English Newspapers
Reference Sources
Concise History of the British Newspaper in the Seventeenth Century
The encyclopedia of the British press, 1422-1992, ed. by Dennis Griffiths. London: Macmillan Academic and Professional, 1992, 694 p.
Widener | WID-LC | PN5114 .E53 1992bx
Bibliographies
A bibliography of English corantos and periodical newsbooks, 1620-1642, by Folke Dahl. London: Bibliographical Society, 1952, 283 p.
Countway Medicine | Rare Books | tr.477
Houghton | Reading Room | PN5114.Z99 D34 1952
Widener | B 2083.22
Full Text Newspapers and Periodicals
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers includes pamphlets and newsletters.
--Preliminary Guide for Students Using the Burney Collection of Newspapers
Internet Library of Early Journals (British) at Oxford University. Includes:
- Annual Register (1758-78)
- Gentleman's Magazine (1731-50) (Also available in British Periodicals)
- Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-77) (Also available in JSTOR)
British Periodicals (1681-1920) offers full text for several hundred British periodicals. List of included periodicals.
These sites give information on two of the included periodicals:
Attributions of Authorship in the European Magazine, 1782-1826
Attributions of Authorship in the Gentleman's Magazine
Gentleman's Magazine, 1731-1907 also available from University of Michigan/Google. On the Mirlyn Catalog page, click “more” under HathiTrust Digital Library.
18th Century Journals: Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815
Microfilm
English clandestine satire, 1660-1704: popular culture, entertainment and information in the early modern period. 24 microfilm reels
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1363
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1363 = guide
Underground and alternative press in Britain.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film S 1403
Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche S 65 Bibliographical guides issued as separate printed vols. have call no.: INDEX Microfiche S 65