Gender Studies Literature
Guides
- Office of the Gender and Women's Studies Librarian (Univ. Wisconsin)
- Women's Studies Online Resources
- Women’s Studies Database (University of Maryland)
Periodical Articles
Contemporary Women's Issues (1992- ) indexes English-language journals, magazines, newsletters, and research reports on women worldwide. Good for small-press magazines. Updated every 2 weeks.
GenderWatch, 1974- . offers abstracts and full-text of scholarly journals, popular magazines, reports, conference proceedings, etc., on gender issues.
International bibliography of research in marriage and the family, 1900-72. .
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 5205.4 F
JSTOR allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of:
- Gender and Society 1987-1998
- Journal of Health and Social Behavior 1967-1996
- Journal of Health and Human Behavior 1960-1966
- Journal of Marriage and the Family 1964-1999
- Marriage and Family Living 1941-1963
- Living 1939-1940
LGBT Life with Full Text indexes scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, and newsletters on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender topics. Some records for books. Most coverage from 1980s to present, but some major periodicals indexed from the 1950s-1970s.
SEXBIBLIO: bibliography of the history of western sexuality, ed. by F. X. Eder. 3rd ed. 2008.
Studies on women and gender abstracts, 1983- .
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Ref Abstracts HQ1233.S78
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Reference Room Shelved in Index Area
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC HQ1180.S78 Current Issues: Periodicals Reading Room Stacks
LOCATION: Harvard Libraries (1995-)
Abstracts of books and of articles in about 500 periodicals. Coverage is international with some British emphasis.
ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals indexes articles about the history of women from over 90 current European, American and Indian journals in English, French, German, and Dutch.
Women's resources international (1972- )