Digital Collections
Lists:
Gender and Sexuality Studies (Voice of the Shuttle)
“Gay Is Good”: Digital collections in LGBTQ U.S. History
Digital Collections
Margaret Sanger Papers Project
History of Women, an enormous microfilm collection, has been digitized and incorporated into Nineteenth Century Collection Online. The digital collection is searchable, but it can be conveniently browsed via the original microfilm guides (choose H). Note the subsets:
- History of Science, Health, and Women
- Social and Cultural Construction of Girls
- Women and World War I
These subject-based subsets can be browsed and interesting items looked up in the online version.
History of Women is part of the Nineteenth Century Collection Online segment: Women: Transnational Networks.
Blogs: Capturing Women's Voices includes samples of some 20 blogs selected and archived by the Schlesinger Library. a sample of approximately 20 blogs. These blogs illuminate the lives of African-American and Latina women, lesbians, and women grappling with health and reproductive issues, and typically reflect their engagement with politics, their personal lives and philosophies, and their work lives.
Defining Gender Online: Five Centuries of Advice Literature for Men and Women (1450-1910). Includes a section "The Body."
Discovering American Women's History Online
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: An On-line Archival Collection (Duke University)
Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 includes books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Includes over 4000 monographs, primarily in English, German, and French, plus 265 periodical titles.
Herstory Project: A History of the Chicago Women's Liberation Union (CWLU) contains archive of full-text documents of the Chicago Women's Liberation Movement and of classic Second Wave documents.
LGBT Thought and Culture offers books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the twentieth century to the present. Includes letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera, as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction.
Everyday Life of Women in America 1800-1940 provides primary source material for the study of nineteenth and early twentieth century American cultural and social history from the collections of the New York Public Library and the Duke University. Topics include fashion, beauty, prescriptive literature, and medicine.
The Feminist Chronicles: Early Documents
Redstockings: Women's Liberation Studies Archives for Action
Sixties Project (University of Virginia)
Social Theory (1822-1990s) presents major works by several sociological authors.
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. and the U.K. 1815-1914 presents images of of trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library's trial collections. Included are trials of the wealthy and renowned as well as stories of ordinary men and women thrust into the public eye when their marriages and love affairs went wrong.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature includes items such as "How to Get Along with Black People: A Handbook for White Folks and Some Black Folks Too" (1940), and "Art of Living: Etiquette for the Permissive Age" (1972).
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 offers journal articles, manuscripts, books, pamphlets, bibliographies, images, and other sources. Interesting to search organizations by by date founded
Women’s Worlds in Qajar Iran offers family papers, institutional documents and official material relating to gender and everyday life in Qajar Iran (1796–1925).