Essential library resources and services
- Harvard Library Portal
- HOLLIS Library Catalog (To improve your searching, see these tutorials on using Boolean Operators and Nesting.)
To find e-books, first type your topic into HOLLIS+. Limit to books, and click the search button. Next, after the results load, look at the text, just above them, that says available online. Click that option. Finally, view your results. Also try the EBSCO E-Book Collection.
Finding E-Books in HOLLIS+
1. Type your topic into the HOLLIS+ library catalog, at hollis.harvard.edu. Limit to “Books,” and click the “Search” button.
2. After the results load, look at the text just above them. Click the “Available online” option.
3. View your results.
Beyond what's available in the library catalog, Harvard Library subscribes to thousands of databases containing articles, images, sound, data, and more!
Go to the Find Databases and E-Resources menu, pictured below, to select the database that's best for your needs.
- Click each tab—Database Name, Keyword, and Subject—to search or browse for a database (note that you're not searching inside the databases yet).
- Once you have examined the options in each tab, click on the More info option for the databases of interest to learn more.
- Revisit the menu to connect to and search the database of greatest use to you.
- Fast Answers (HBS) Ask a question and a business librarian will respond.
- Ask a Librarian (LibAnswers) Ask a question, and a Harvard librarian will respond.
Search business databases within topical categories
Browse these journals for additional marketing research and news
Look up key terms
A Dictionary of Business and Management
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains 7,000 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. Written by a team of experts, it features the very latest terminology, for example, therecent vocabulary associated with structured finance and the associated subprime lending crisis, including collaterized debt obligation and special purpose vehicle.The new edition of this established bestseller dispels modern financial and management jargon, defining entries in a clear, concise, and accessible manner. It contains US business terms, general management concepts (e.g. competence, knowledge management), named theories (e.g. Tannenbaum and Schmidt,Blake and Mouton) as well as expanded coverage of the contemporary theory of the firm and human resources. New terms are included from the fast-moving areas of current affairs (e.g. MiFID), Internet business and information technology and there is full coverage of the new Companies Act. Withrecommended web links for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Business and Management companion website, this edition is more informative than ever. This A-Z reference work is essential for business students, teachers and professionals, and useful for anyone needinga guide to business terminology.
Oxford English Dictionary
The online Oxford English Dictionary contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material produced in the progress towards the Third Edition. The OED is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. It aims to show not only the current meanings of words, but also to trace their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world, making the OED a unique historical record. The revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter, and these will eventually cumulate to form the complete new edition. You may search the full text, definitions, etymologies, and quotations.
