Secondary Sources

African Studies - Oxford Bibliographies: 182 annotated bibliographies on Africa. Several on archaeology, language and other pre-colonial topics

Africa-Wide: Information (19th century- ) includes 40 African studies databases. Includes book reviews.

Africabib.org searches across the following databases:
  • Africana Periodical Literature
  • African Women
  • Women Travelers to Africa
  • Islam in Africa
  • Kenya Coast
  • Water and Africa
  • Education in Africa

African Studies Abstracts Online succeeds the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre Leiden. It provides a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the ASCL library.

African Journals OnLine (AJOL). Searchable database of scholarly journals originating from African countries.

Connecting Africa provides publications, experts, and organizations on research topics related to African studies.

More African Studies indexes are listed on the Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on Africa guide.

Anthropology Plus
Searches the major literature, including journals, in anthropology and related fields.

More anthropology/archaeology resources are listed on the Anthropology Research guide.

African archaeology: a selected bibliography, by Robert B. Marks Ridinger. New York : G.K. Hall ; Toronto : Maxwell Macmillan Canada ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, 1993, 311 p.
HOLLIS Record

For periodical articles in art, see History of Art & Architecture guide

AATA Online offers abstracts of preservation/conservation of material cultural heritage literature

Rock paintings and petroglyphs of South and Central Africa, 1959 - 1970; a bibliography, by Irene Anderson. Johannesburg, University of Witwatersrand, Department of Bibliography, Librarianship and Typography, 1971, 25 p.
​HOLLIS Record 

Rock art of south-eastern South Africa and Lesotho, 1806 to 1997: an annotated bibliography, by Karin Herbert. (Offprint from Natal Museum journal of humanities, v. 10). 1998, p. 33-149.
HOLLIS Record

Environment Index (1973- )

Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for world history, excluding North America, 1450-date.

Bibliography of British and Irish History is a comprehensive bibliography of books and periodical articles on British and British colonial history. Most historical society publications were excluded. Includes Writings on British history (1901-1974; Widener: WID-LC DA30.Z99 W75x) but excludes its book reviews (1901-1947). 

The History of cartography, edited by J.B. Harley and David Woodward. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987- .
-- v. 2, bk. 3. Cartography in the traditional African, American, Arctic, Australian, and Pacific societies
HOLLIS Record with Online Version

Many-in-one search (from Andover-Harvard Theological Library)
Search across several major databases in religious studies simultaneously:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • ATLA Religion Database
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
  • Christian Periodical Index
  • Index Islamicus
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
  • New Testament Abstracts
  • Old Testament Abstracts
  • Philosopher's Index