Background and Context
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
There are many helpful encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in Widener and other libraries that can give you a general overview of a specific topic. You can try searching in HOLLIS for your subject (see the HOLLIS tab for finding the proper Subject terms) plus the words encyclopedias or dictionaries. Thus: “International law” AND (encyclopedias OR dictionaries) yields:
International encyclopaedia of laws. Intergovernmental organizations, ed. by R. Blanpain and Jan Wouters. Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands: Kluwer Law International, 2009- .
Historical dictionary of aid and development organizations, by Guy Arnold. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996, 196 p.
Widener | WID-LC | HC60 .A738 1996
Internet Archive Full Text
Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations, by Robert F. Gorman, Edward S. Mihalkanin. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md.: The Scarecrow Press, 2007, 403 p.
Law School | Reference | JC571 .G655 2007
Widener | WID-LC | JC571 .G655 2007
Internet Archive Full Text
Historical Dictionary of the International Food Agencies: FAO, WFP, WFC, IFAD, by Ross B. Talbot. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1994, 169 pp.
Schlesinger Harvard Depository 363.8 T141h Widener WID-LC HD9000.1 .T34 1994
Historical dictionary of international organizations, by Michael G. Schechter. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2010, 317 p.
Widener | WID-LC | JZ4838 .S34 2010
Historical dictionary of multinational peacekeeping, by Terry M. Mays. 3rd ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2011, 467 p.
Widener | WID-LC | JZ6374 .M38 2011
Historical dictionary of NATO and other international security organizations, by Marco Rimanelli. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2009, 848 p.
Widener | WID-LC | UA646.3 .R485 2009
Historical dictionary of refugee and disaster relief organizations, by Robert F. Gorman. 2nd ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press , 2000, 356 p.
Widener | WID-LC | HV640 .G66 2000
Internet Archive Full Text
The information systems of international inter-governmental organizations : a reference guide, by Robert V. Williams. Stamford, Conn. : Ablex, 1998, 450 p.
Law School | JZ4850 .W55 1998
Widener | WID-LC | JZ4850 .W55 1998
International organizations : a dictionary and directory, by Giuseppe Schiavone. 7th ed. Basingstoke [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2008, 411 p.
HOLLIS Records (with online access)
--Contents : Introduction -- Dictionary A-Z -- Glossary -- International organizations: membership tables -- Classification of countries and membership of major groups -- Foundation dates -- Classification of organizations -- Index of acronyms -- Index of names.
--3rd ed.: 1992. Check HOLLIS for other eds.
International organizations : a guide to information sources, by Alexine L. Atherton. Detroit : Gale Research Co., 1976, 350 p.
Baker Business | Stacks -- LC Books | Z6464.I6 A74
Law School | Harvard Depository | 131 1155.5
Widener | WID-LC | JX1995 .A83 x
Internet Archive Full Text
The Palgrave dictionary of transnational history, ed. by Akira Iriye and Pierre-Yves Saunier. Basingstoke; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2009, 1226 p.
Widener | WID-LC | JV6035 .P35 2009
Political and historical encyclopedia of women, ed by Christine Fauré. NY: Routledge, 2003, 548 p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 320.082 F265p, oversize
Widener | RR 4761.55
Routledge international encyclopedia of women: global women's issues and knowledge, ed. by C. Kramarae and D. Spender. NY: Routledge, 2000. 4 v.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | HQ1115 .R69 2000
Schlesinger | Ref. | 305.403 R869
Widener | RR 4761.56
Historical dictionary of international organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa, by Terry M. Mays, Mark W. DeLancey. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2002, li, 356 p.
Law School | Reference | JZ4850 .M39 2002
Widener | WID-LC | JZ4850 .M39 2002
Historical dictionary of international organizations in Asia and the Pacific, by Derek McDougall. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2002, xl, 232 p.
Law School | Reference | JZ4850 .M38 2002
Widener | WID-LC | JZ4850 .M38 2002
Historical dictionary of Arab and Islamic organizations, by Frank A. Clements. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001, xx, 346 p.
HOLLIS Record
Arab regional organizations, by Frank A. Clements. New Brunswick, N.J. (U.S.A.): Transaction Publishers, 1992, xxxiii, 198 p.
Law School | Harvard Depository | HC 60 .C58x 1992
Widener | WID-LC | HC498.Z99 C54 1992x
Historical dictionary of inter-American organizations, by Larman C. Wilson and David W. Dent. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998. xxxi, 361 p.
Widener | WID-LC | JZ5331 .W55 1998
Historical dictionary of European organizations, by Derek W. Urwin. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1994, xxx, 389 p.
Widener | RR 4181.20
European communities, by John Paxton. New Brunswick, N.J.: Transaction Publishers, 1992, xxiii, 182 p.
Law School | Harvard Depository | HC 241.2.Z99x P39 1992
Widener | WID-LC | HC241.2.Z99 P39 1992x
Look for specialized subject bibliographies in the HOLLIS Catalog: Search <"International Agencies [Keyword search] and bibliography [Subject Keyword search]> on Expanded Search screen.
Governments on the WWW: Multi-Governmental Organizations
Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)
Custom Google Search for NGO sites
The following list of directories of organizations is in inverse chronological order:
International organizations : a dictionary and directory, by Giuseppe Schiavone. 7th ed. Basingstoke [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2008, 411 p.
