-Lover. NY: D. Appleton-Century

A naturalist in the Magdalen Islands. Ill. by the author. Boston, 1878, iv + 93 pp., front., plate, figs.

How to know the ducks, geese and swans of North America. Ill. by Edward Knobel. Boston: Little, Brown, 1897, 95 pp., front, figs.

The birds of eastern North America, Part I, Water birds, Part II, Land birds Chicago: Field Columbian Museum, 1899, ix + 142 pp., front, figs.; ix + pp.131-387, front., figs. Also: 1900.

Catalogue of the birds of the Americas and adjacent islands. With Charles E. Hellmayr and Boardman Conover. Chicago: Field Museum of Natural History (Zoological Series, vol. XIII), 1918-1949. In 15 installments.

Coues, Elliott 1842-1899
b, Portsmouth, NH; d, Baltimore, MD; Columbia, M.D., 1863, Ph.D., 1869

Brodhead, M. J. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 173-175.

Who Was Who in America

A list of the birds of New England. Salem, MA: Essex Institute, 1868. (reprinted from: Catalogue of the birds of North America contained in the museum of the Essex Institute; with which is incorporated a list of the birds of New

Catalogue of the birds of North America contained in the Museum of the Essex Institute; with which is incorporated A List of the Birds of New England. With brief Critical and Field Notes. [Salem?, Mass., 1868].

Counce, B. W.

Kendall, William Converse. 1914. The fishes of Maine. Proc. Portland Soc. Nat. Hist., vol. 3, art 1, 198 pp.
Google Books version.

Report of Commissioner of Sea and Shore Fisheries of State of Maine, 1891

Courtis, Ambrose S. 1798-1836

Bouvé, T. T. 1880. Boston Society of Natural History Anniversary Memoir, p. 26-27.

Couthouy, Joseph Pitty 1808-1864
Boston, MA; d, Louisiana (in battle); Member, Boston Society of Natural History; Gifford-Storer

Dall, W.H. 1888. Some American conchologists. Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington, v. 4, pp. 95-134.

Bouvé, T. T. 1880. Boston Society of Natural History Anniversary Memoir, pp. 134-135.

Bartlett, H. H. 1940. Reports of Wilkes Expedition. Gould's "Molluscs and Shells" vol. XII. Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, vol. 82, no. 5, pp. 650-655.

Geiser, S.W. 1957. Joseph Pitty Couthouy (1808-64) in Texas. Field & Laboratory, vol. 25, no. 4, pp. 99-104. [chronology of his life, p. 104]

Johnson, R. I. 1946. Joseph Pitty Couthouy - a bibliography and catalogue of his species. Occasional Papers on Molluscs, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard, vol. 1, no. 5, pp. 33-40. Bibliography.

Couthouy, Joseph Pitty. Descriptions of new species of Mollusca and shells, with remarks on several polypi, &c. found in Massachusetts Bay. Charlestown [Mass.]: Aurora Press, 1838.

Cram, William Everett 1871-

Little beasts of field & wood. Boston, Small, Maynard and Company, 1899, 261 p.
2d ed., 1901.

More little beasts of field and wood. Boston : Small, Maynard, 1912, 303 p.

The winter birds of New England. New England Magazine, vol. 13 (1896), pp. 547-554.

Crane, J.

Mammals of Hampshire County, Massachusetts. Journal of Mammalogy, vol. 12 (1931), pp. 267-273.

Crosby, Dixi
Curator, Northern Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hanover, NH, 1841; Meisel, 1841

Cross, Albert Ashley 1877-1940
b,d, Huntington, MA; Pharmacy; Reported to Forbush; AOU

Crotch, G. R.

Cruickshank, A. D.

Summer birds of Lincoln County, Maine. NY: National Audubon Society, 1950, 51 pp.

Cudworth, Warren Handell 1877-1927
b, Freetown, MA; d. Norwood, MA; Proof reader, Classicist; Book collector; No publications

Cummings, Prof Clara Eaton 1855-1906
b, Plymouth, NY; Botany, Wellesley, 1879-1906; Lichens

American Men of Science, ed. 1 (1906).

[Obituary]. The Bryologist, vol. 10, pp. 33-34, 1907.

Fink, B. 1907. A memoir of Clara E. Cummings. The Bryologist, vol. 10, pp. 37-41. Portrait.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 12-13]

Riddle, L. W. 1912. An enumeration of lichens collected by Clara Eaton Cummings in Jamaica-I. Mycologia, v.4:3, p.125-140.

Cummings, Emma Gertrude 1856-1940
b, Cambridge; d, Westfield, MA; also lived in Brookline; Educ: Boston Art School; Baby Pathfinder to the Birds; Brookline Trees, a map of the important trees of Brookline; Botany; AOU; obit. Auk, v. 60, pp. 316-317, 1943

Brookline's trees; a history of the Committee for planting trees of Brookline, Massachusetts and a record of some of its trees. Brookline, MA: The Brookline historical society and the Committee for planting trees, 1938. 97 pp. pl. Includes "The hurricane of September 21, 1938", by Daniel G. Lacey, pp. 85-88.

