Library Research Guide for History 13b: History of International Organizations

Personal Writings in HOLLIS and WorldCat

In the HOLLIS Catalog and WorldCat several Subject terms refer to personal writings, for example:

.
• African American civil rights workers -- Interviews
• Civil rights workers -- Mississippi -- Biography
• Wells-Barnett, Ida B., 1862-1931 -- Diaries
• Wilkins, Roy, 1901-1981 -- Interviews

In the First Person is an index to letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives which includes all kinds of personal narratives, including autobiographies, in archival/manuscript repositories, published books, microform collections, and web sites.

Oral History Online indexes oral history collections, with links to interview-level bibliographic records and to full-text materials, audio files and visual files where these are available.

Printed diaries, autobiographies, etc.

Primary sources in European diplomacy, 1914-1945: a bibliography of published memoirs and diaries, by Frederic M. Messick. NY: Greenwood Press, 1987, 221 p.
Widener | WID-LC | D443.Z99 M47 x, 1987 (In-Library Use only)

American diaries: an annotated bibliography of published American diaries and journals, by Laura Arksey. 2 v. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1 983, 1987.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM CT214.Z99 A74x 1983
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3623.18.15
--This is a valuable source because it includes a detailed subject index and includes diaries published as periodical articles.

A guide to finding additional diaries and autobiographies is available in Finding Biographical Information.