HOLLIS Records (with online access)
--Contents : Introduction -- Dictionary A-Z -- Glossary -- International organizations: membership tables -- Classification of countries and membership of major groups -- Foundation dates -- Classification of organizations -- Index of acronyms -- Index of names.
--3rd ed.: 1992. Check HOLLIS for other eds.
Les Associations féminines. Paris: CNIDFF Edition, 1994, 67 p.
Widener | Harvard Depository | HQ1883 .A87 1994
Encyclopedia of women's associations worldwide: a guide to over 3,400 national and multinational nonprofit women's and women-related organizations, ed. by Jacqueline K. Barrett. London; Detroit : Gale Research, 1993, 471 p.
Countway Medicine | Ref.12 | HQ 1883 E56 1993
Schlesinger | Ref. | 367 B274e
Widener | RR 4761.51.10
Women's movements of the world: an international directory and reference guide, ed. by Sally Shreir. Phoenix, AZ; Harlow, Essex: Longman, 1988, 384 p.
Schlesinger | Ref. | 305.4025 S561w
Widener | WID-LC | HQ1883 .W63 1988
Directory of women's organizations, by Jenrose Felmley. [S.l.: The Allstate Insurance Co., 1985] 274, 30 p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 367 F32d
Affiliate handbook: 1977-78 directory of services and publications of member organizations / Federation of Organizations for Professional Women; prepared by Jamie Segal. Washington, D.C.: The Federation, [1977] 80 leaves, p. 81-92
Schlesinger Ordered--received
International directory of women's development organizations, by Franziska P. Hosken. Washington: Agency for International Development, 1977, [35], 311 p.
Gutman Education | HQ1240 .H67 1977
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 301.412 U58i
Widener | WID-LC | HQ1883 .H67x 1977
Women's organizations & leaders directory. Washington, Today Publications & News Service.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 301.412 B26w (1973, 1975-76)
Widener | WID-LC | HQ 1883 .W4 (1975/76 )
International directory of women's organizations. 75th anniversary souvenir ed., 1888-1963. New York: Research and Action Associates, 1963. 1 v.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 305.4025 N277i
Encyclopedia of associations. Detroit, Gale Research Co., 1961- .
Current edition
Widener | Harvard Depository | Soc 6537.5 Earlier
Widener | RR 4213.12.6 Latest
--Continues Encyclopedia of American associations. Detroit, Gale Research Co., 1956, 1959
Widener Harvard Depository Soc 6537.5
World directory of women's organizations, by Mary Buchanan. London, England: World Directory of Women's Organisations, 1953? 222, xxxii p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 396.06 W92
Widener | Soc 6324.2
Guide to women's organizations; a handbook about national and international groups. Washington, Public Affairs Press 1949, 167 p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 367 A54
Annuaire des organisations internationales = Yearbook of international organizations, 1948-present. Brussels: Union of International Associations, 10 v.
Current edition
Countway Medicine | JX 1904 Y4
Widener | Harvard Depository | Int 17.7
Guide to public affairs organizations, with notes on public affairs informational materials, by Charles R. Read and Samuel Marble. Washington: Public Affairs Press, American Council on Public Affairs, 1946, 129 p.
Law School Harvard Depository US 015 REA
Widener Soc 35.15
Annuaire de la vie internationale : unions, associations, instituts, commissions, bureaux, offices, conférences, congrès, expositions, publications, 1905 -. Bruxelles : Office central des institutions internationales, INstitut international de bibliographie ; Monaco: Institut international de la paix. 5 v.
Law School | Harvard Depository | 131 3500
Widener | Int 112.7 (1908/09; 1910/11)
1906 in Google Books
--Have terminal chronological list of organizations, index of personal names, and subject index
Biography
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes thousands of English-language biographical dictionaries and other compendia. Not full text; one must do HOLLIS searches for retrieved sources.
Biography in Context includes full text of many reference books, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Black Biography, Directory of American Scholars (10th (2002) ed.), Dictionary of American Biography, Marquis Who’s Who on the Web since 1985. The Biographical Facts Search allows search by occupation, nationality, ethnicity (African-American, Asian- American, Hispanic- American, Native- American only), gender, birth/death year, and place.
American National Biography is the standard American source for biographies of major figures. Can do searches of occupations and limit by date.
Who's who in international organizations. München: K.G. Saur
LOCATION: Widener Harvard Depository (1st ed. 1992)
LOCATION: RR 1505.9.6 (3rd ed. 2000)
LOCATION: Widener (5th ed. 2006)
--Biographical data on persons serving in organizations listed in the Yearbook of International Organizations. Vol. 3: name indexes by organization, by area of concern, and by country. Appendixes include statistical breakdowns by area of concern, language, birth year, and education. A similar work of the same title, also under the auspices of the Union of International Associations, was published in 1962/1963, 1964/1965.
Encyclopedia of women social reformers, by Helen Rappaport. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001. 2 v.
Schlesinger | Ref. | 303.484 R221e
Widener | WID-LC | HQ1236 .R29 2001
A biographical dictionary of women's movements and feminisms: Central, Eastern, and South Eastern Europe, 19th and 20th centuries, ed. by Francisca de Haan, Krassimira Daskalova and Anna Loutfi. Budapest; NY: Central European University Press, 2006, 678 p.
Schlesinger | Harvard Depository | 947 H111b
Widener | WID-LC | HQ1590.7.Z75 A336 2006x
Additional sources available in: Finding Biographical Information.