U.S. State & Local Government Resources

The site contains research, teaching cases, videos and city leader guides on topics such as equitable economic development and fiscal resilience.

This organization seeks to foster the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy. Publishes Capitol Ideas.

Resource for cities interested in adopting data projects. Based at the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation.

HKS Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation database for locating innovation and the best ideas in governance. Search by state, city, county and other geographic units or by topic or outcomes.

Professional and educational organization for members of the local government community. Check in HOLLIS and Dataverse for ICMA surveys that are available to Harvard affiliates.

Site includes policy focus reports, policy briefs, working papers, videos and other publications. You can restrict by geography including US states. Many of the publications focus on land use policy for specific cities and regions of the US.

A nonprofit organization fostering innovation in environmental sustainability, economic prosperity and social equity. Site includes climate change, energy, community design, water, healthy communities case studies and reports.

National organization that represents county governments before the Administration and Congress. NACO provides services to the nation's 3,068 counties.

Includes surveys on election administration and business service and briefings on cybersecurity for elections.

Includes the annual Fiscal Survey of the States, state expenditure reports, and other resources on state budgets and expenditures.

The Resource Library includes State CIO surveys, reports and technology forecasts.

This bipartisan organization focuses on state innovations and best practices on issues ranging from education and health to technology and the environment.

Largest national organization of municipal governments, representing 18,000 cities, towns, and villages in the United States.

HKS center seeking to improve the governance of states, metropolitan areas, and cities through research, teaching, and public events.

Official nonpartisan organization of U.S. mayors, representing cities with populations of 30,000 or more

Important think tank that publishes reports and and data on policy issues in an urban environment.