- Collections are listed alphabetically by building name
- Use links to get to HOLLIS+ > finding aid > digital content
Photographic views of Adams House, 1931-1961 Adams House, named after John Adams and the Adams family, is part of Harvard University's House system and is a dormitory made up of five buildings: Apthorp House, Claverly Hall, Randolph Hall, Russell Hall, and Westmorly Court. The Photographic views of Adams House provide a visual record of one of the houses in Harvard University's House system, its grounds, and surrounding area from 1932 to 1961. All images are gelatin silver photograph prints.
Photographic views of Dunster House, 1929-1959 Dunster House, one of Harvard University's River Houses, is located along the Charles River near the John W. Weeks footbridge and was one of the first dormitories built as part of Harvard's house system with funding from the gift of Edward Stephen Harkness. The Photographic views of Dunster House provide a visual record of one of the houses in Harvard University's house system, its grounds, and surrounding area from 1929 to 1959. This collection includes reproductions of drawings as well as photograph prints, and processes include gelatin silver prints, collotype prints, and letterpress halftone prints.
Photographic views of Eliot House, 1930-1990 Built in 1931, Eliot House is a dormitory that is part of Harvard's House system and is a River House. The Photographic views of Eliot House provide a visual record of one of the houses in Harvard University's House system, its grounds, and surrounding area from 1930 to 1990. All 148 images are photograph prints, and formats include gelatin silver prints and collotype prints.
Photographic views of the Faculty Club, 1930-1990 The Harvard Faculty Club was established in 1928 as a private club for Harvard University faculty, providing dining rooms, meeting rooms, and a library for its members. he Photographic views of the Harvard Faculty Club provide a visual record from 1930 to 1990 of Harvard University’s fine dining club that was once private but now serves the entire Harvard community. The 27 gelatin silver prints also show the building’s grounds and the surrounding area.
Photographic views of Gore Hall, Standish Hall, and Winthrop House, 1913-1957 Winthrop House is one of the houses in Harvard University's House system. The Photographic views of Gore Hall, Standish Hall, and Winthrop House provide a visual record of one of the houses in Harvard University's house system, as well as its grounds and surroundings, from 1913 to 1957. This collection of 62 images contains postcards and photograph prints; formats include gelatin silver prints and collotype prints.
Photographic views of the Harvard College Observatory, 1860-1864 The Harvard College Observatory was established in 1839 when, after decades of attempts to develop an observatory, when the Harvard Corporation hired William Cranch Bond, a Boston clockmaker, as the Astronomical Observer to the University. The Photographic views of the Harvard College Observatory provides a visual record of Harvard University’s historically renowned research institution for astronomical research, as well as its grounds and surroundings, from 1860 to 1964. The 207 images include photograph prints and an instrument schematic.
Photographic views of Harvard Hall, 1764, 1841-1968 On the western edge of Harvard Yard stands Harvard Hall, the fourth oldest building on Harvard University's campus. It was built from 1765 to 1766 to replace the previous Harvard Hall, which was destroyed by a fire in January 1764. The Photographic views of Harvard Hall provide a visual record of America's first building designed exclusively for academic uses and Harvard University's fourth oldest building, its grounds, and the surrounding area from 1764 to 1968. The 158 images are comprised of photograph prints and reproductions of drawings, and formats include salted paper prints, albumen prints, gelatin silver prints, collotype prints, and letterpress halftone prints.
Photographic views of Harvard Stadium, 1903-1954 Located just south of the Charles River from Harvard Yard, Harvard Stadium was constructed in 1903 as a gift from the Class of 1879 in honor of its twenty-fifth anniversary. The Photographic views of Harvard Stadium provides a visual record of Harvard University’s football stadium, its grounds and surrounding areas from 1903 to 1954. The 128 images consist of photograph prints and postcards, and processes include gelatin silver prints, letterpress halftone prints, and collotype prints.
