Background & Context
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: African History
The Princeton companion to Atlantic history, ed. by Joseph C. Miller et al. Princeton : Princeton University Press, 2015, 532 pages
HOLLIS Record with Online Version
Library of Congress Country Studies Collection: the books in this collection offer an overview of the history and politics of selected countries, including pre-colonial history (choose Collection items to see countries included in collection).
UNESCO general history of Africa. London: Heinemann Educational Books; Berkeley : University of California Press, 1981-1993., 8 v.
-- v. 1. Methodology and African prehistory
-- v.2. Ancient civilizations of Africa
-- v. 3. Africa from the seventh to the eleventh century
-- v. 4. Africa from the twelfth to the sixteenth century
-- v. 5. Africa from the sixteenth to the eighteenth century
-- v. 6. Africa in the nineteenth century until the 1880s
-- v. 7 Africa Under Colonial Domination, 1880-1935
-- v. 8 Africa since 1935
(Links are to Internet Archive full text)
HOLLIS Record
Historical dictionary of pre-colonial Africa, by Robert O. Collins. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001, 617 p.
HOLLIS Record
Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures, ed. by Helaine Selin. 2nd ed. Berlin; NY: Springer, 2008. 2 v.
HOLLIS record
Internet Archive Full Text Vol. 1 (2008 ed.)
Internet Archive Full Text (1997 ed.)
Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa: archaeology, history, languages, cultures, and environments, ed. by Joseph O. Vogel and Jean Vogel. Walnut Creek, Calif.: AltaMira Press, 1997, 605 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
The Cambridge history of Africa, ed. by J.D. Fage and Roland Oliver. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1975-1986. 8 v. HOLLIS Record with Online Version
--v. 1. From the earliest times to c. 500 B.C.
--v. 2. From c. 500 B.C. to A.D. 1050
--v. 3. From c. 1050 to c. 1600
--v. 4. From c. 1600 to c. 1790
--v. 5. From c. 1790 to c. 1870
The Penguin atlas of African history, by Colin McEvedy. Rev. ed. 1995. London; New York: Penguin Books, 1995, 144 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
Biography
Dictionary of African biography, ed. by Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2012, 6 v. HOLLIS Record
Widener RR 3970.35.15 (Loker Reading Room, East end, Widener 2nd floor)
Online Version. Choose Africa and Diaspora Studies; open Search, choose Biography search