Encyclopedias
- Oxford Music OnlineOur top pick for an online encyclopedia: excellent articles on individual artists, bands, recordings, and genres, all paired with reliable suggestions for further reading (though not always up to date).
- Allmusic GuideNon-scholarly but slick, beautiful, and useful for background information, images of album covers, discographies, reviews, and biographies.
- Bloomsbury Popular MusicThe complete 33 1/3 series of short books about individual albums, plus the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World and selected titles from Bloomsbury's Popular Music Studies series.
- Encyclopedia of Popular MusicShort articles about people, genres, and topics in popular music, including discographies with record labels and release dates.
Featured Titles from the Catalog
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by Call Number: Loeb Music Aldrich Room ML102.P66 C66 2003 (Library use only)Publication Date: 2003Also available online (as the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World). See especially volumes 1 and 8
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History by Call Number: Loeb Music ML3534 .G754 2005Publication Date: 2005See especially volumes 2 and 3.
Fuzz, acid and flowers : a comprehensive guide to American garage, psychedelic and hippie rock (1964-1975) by Call Number: Loeb Music Aldrich Room ML156.4.R6 J69 2004Publication Date: 2004 (revisited)Includes a rarity/sought-after scale and compilation listings.
Song Indexes
Rock Song Index: the 7500 most important songs of the Rock and Roll era, 1944-2000 by Call Number: Loeb Music Aldrich Room ML128.R6 P65 2005ISBN: 0415970733Publication Date: 2005-08-26- Find That Tune: An Index to Rock, Folk-rock, Disco & Soul in collections by Call Number: Loeb Music Aldrich Room ML128.R6 F56 1984ISBN: 0918212707Publication Date: 1984-02-01
