Harvard/Radcliffe College Class Records

NOTE: Records of Radcliffe College Classes from 1879 to 1999 are held by the Schlesinger Library.
 
Harvard College Class Anniversary Reports, Class of 1833 to the present (issued with Radcliffe beginning in 1973)
 
  • Beginning with the Harvard College Class of 1833 and continuing to the present, these reports contain autobiographical accounts submitted by alumni every five years after graduation. 
  • Search HOLLIS+ to find reports for specific classes.
  • Volumes published before 1923 may be available online through GoogleBooks or the HathiTrust Digital Library.
  • Visit the Archives to use later volumes.

 

Harvard College Yearbooks, Class of 1890 to the present (issued with Radcliffe beginning in 1972)

  •  Search HOLLIS+ to find yearbooks for specific classes.
  • Visit the Archives to use.

 

Harvard College Class Books, circa 1820-1900

  • Harvard classes began compiling class books around 1800. They were typically written by an elected class secretary and included autobiographical accounts handwritten by members of the class in their senior year, as well as minutes of class meetings and other documentation of undergraduate years. The class books also contain biographical information about class members after graduation, minutes of alumni meetings and other activities.  Harvard classes discontinued the practice of compiling class books around 1900 and instead began the practice of creating commercially printed yearbooks.
  • Search HOLLIS+ to find class books for specific classes.
  • Visit the Archives to use.

 

Harvard College Class Albums, mid-19th to early 20th-century

  • Class albums typically include a selection of photographs of students, faculty, staff, campus views and buildings, and other local people or scenes. Unlike class books, students could assemble their own class albums, choosing from the set of images provided by that year's photographer. For many class years, the Archives holds several versions of the class album.
  • "We Carry With Us Precious Memorials" exhibition website includes links to several digitized class albums dating from 1852 to 1865.
  • Search HOLLIS+ to find class albums for specific classes.
  • Visit the Archives to use class albums for other classes.

 

Harvard College Class Secretaries' records, circa 1814 to the present

  • Class Secretaries maintain the records of their classmates as alumni, collecting photographs and prose for class reports and keeping track of directory and other biographical information. Records frequently include correspondence.
  • Restrictions may apply.
  • Search HOLLIS+ to find records for specific classes.
  • Visit the Archives to use.