Photographic views of Holden Chapel, 1855-1982 Built in 1744, Holden Chapel is Harvard University's first building dedicated to serving as a chapel. The Photographic views of Holden Chapel provide a visual record of Harvard University's first dedicated chapel, its grounds, and the surrounding area, including the Class Tree, from 1855 to 1982. All images are photograph prints, and processes include salted paper prints, albumen prints, letterpress halftone prints, and gelatin silver prints.
Photographic views of Hollis Hall, 1856-1859 Hollis Hall was built in 1763 and has served as a dormitory at Harvard University for over 250 years, housing several well-known Harvard graduates and surviving a lightning strike and three fires. The Photographic views of Hollis Hall provide a visual record of one of Harvard University's dormitories and eighteenth century buildings, its grounds, and the surrounding area from 1856 to 1959. All images are photograph prints, and processes include salted paper prints, albumen prints, gelatin silver prints, a stereoscope, and two transparencies.
Photographic views of Kirkland House, 1913-1963 Kirkland House is part of Harvard University's House system and is a dormitory complex that was formed in 1931 by combining three buildings: Smith Hall, Bryan Hall, and Hicks House. The Photographic views of Kirkland House provide a visual record of one of the houses in Harvard University's house system, its grounds, and surrounding area from 1913 to 1963. Of the 58 images, one is a postcard, and the rest are photograph prints.
Photographic views of Lamont Library, 1940s-1962 Lamont Library, built in 1949, is situated in the southeast corner of Harvard Yard and serves as Harvard University's undergraduate library. The Photographic views of Lamont Library provide a visual record of one of Harvard University's libraries, as well as its grounds and the surrounding area from the 1947 to 1962. The 239 photographs are all gelatin silver prints.
Photographic views of the Lampoon Building, 1915-1936 The Harvard Lampoon Building, also referred to as the Lampoon Castle, was constructed in 1909 with the purpose of serving as the office for the Harvard Lampoon, a student-run comedy magazine that publishes humorous stories, articles, cartoons, and parodies of popular magazines, newspapers, and books. he Photographic views of the Lampoon Building provides a visual record of the office of the Harvard Lampoon, a student-run publication and the second longest continually publishing humor magazine in the world, as well as its grounds and surrounding area from 1915 to 1936. The collection contains seven gelatin silver photograph prints, showing the building's exterior from a variety of angles, as well as views of Bow Street and Mount Auburn Street.
Photographic views of Leverett House Library, 1960-1966 The Leverett House Library was built as an addition to the Leverett House complex in 1960 during a time of expansion for Harvard University's House system. The Photographic views of Leverett House Library provide a visual record of the library of one of Harvard University's houses in the House system, its grounds, and surrounding area from 1960 to 1966. All 23 images are gelatin silver photograph prints.
Photographic views of Leverett Towers, Leverett House, 1958-1962 The Leverett Towers were built as an addition to the Leverett House complex in 1960 during a time of expansion for Harvard University's House system. The Photographic views of Leverett Towers, Leverett House, provide a visual record of one of the Houses in Harvard University's House system, as well as its grounds and surrounding area from 1958 to 1962. The 13 images include a reproduction of a sketch and photograph prints, and print formats include gelatin silver prints and letterpress halftone prints.
Photographic views of Lowell House, 1929-1967 Lowell House, built in 1930, was constructed as one of the first houses in Harvard University's House system. The Photographic views of Lowell House provide a visual record of one of the houses in Harvard University's House system, as well as its grounds and surrounding area from 1929 to 1967. The collection contains a postcard, reproductions of drawings, and photograph prints.
Photographic views of Massachusetts Hall, 1850s-1960s Built between 1718 and 1720, Massachusetts Hall is the oldest surviving building on Harvard University’s campus, as well as the second oldest academic building in the United States, preceded only by the Wren Building at the College of William and Mary. The Photographic views of Massachusetts Hall provide a visual record of Harvard University’s oldest surviving building, its grounds, and the surrounding area from 1795 to the mid-twentieth century, and they include reproductions of eighteenth century drawings and photographs ranging from the 1850s to the mid-twentieth century, with formats such as salted paper prints, albumen prints, collodion prints, collotype prints, and a stereograph.
