Research Guides: Library Research Guide for History 13b: History of International Organizations: Secondary Sources

Finding Secondary Sources

America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews.

Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.

Bibliography of British and Irish History is a comprehensive bibliography of books and periodical articles on British and British colonial history. Most historical society publications were excluded. Includes Writings on British history (1901-1974; Widener: WID-LC DA30.Z99 W75x) but excludes its book reviews (1901-1947). More information from Institute of Historical Research and Royal Historical Society.

JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many African-American studies and historical journals. List of included journals.

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. More information.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project includes over 2200 largely history titles. Largely 1950-1999, some earlier, later. Full text searchable over whole collection. Browsable and searchable by LC Subject Heading. Links to book reviews in JSTOR, Project Muse and History Cooperative. Linked from HOLLIS records.

Periodicals Index Online indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Includes 218 journals in American history and 840 journals in world history. Also numerous journals in related subjects. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals.

A subset of Periodicals Index Online is full text searchable in:
PAO Historical Studies Collection includes searchable full text of about 100 journals in history from their inception to 1995. Same journals are indexed in Periodicals Index Online, with links to the full text in PAO Historical Studies Collection, but are not full text searchable there. There are no links from HOLLIS to included journals.

Bibliographies

International Nongovernmental Organizations offers an annotated bibliography of secondary sources.

International Organizations offers an annotated bibliography of secondary sources.

Arab regional organizations, by Frank A. Clements. New Brunswick, N.J.: Transaction Publishers, 1992, 198 p.
Law School | Harvard Depository | HC 60 .C58x 1992
Widener | WID-LC | HC498.Z99 C54 1992x

International information : documents, publications, and information systems of international governmental organizations, ed. by Peter I. Hajnal. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1988, 339 p.
Law School | Harvard Depository | JZ4850 .I58 1988
Countway Medicine | Z 688.I57 I61 1988
Widener | Harvard Depository | Z688.I57 I56 1988

International organization; an interdisciplinary bibliography, by Michael Haas,. Stanford, Calif., Hoover Institution Press, 1971, 944 p.
Law School | Harvard Depository | 131 1142
Widener | WID-LC | JX1905.Z99 H33 1971x

International organizations, 1918-1945 : a guide to research and research materials, by George W. Baer. Rev. ed. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources Inc., 1991, 212 p.
Documents (Lamont) | Ref | JX1995.Z99 B33 1991x
Law School | Harvard Depository | JX1995.Z99 B33x 1991

International organizations : a selected bibliography, by Victor Essien. NY: Fordham University School of Law, 1987, p. 857-973.
Law School | JX1 .F69x v.10 Suppl.