This guide is intended to help Harvard students and faculty find periodical articles on African studies. The HOLLIS Catalog does not include periodical articles. Articles are found via periodical indexes. This guide lists electronic and print periodical indexes for African studies. The index of first resort for African studies is usually Africa-Wide Information. There are many other indexes, some print and some electronic. To find local periodical indexes not in this list, use the HOLLIS Catalog: "Nigerian periodicals indexes", "Nigeria Indexes Periodicals."
Basic Index: Africa-Wide: Information
Africa-Wide: Information (19th century- ) includes 40 African studies databases. Includes book reviews.
To find bibliographies of books and articles in the HOLLIS Catalog, in Expanded Search do a variety of keyword searches (Keywords Anywhere) plus the standard term "bibliography" (Subject words). Notice the Subjects on pertinent records for terms for additional searches. Examples: "Africa armed forces" and "bibliography", "Africa exploration" and "bibliography".
Contemporary African politics and development: a comprehensive bibliography, 1981-1990.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970.27
A Bibliography for the study of African politics. 3 v. Los Angeles. 1973, 1977, 1983.
LOCATION: Ctr Intl Affairs: DT31.Z99 B5 (v. 2-3)
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT 31.Z99 B5 (v. 2-3)
LOCATION: Widener: Afr 3.38 vol.9 (v. 1)
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT31.Z99 B52x (v. 2-3)
Bibliographies for African studies 1970-1986, by Y. Scheven. London; New York: H. Zell, 1988.
LOCATION: Gutman Education: DT20.S24 1988
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT 3.Z99 S3 1988
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970. 8
Bibliographies for African studies, 1987-1993, by Y. Scheven. London; New Jersey: Hans Zell Publishers, 1994.
LOCATION: Gutman Education: DT20.S24 1994
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF DT3.Z99 S31 1994
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3970.8.2
General sources include: Academic Search Premier, the Web of Science and Periodicals Index Online (for pre-1995 books). Additional general sources for book reviews. Some of the specialized indexes and bibliographies listed in this guide carry book reviews.
Africana book reviews, 1885-1945: an index to books reviewed in selected English-language publications.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT3.Z99 E27 x
The history of Sub-Saharan Africa: a select bibliography of books and reviews, 1945-1975.
LOCATION: Afro American Studies: DuBois Institute DT352.5.Z99 M37 1978x
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT352.5.Z99 M37 x
Works in African history: an index to reviews, 1960-1974.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT20.Z99 H45 x
Works in African history: an index to reviews, 1974-1978.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT20.Z99 H46 x
Works in African history: an index to reviews, 1978-1982.
LOCATION: Tozzer: AFR. H 388 w
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DT20.Z99 H46 x, 1984
Lists of Periodicals
Periodicals from Africa: a bibliography and union list of periodicals published in Africa, by Carole Travis and Miriam Alman. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1977, 619 p.
Tozzer | REF | DT 1.Z99 T73 1977
Widener | RR3970.7
Location : Widener RR3970.7.5 (Supplement, 1984)
--Periodicals listed by country with title index.
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) Searchable