Trees in Brookline, Massachusetts, by F. C. Prince and E. G. C. Boston, MA: Macullar Parker Co., c1900. 8 p., [1] leaf of plates : col. folded map ; 19 cm.

Trees in Brookline, Massachusetts: map and index, by F. C. Prince and E. G. C. Boston, Geo[rge] H. Walker and Co. c1900. 8 + 1 p. (folded) maps.

Cummings, Morton Everett 1876-1949
b, Malone, NY; d, Reading, MA; Harvard, 1898; Harvard Medical School, 1901; President, Brookline Bird Club; Member: Nuttall Club, National Audubon Society, Audubon Society of Massachusetts, Audubon Society of Florida; AOU

Curtis, Mrs. Alice
Gave slide-illustrated wildflower lectures in the 1920-30s on Cape Ann.

Dexter, R. W. 1986. Two centuries of naturalists on Cape Ann, Massachusetts. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 122, no. 3, 246-258.

Curtis, Charles Pelham 1860-1948
b, Winchester; d, Ipswich, MA; Educ: Paris, Cambridge; Lawyer & financier; "Patronal interest"; AOU

Cushing, Caleb

Cutler, Manasseh 1742-1823
13 May 1742 - 28 July 1823
b, Killingly, CT; d, Hamilton, MA
m, Mary Balch, 1766, at least 4 children
Yale College, A.B. 1765
Dedham, MA, teacher, 1766?
Merchant, Martha's Vineyard, 1766-69 (during this time admitted to practice as attorney)
Dedham, MA, studied theology, 1769-70
Ipswich Hamlet (from 178?, Hamilton), minister, 1771-1823
Practiced medicine, 1779-
Ran private school, 1782- (lasted over 25 years)
Army chaplain, 1775, 1776, 1778
Ohio Company, director, 1787 (Spent 1788-89 in Ohio)
Massachusetts General Court, member, 1800
U. S. congressman, 1800-1804

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.

Blazier, George Jordan, ed. 1963. The Cutler collection of letters and documents, 1748-1925; letters and other memorabilia of Manasseh Cutler, 1742-1823, Ephraim Cutler, 1767-1853, William Parker Cutler, 1812-1889, Julia Perkins Cutler, 1814 -1904, and their relatives and associates, gathered and preserved by Mary Dawes Beach, cataloged by Mary Louise Otto. Marietta, OH: Marietta College, 102 pp.

Castiglioni, Luigi. Luigi Castiglioni's Viaggio = Travels in the United States of North America, 1785-87. 1st ed. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University Press, 1983.

Cutler, Manasseh. 1888. Life, Journals, and Correspondence of Rev. Manasseh Cutler, LL. D. 2 v. Cincinnati, R. Clarke & Co; Athens, OH: Ohio University Press, 1987.

Dawes, C. Burr. Manasseh Cutler: Forefather of American botany and American botanical gardens. Columbus, Ohio Historical Center, 1972.

Dawes, Charles Gates. The Manesseh Cutler collection; comprising some ten thousand tenis, letters, diaries, journals, etc. 1762-1819. Moline, Desaulniers & co., n.d.

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Essex Institute Bulletin, vol. 12, pp. 88-89, 1881.

Humphrey, J. E. 1898. Manasseh Cutler. American Naturalist, vol. 32, no. 374, pp. 75-80.

Kennedy, G. G. 1916. Some historical data regarding the Sweet Bay and its station on Cape Ann. Rhodora, vol. 18, no. 214 (October), pp. 205-212.

Lawson, R. M. 2002. Passaconaway's realm: Captain John Evans and the exploration of Mount Washington. Hanover: University Press of New England, 157 p.

Manasseh Cutler, in Sibley's Harvard Graduates, edited by Clifford K. Shipton, vol. 16 (1972), pp. 138-154. Portrait

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 3.

Newcomer, L. N. 1960. Manasseh Cutler's writings: a note on editorial practice. Mississippi Valley Historical Review, vol. 47, no. 1 (June), pp. 88-101.

Peabody, A. P. 1887. Manasseh Cutler. New Englander and Yale Review, April, pp. 319-334.

Peck, T. W. & K. D. Wilkinson. 1950. William Withering of Birmingham, 250 pp., 52 pls.

Pulsifer, J. G. The Cutlers of Hamilton. Essex Institute Historical Collections, vol. 107, no. 4 (Oct. 1971), pp. 334-408, 1 pl.

Short, J. E. 1988. Essex County leaders and the Ordinance of 1787: A fresh look. Essex Institute Historical Collections, v. 124, no. 2, pp. 102-124.

