Cross-Disciplinary Databases for Journal Literature
Academic Search Premier is a good next step once you've explored content available in HOLLIS, particularly if you feel overwhelmed by the journal and article search results you've encountered there.
For a thesis project, you'll want to supplement your searching of Academic Search Premier with databases that more comprehensively cover the scholarly conversations in your particular social science discipline.
JStor provides access to the contents of 2600 core academic journals, in 60 knowledge domains in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Much of the journal content has a "moving wall," a set period of time (often between 1 and 5 years) in which the most current volumes, issues, and articles of a particular journal are not available online for reading and downloading.
Articles not (yet) available on JSTOR may be available to you another way. Try searching for the article title in HOLLIS.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes major journals in the sciences and social sciences, and is especially useful to find who cited an article after it was published. The social sciences (and humanities) are also well-represented in this important, multidisciplinary database of over 20,000 journals.
Social Sciences Premium Collection combines, in one place, the contents of several of the most important databases for the social sciences. Much like HOLLIS, it can return result sets that seem enormous but you have options to control what you see, by limiting your results via filters like publication date, source type, language, etc.
Google Scholar covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, and searches full-text.
Google Scholar is also helpful for seeing how many times articles are cited after they are published, using the "Cited by" hyperlink, which will also bring up a list of those articles.