Photographic views of Mather Hall, Leverett House, ca. 1932 Built in 1931, Mather Hall was a dormitory that was part of Leverett House, one of Harvard University's dormitories in the House system. The Photographic views of Mather Hall, Leverett House, provide a visual record of one of the Houses in Harvard University's House system, as well as its grounds and surrounding area circa 1932. All four images are gelatin silver photograph prints.
Photographic views of McKinlock Hall, Leverett House, 1926-1952 McKinlock Hall is part of Leverett House, one of the dormitories of Harvard University's House system. The Photographic views of McKinlock Hall, Leverett House, provide a visual record of one of the Houses in Harvard University's House system, as well as its grounds and surrounding area from 1926 to 1952. The 32 images include reproductions of sketches and photograph prints, and print formats include gelatin silver prints, collotype prints, and letterpress halftone prints.
Photographic views of Memorial Church, 1931-1986 Built in 1932, Memorial Church is Harvard University's chapel and part of the University's interfaith network. The Photographic views of Memorial Church provide a visual record of Harvard University's chapel and one of its war memorials, its grounds, and the surrounding area from 1932 to 1986.
Photographic views of Memorial Hall, 1873-1968 Located just north of Harvard Yard, Memorial Hall was constructed between 1870 and 1877 as a memorial to Harvard University students and alumni who had been killed while fighting for the Union cause during the Civil War. The Photographic views of Memorial Hall provide a visual record of one of Harvard University’s memorials, dining halls, and theatres, as well as its grounds and surroundings from 1873 to 1968. The 252 images include photographs, postcards, and reproductions of drawings.
Photographic views of Quincy House, 1957-1970s Established in 1958, Quincy House is one of the houses in Harvard University's House system and was the first built since the original seven were developed in the early 1930s. The Photographic views of Quincy House provide a visual record of one of the houses in Harvard University's House system, as well as its grounds and surrounding area from 1957 to the 1970s. The collection contains reproductions of architectural drawings and gelatin silver photograph prints.
Photographic views of Sever Hall, 1881-1882 Completed in 1880, Sever Hall is a classroom building at Harvard University that was designed by renowned architect H. H. Richardson. It was named for Ann E. P. Sever, the widow of Colonel James Warren Sever, after she contributed $100,000 from her will toward the $115,000 construction costs. The Photographic views of Sever Hall provide a visual record of an architecturally significant building on Harvard University's campus designed by renowned architect H. H. Richardson, as well as its grounds and the surrounding area from 1881 to 1982. The 52 images consist of photographs and postcards, and formats include albumen prints, gelatin silver prints, collotype prints, and letterpress halftone prints.
Photographic views of University Hall, 1815, 1857-1970 Located in the center of Harvard Yard, University Hall was built in 1815. It originally contained Harvard University's chapel, six classrooms, the president's office, and the commons, consisting of four dining halls. The Photographic views of University Hall provides a visual record of an academic and commons building designed by Charles Bulfinch, who is considered to be the first American professional architect, as well as its grounds and surrounding area from 1815 to 1970. Images include a reproduction of a drawing, a postcard, and photograph prints.
Photographic views of Wadsworth House, 1858-1970 Wadsworth House, located in the southwest corner of Harvard Yard, was built in 1726 to serve as the residence of Harvard University's presidents, beginning with President Benjamin Wadsworth, for whom the building is named. The Photographic views of Wadsworth House provide a visual record of Harvard University's second oldest building and former presidents' residence, its grounds, and the surrounding area from 1858 to 1970. All images are photograph prints, and the processes include salted paper prints, albumen prints, collodion prints, collotype prints, and gelatin silver prints.
Photographic views of Widener Library, 1913-1988 The Harry Elkins Widener Memorial Library is the central library of Harvard University. The Photographic views of Widener Library provide a visual record of the central library of Harvard University, its grounds, and its surroundings from 1913 to 1988. The 277 images include reproductions of architectural drawings and photographs. Formats include gelatin silver prints, albumen prints, collodion prints, collotype prints, and letterpress halftone prints.