Venturella, , K. M. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 184-186.

Waterman, L. & G. Waterman. 1984. Reverends, soldiers, and scientists: The Belknap-Cutler ascent of Mount Washington, 1784. Appalachia, (Summer 1984), pp. 41-52.

Cutler contributed a summary of natural history to Morse's Geography (1793 ed.)
Brown, R. H. 1941. The American geographies of Jedidiah Morse. Annals of the Association of American Geographers, vol. 31, no. 3 (September), pp. 145-217, frontis.

Primary works

Journal, 1788. New England Historical and Genealogical Register, vol. 14-15.

On the sea anemones of Swallow House or Cave in the rocks at Nahant, near Lynn, Mass. PPAN

Linne, Carl von, 1707-1778. Genera plantarum : eorumque characteres naturales secundum numerum, figuram, situm, et proportionem omnium fructificationis partium Editio novissima. Viennae : typis J. Thomae nob. de Trattnern, 1767 [4], xix, [1], 580, [44] p. ; 21 cm. (8vo) Library's copy has bookplate of the Boston Society of Natural History. Library's copy has mss. inscriptions of D. H. Storer and Manasseh

Cutler. Linne, Carl von, 1707-1778. Caroli a Linne, Genera plantarum : eorumque characteres naturales secundum numerum, figuram, situm, et proportionem omnium fructificationis partium. Editio octava post Reichardianam secunda prioribus longe auctior atque emendatior / curante Christiano Dan. Schreber. Francofurti ad Moenum : Varrentrappii et Wenneri, 1789 [i]-xxxii, [1]-872 p. ; 21 cm. (8vo) Copy formerly belonging to Manassah Cutler, with his signature and 13 p. of botanical notes.

Papers, 1712 1886 1 narrow box. A small collection of papers of Manasseh Cutler, clergyman, physician, congressman, and co-founder of the Ohio Company. Cutler's papers include deeds to lands in Ipswich and Hamilton, Mass., legal papers, a small amount of correspondence, a ms. almanac for the year 1764, and a small notebook containing a classification of animals. Also included is some correspondence of Cutler's son Temple Cutler, mostly in regard to the Ohio Company. Also, a few ms. reports of the Ohio Company in the 1830s, and the estate inventory of Rufus Putnam Cutler.

The Manasseh Cutler collection, 1762-1819. 1762 1819 76 v. (on 9 microfilm reels) : negative ; 35 mm. + 1 index guide (26 l. ; 28 cm.) From 76 volumes of approximately 10,000 leaves of manuscript material, including letters, diaries, journals, sermons, astronomical papers, etc. Microfilm. Evanstan, Ill. : Northwestern University, 1984. Inventory

Papers, 1776-1822. 1776 1822 3 boxes ; 1 1/2 linear ft. Botanical notebooks, manuscripts, and printed matter. Inventory in the repository. Ulrich, Dennis Nicholas. Manasseh Cutler: early American scientist. A thesis ... for the degree of Master of Arts, Department of History. Oxford, O., Miami University, 1974 127 l., typed.

Book of Astronomical Recreations, Salem, Mass. [n.p.] 1973 269 l. Two reels. [Reel 2, Natural history, Misc. documents] Microfilm of ms. in James Duncan Phillips Library, Essex Institute, Salem, Massachusetts. Essex Institute. James Duncan Phillips Library. Astronomical recreations. Natural history notebooks.

Extracts from an old unpublished journal. Hours at Home, Sept. 1868, pp. 455-465.

Selections from a note book of Manasseh Cutler, entitled "A description of the animals in North America taken from actual observations". Essex Institute Bulletin, vol. 29, pp. 120-127, 1897.

An account of some of the vegetable productions naturally growing in this part of America. Memoirs of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 1, pp. 396-493, 1784. Reprinted in Bulletin of the Lloyd Library of Botany, Pharmacy and Materia Medica, no. 7. Reproduction series, no. 4. Cincinnati, OH: J. U. & C. G. Lloyd, 1903. [Preface, 8 pp., portrait]

An account of some of the vegetable productions naturally growing in this part of America, botaniclly arranged. Columbian Magazine, v. 1 (1787), 431-

Observations on a singular natural production, in which one part appears to be a plant and the other an insect, accompanied with a specimen. Memoirs of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 3, pt. 1, pp. 161-164, 1 pl., 1809.

List of trees and plants. In: Belknap's History of New Hampshire.

Botanical papers of Manasseh Cutler, 1782-1808 (bulk). Gray Herbarium Library, Harvard University.

Cutting, Hiram Adolphus 1832-92

Catalogue of the birds of Vermont.

The forests of Vermont, sugar maple industry, experimental farm work, cattle diseases, etc., etc. Montpelier, Vermont Watchman & State Journal Press, 1886. 180 pp