Home
Introduction
Some things to consider when looking for data:
Do you need "summary statistics" (e.g. simple numbers or figures) or more detailed or micro-level "data"? Raw, consumable data? If so, in what form? What technical skills and tools do you have?
Time frame and frequency (e.g. annual, monthly)
Time series data?-Do you need data collected at regular intervals over time?
Do you need only current or also historical or retrospective data? Can you get it from the same source? (Be careful if you are trying to mix data from different sources.)
In what indicators/variables are you interested? Which ones are critical vs. ideal?
What is your unit of analysis (e.g. individuals, companies, etc.)?
Geographic unit (e.g. country, city, etc.)?
What is the source, scope and methodology of the data you are using? Definitions?
Who might care about the data that you want? (See Who Might Collect This Data)
Did you do a literature review? (See Literature Review on Topic)
General compendia, indexes, repositories, portals and data archives
General compendia, indexes, repositories, portals and data archives
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (Harvard Login)Summary statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States. Compiled from publications and records of various government and private agencies, it is designed to serve both as a convenient reference volume and as a guide to other statistical sources.
- Historical Statistics of the United States (Harvard Login)Presents the U.S. in statistics from Colonial times to the present. Included are statistics on U.S. population, including characteristics, vital statistics, internal and international migration. Statistics on work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Tables may be downloaded for use in spreadsheets and other applications. This electronic database is also in a five volume hard copy set.
- Proquest Statistical Insight (Harvard Login)Proquest Statistical Insight is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts the statistical content of selected United States government publications, state government publications, business and association publications, and intergovernmental publications. The abstracts may also contain a link to the full text of the table and/or a link to the agency's web site where the full text of the publication may be viewed and downloaded.
- StatistaStatista.com is a statistics portal that integrates over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with access to quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and additional areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. The Harvard Library is leasing access via a Premium Account to provide full access to the entire content of the platform.
When you find an entry, check the source data. See e.g. Live Births, Deaths, Marriages, And Divorces: 1960 To 2014
- ICPSROne of the world’s oldest and largest social science data archives; based at the University of Michigan. Categories of datasets include census enumerations; community and urban studies; economic behavior and attitudes; education, government structures, policies and capabilities; social indicators; and much more. Includes links to related studies. You can search on/compare variables.
Finding specialized sources
Finding specialized sources
- Find a database (Harvard)Look for your subject or topic and keyword and add data or statistics.
Literature review on topic
Databases
- Hollis+Statistical data sets is a resource type in results filter.
You can look for articles on your topic to find articles that use data originally generated for that article or to see what data the author used in writing the article. Some databases also have subject and resource-type filters related to statistics, data, indicators, etc. to identify documents consisting of or related to data sets.
Who might collect this data?
Who might collect this data?
It is often useful to consider if there are particular entities that might be most likely to care about and collect this data, such as governmental bodies, organizations, business/trade groups, commercial entities, etc.
You can try identifying a particular governmental body, organization, etc. or start with a general web search using keywords related to your topic (narrowly or broadly) and adding words like data, statistics, index, indicators, etc.. Adding .site:.gov, site:.org or site:.edu to a Google search allows you to limit to websites on those domains. Certain topics might lend themselves to private research entities.
Polling/public opinion
Databases/Websites
- Gallup Analytics (Harvard Login)Daily U.S. Data - economic, well-being, and political data collected daily since 2008 of 1,000+ interviews; World Poll Data - economic, social, and well-being data collected annually since 2005 in 160+ countries, 1.5 million+ interviews worldwide
- Roper Center for Public Opinion (Harvard Login)Access to aggregate and raw public opinion data. Data collection is focused on United States public opinion but also includes growing collections of (micro-level) European, Latin American (Latin American Databank) and Japanese (JPOLL) polls. The data archive (micro-level data) is searchable by keyword, date, and survey organization.
News/secondary sources
You may sometimes find polls and surveys mentioned in newspaper articles and other secondary sources. You might try looking for words about your topic and adding the words "poll" or "survey" to your search.
Research guides and other materials
Harvard guides
Many subject guides have sections about finding data/statistics, so you might also try looking at our research guides for your subject/discipline words and data or statistics or look for a guide on your topic generally.
Books and Databases
The Chicago Guide to Writing about Numbers, Second Edition by Call Number: Reference T11 .M485 2015ISBN: 9780226185637Publication Date: 2015-04-09Earning praise from scientists, journalists, faculty, and students, The Chicago Guide to Writing about Numbers has helped thousands of writers communicate data clearly and effectively. Its publication offered a much-needed bridge between good quantitative analysis and clear expository writing, using straightforward principles and efficient prose. With this new edition, Jane Miller draws on a decade of additional experience and research, expanding her advice on reaching everyday audiences and further integrating non-print formats. Miller, an experienced teacher of research methods, statistics, and research writing, opens by introducing a set of basic principles for writing about numbers, then presents a toolkit of techniques that can be applied to prose, tables, charts, and presentations. Throughout the book, she emphasizes flexibility, showing writers that different approaches work for different kinds of data and different types of audiences. The second edition adds a chapter on writing about numbers for lay audiences, explaining how to avoid overwhelming readers with jargon and technical issues. Also new is an appendix comparing the contents and formats of speeches, research posters, and papers, to teach writers how to create all three types of communication without starting each from scratch. An expanded companion website includes new multimedia resources such as slide shows and podcasts that illustrate the concepts and techniques, along with an updated study guide of problem sets and suggested course extensions. This continues to be the only book that brings together all the tasks that go into writing about numbers, integrating advice on finding data, calculating statistics, organizing ideas, designing tables and charts, and writing prose all in one volume. Field-tested with students and professionals alike, this holistic book is the go-to guide for everyone who writes or speaks about numbers.
Requesting or purchasing data that has already been identified
Requesting or purchasing data that has already been identified
If you need assistance acquiring or purchasing data, you may start with your faculty member's librarian liaison, submit a purchase request or contact Michelle Pearse, Senior Research and Data Librarian. The library will work with you and your faculty member to determine how we might be able to obtain the data that is needed.
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class