Secondary Sources
African Studies - Oxford Bibliographies: 182 annotated bibliographies on Africa.
Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for world history, excluding North America, 1450-date.
Bibliography of British and Irish History is a comprehensive bibliography of books and periodical articles on British and British colonial history. Most historical society publications were excluded. Includes Writings on British history (1901-1974; Widener: WID-LC DA30.Z99 W75x) but excludes its book reviews (1901-1947).
PubMed (Harvard Login for full text access) (1947- ) (National Library of Medicine's index to biomedical journal articles) is the main source for recent (post-1946) articles.
- When you find a good article, hit Free Article or Try Harvard Library in the upper right. Don’t hit the name of the Publisher.
- At the bottom of a good record look at the MeSH terms, and redo the search using useful terms.
- Very recent articles may not have MeSH terms yet, so search also with likely keywords in your language. MeSH terms are in English
- You can narrow by going down to the bottom of the left hand column and hitting Additional filters. A list of Article types opens up, including Historical Article. Choose one or more types and hit Show. The Article Type now shows up in the short list of article types near the top of the left hand column. Now hit the Types desired. You can also filter by date range.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (Harvard Login) (1975- ) is an index of books, book chapters, and journal articles. Some social sciences material is included.
- HSTM is an amalgamation of four separate indexes with four different subject term systems; study the results of keyword searches to be sure that you know the proper subject terms for your topic in each of the, possibly four, relevant component databases. For example, the Wellcome Bibliography uses "Contraception" but the Isis Current Bibliography uses "Birth control".
- If you want to limit the coverage of your sources to a particular era, put one of these terms in a search box: Antiquity or Ancient - “Greek and Roman” - “Middle Ages” or medieval - 13th century - 14th century - 15th century - 16th century - 17th century - 18th century - 19th century - 20th century
- More detailed information about the use of this complex database.
Africa-Wide: Information (19th century- ) includes 40 African studies databases. Includes book reviews.
- Africana Periodical Literature
- African Women
- Women Travelers to Africa
- Islam in Africa
- Kenya Coast
- Water and Africa
- Education in Africa
Africabib.org is not connected with Harvard, so if you find an article you want, search the title (in"") in HOLLIS Everything.
African-Journal-Archive. Some journals are not available full text. If you find something that is by subscription only, search the title (in “”) in HOLLIS Everything to see if we have it from another source. Or, in Advanced Search you can limit your search to Open Access or Free (some free content).
African Studies Abstracts Online succeeds the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre Leiden. It provides a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the ASCL library.
African Journals OnLine (AJOL). Searchable database of scholarly journals originating from African countries.
Connecting Africa provides publications, experts, and organizations on research topics related to African studies.
International African bibliography online. Berlin: Walter de Gruyter GmbH, Includes entries from the International African bibliography published 1971 to 2015.
More African Studies indexes are listed on the Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on Africa guide.