• The publication of direct quotations, excerpts, and images from Archives' collections requires the permission of the University Archivist.
  • Submit permission requests well in advance of publication date to archives_collections@harvard.edu. 
  • Please note that it may take several weeks for a response to be sent.
  • Requests must include the following information:
    • copies of relevant sections of the manuscript, with quotes or excerpts highlighted, and/or copies of images;
    • complete citations for the original materials, including the name of the collection, title/description/date of the item, folder title, call number, and box number (if applicable);
    • title of the publication in which the material will appear;
    • name of the publisher; and
    • anticipated date of publication.

For more information about copyright and unpublished material, see the FAQs provided by the Society of American Archivists.

Sample citations

  • University records
  • Harvard University. Records of President Abbott Lawrence Lowell. Grounds of University: Committee on Plan. Letter to Guy Lowell, Oct. 28, 1924. UAI 5.160, Series 1922‐1925, Folder 467, Box 199. Harvard University Archives.
  • Student diary
  • Brown, Lloyd T. Diary, 1899. Entry for January 15, 1899. HUD 899.9. Harvard University Archives.
  • Faculty papers
  • Buttrick, George Arthur. Papers of George Arthur Buttrick. Letter to Agnes Gardner, Dec. 15, 1915. HUGFP 90.35, Family and Personal Papers, ca. 1910‐1979, Box 2. Harvard University Archives.
  • Image
  • Harvard University Archives, HUPSF Baseball (32b).