Secondary Sources
General and Historical Sources
America: History and Life (1955- ) covers North America. Includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews.
Historical Abstracts covers the rest of the world. Includes books, book chapters, journal articles, but NO book reviews.
Race Relations Abstracts (1975- )
Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. History is included 1956- . More information.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many historical journals. List of included journals.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project includes over 2200 largely history titles. Largely 1950-1999, some earlier, later. Full text searchable over whole collection. Browsable and searchable by LC Subject Heading. Links to book reviews in JSTOR, Project Muse and History Cooperative. Linked from HOLLIS records.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals. A subset of the journals in PIO are full text searchable PAO Historical Studies Collection
Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on Africa
Library Research Guide for Latin American Studies
Asia
Bibliography of Asian studies (1941- ) covers English-language books (published before 1992 only), essays in books, and periodical articles. No book reviews. In 1956, coverage was extended from East and Southeast Asia to include Central and South Asia and the Philippines. The online version starts in 1971. Issued separately in print (1969-91) and as special number of the Journal of Asian Studies (1966-69) which is available in JSTOR. A cumulated version for 1941-70 is available. For earlier coverage see Bulletin of Far Eastern bibliography (1936-40). Cumulated version (1941-1965, 1966-70; subject and author bibliographies):
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: Ref (W) DS5.A87 1970x
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: Ref (W) D5.A87 1969x
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3910.10
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3910.11
JSTOR Asian Studies offers full content of 16 journals in Asian studies, in some cases JSTOR Asian Studies allows full text searching of articles. List of included journals. Covering as far back as 1843.
Contemporary Women's Issues (1992- ) includes full text of English-language journal articles, newsletters, research reports, pamphlets, newspapers, directories, guides, and fact sheets from scholarly and government/non-profit agency/international organization publications concerned with women's issues in 190 countries.
GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995-)
International bibliography of research in marriage and the family. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press. 2 v.
CONTENTS: v. 1, 1900-1964; v. 2, 1965-1972.
Widener | Soc 5205.4 F (F means it is oversize and at the end of the Soc’s)
Women's Studies International (1972- ) accesses a variey of women's studies databases.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL (1920- ) includes book reviews of literary works as well as literary criticism.