Other African Studies Indexes
Africa bibliography (1984- ) is a bibliography of books and periodical articles, with government publications and literary works excluded. Emphasis is on the humanities and social and environmental sciences, with some coverage of scientific and medical works.
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT 3.Z99 A37
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970.3.25 Latest 5 yrs WID-LC DT3.Z99 A35x Earlier
Africabib.org includes two Africana periodical indexes:
Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database. Indexes over 240 periodicals, published in Africa and worldwide, from their dates of inception to the present (or to their terminations).
African Women's literature (African Women's Database), 1986 - . Indexes books and government documents, articles appearing in edited books and conference papers, periodical articles, theses/dissertations, and videocassettes. Continues:
African women, a general bibliography, 1976-1985, by Davis Bullwinkle.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.96 B938a
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT4.Z99 B8 1989
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT3.Z99 A37 x, no. 9
Women of eastern and southern Africa: a bibliography, 1976 -1985, by Davis Bullwinkle.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.96 B938w
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT4.Z99 B884 1989
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT3.Z99 A37 x, no. 11
Women of northern, western, and central Africa: a bibliography, 1976-1985, by Davis Bullwinkle.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: Ref. 016.96 B938wo
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT4.Z99 B886 1989
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT3.Z99 A37 x, no. 10
Also includes: Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-1999: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography.
Africa index (1971- ) indexes periodical articles, separately published essays, and selected essays in books.
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): UN 158.902 .
Africa south of the Sahara: index to periodical literature, 1900-1970. Plus 3 supplements: 1st supplement, 1971-72, 1 v.; 2nd supplement, 1972-76, 3 v.; 3rd supplement, 1977, 1 v.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970. 10.1 F Library has: 4 v.
Arranged by major subjects under countries. Examine table of contents for each country for subject layout and page numbers.
African Index Medicus indexes articles in African medical journals and articles on African health problems published elsewhere.
African Journals OnLine (AJOL). Searchable
African studies abstracts: the abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre, Leiden (1968-2002) abstracts articles in periodicals and edited volumes. Excludes (beginning in 1998) North Africa. Abstracts in English, French, German, or Dutch. Included in Africa-Wide NiPAD (1988- ). Titled Documentatieblad, 1968-93.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT1.D58x (1978-2002)
AfroLib Database (WHO Regional Office for Africa Library)
Aluka Digital Library, in the section on Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa, offers full text of many periodicals of political organizations, largely late 20th century. List of included collections.
Ausgewahlte neuere Literatur (Institut fur Afrika-Kunde, Dokumentations-Leitstelle Afrika), 1973-2005.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT3.Z99 D64x Jahrg.15- (1986-) in stacks. Jahrg.1-14 (1973-86) at Harvard Depository.
Bibliographie analytique de l'Afrique antique (1961- ) covers European-language literature on Punic through early Christian North Africa. Volumes for 1995-2003 available online (listed under various authors).
LOCATION: Widener: Afr 28.11
Continues annual bibliography in Libyca, 1953-61.
LOCATION: Tozzer: MUS.22.214.171.124
LOCATION: Widener Arc 41.4
Bibliographie de l'Afrique sud-saharienne, sciences humaines et sociales (1978-89) is an author bibliography of periodical articles with subject index. Books and articles in edited volumes, with annotations, were included before 1980.
LOCATION: Tozzer: MUS.126.96.36.199.2 1978-1989
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT351.Z99 B49x 1978-1983
Bibliographie ethnographique de l'Afrique sud-saharienne, 1960-1977.
LOCATION: Tozzer: MUS.188.8.131.52.1
LOCATION: Widener: Afr 28.102 1960-1971
Bibliographie ethnographique du Congo belge et des regions avoisinantes, 1925-1959.
LOCATION: Tozzer: MUS.184.108.40.206
Current bibliography on African affairs (1962-67; new ser., 1968- ) includes bibliographies and bibliographic essays on special topics, book reviews, and listings of new books, periodical articles, government documents, and media.
LOCATION: Law School: ILS Z 3501.C87 1968-
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970.21 Latest 5 years WID-LC DT3.Z99C87x Earlier
Current contents Africa (1978-93) contains tables of contents of nearly 200 periodicals concerned with African studies. Periodicals on science, medicine, economics, and modern law are excluded.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT1.Z99 C12x Volumes 10-18 (1985-1993) in Stacks. Earlier volumes (1978-84) at Harvard Depository
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT1.Z99 C12x 1977-78 (titled: Current contents Afrika)
Index to literature on race relations in South Africa, 1910-1975. 1979. 555 p.
Law School | DT763.Z99 P67x 1979
Widener | WID-LC | DT763.Z99 P67 x
Index to periodical articles on South African political and social history since 1902. 1982. 616 pp.
Location : Widener WID-LC DT770.Z99 B52 x
--Grouped in sections by broad topic with subject and author indexes.
Index to South African periodicals, 1940- .
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): CD-ROM Doc AI3.568x (Cumulative 1987-94
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche S 369 (1980-81,1983-84, 1986)
LOCATION: Widener: Afr 8028.145 F (1940-85)
International African bibliography online. Berlin: Walter de Gruyter GmbH, Includes entries from the International African bibliography published 1971 to 2015.
International African bibliography (1971- 2015) is the most comprehensive listing of books, essays in books, and periodical articles concerning Africa outside of Egypt. Previously published in the journal Africa (1929-1970).
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Abst & Ind Z 3501 I61 1976-81
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT 3.Z99 I5 Consult periodical rack.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970.3.5 Latest 5 yrs. WID-LC DT3.Z99 I58x Earlier 1979-
Cumulative bibliography of African studies. 1973. 5 v.
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: DuBois Institute DT3.Z99 I58 1973x Author catalogue
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: DuBois Institute DT3.Z99 I582 1973x Classified catalogue
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970. 3.15 F Author catalogue
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970. 3.20 F Classified catalogue
International African bibliography, 1973-1978.
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT 3.Z99 P4 1982
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT3.Z99 P4 1982x
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (1900- ) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa and the Caribbean. Full text available from 1998 on for about 40 periodicals.
Left-radical movements in South Africa and Namibia 1900-1981: a bibliographical and historical study, by Elizabeth W. Böhmer. 2 v. Cape Town: South African Library, 1986-1987.
Widener | WID-LC | DT770.Z99 B66 x, 1986
--Indexes periodical articles and other material.
Medical Literature on Central Africa (1878- ) covers medical and veterinary publications on Congo-Kinshasa (formerly Zaire), Rwanda, and Burundi.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) covers North Africa. Includes journal articles, books, book reviews, book chapters, theses & dissertations, internet documents, grey literature, etc. Includes citations from the Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001) and from the School of Oriental & African Studies Library Catalogue (1900-present).
Quarterly index of African Periodical Literature (1991- ) is good for documents from nongovernmental organizations. Also in print.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): LC 1.30/8-4: microfiche
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970.10.5