Korea - In English
Proper HOLLIS Subject terms are:
- Ecology -- Korean Demilitarized Zone (Korea)
- Ecosystem management -- Korean Demilitarized Zone (Korea)
Searching within All English-language Works Published in Korea
In HOLLIS Advanced Search do searches of the form:
Keywords anywhere contains: Demilitarized
AND
Code: MARC place of publication: kn OR ko [Code: MARC place of publication is toward the bottom of the search menu]
Limit to English (Items apparently in Korean have some English in them, perhaps a summary)
To find Korean government documents in English:
Author/creator contains: "Korea North" OR Korea South" OR "Republic of Korea"
AND
Code: MARC place of publication: kn OR ko [Code: MARC place of publication is toward the bottom of the search menu]
Limit to English
Archives
Confidential U.S. State Department Special Files, Northeast Asia, 1943-1956 (PDF)
Online Guide
HOLLIS Record
CIA Research Reports, Japan, Korea, and the Security of Asia, 1946-1976 (PDF)
Online Guide
HOLLIS Record
Bibliographies
Korean History: A Bibliography, by Kenneth R. Robinson
Government Documents
DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports searches Dept. of Defense technical reports and other resources.
Newspapers
Periodical Literature
Index to English periodical literature published in Korea, 1945-1966, by Hanʾguk Yŏnʾguwŏn (Seoul, Korea). Seoul: Korean Research Center, 1967. 153 leaves
HOLLIS Record
Korea - In Korean
- Chosun (Chosŏn) Ilbo Archive 조선일보 아카이브 (1920-current) (Harvard KEY required) Provides searchable metadata and full-image reproductions of Chosŏn Ilbo (1920-current) in pdf format. Recent editions also have searchable full text. Access available for Harvard ID holders. Microfilm version with the same coverage is held at Harvard-Yenching library: FK30041
- Donga (Tonga) Ilbo Archive 동아일보아카이브 (1920-current) (Harvard KEY required) Provides searchable metadata and full-image reproductions of Tonga Ilbo (1920-current) in pdf format. Recent editions also have searchable full text. Access available for Harvard ID holders. Microfilm version with the same coverage is held at Harvard-Yenching library: FK30049
- Naver News Library 네이버 뉴스라이브러리 (1920-1999) full-text newspaper article database for four Korean newspapers including Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄉新聞, Tonga ilbo 東亞日報, Hangyŏre 한겨레, and Maeil kyŏngje sinmun 每日經濟新聞, operated by Naver.com. Covers from 1920 through 1999. Browseable by dates and searchable by keywords. Original images, original text with additional display of Han'gul words are available.
- BIG KINDS (Korea Integrated News Database System) 뉴스라이브러리 (1990-current) The most comprehensive full-text archive (1990-current) for Korean news, operated by the Korea Press Foundation. Contents include major, local, internet, and industry newspapers, magazines, and TV reports since 1990. These are fully searchable and available in full-text online. Four major daily newspapers -Kyŏnghyang, Tonga, Sŏul, and Han’guk(1960 to 1989) are provided in pdf format, as are two newspapers dating from the period of Japanese rule -Tongnip sinmun and Taehan maeil sinbo.
- 대한뉴스관 (1953-2003) Taehan News, films, and voice recordings from government documentaries. Coverage begins in the 1950s and extends into the 2003. An integrated search option is available, and try to search with '비무장지대' or '휴전선'
- Inside the DMZ : DMZ 155마일의사진기록 [photo book]In Korean and English
Journals, magazines, and dissertations
- RISS International (KERIS) 한국교육학술정보원 (Harvard KEY required) Expanded services based on RISS. Besides citation searching and the limited free full-text available through RISS, KERIS also provides access to full-text of articles available through KISS and DBpia, Scholar, E-article, New Nonmun as well as providing a "RISS Int'l ILL" request function for other articles, dissertations, and book chapters.
- KISS 한국학술정보 (Harvard KEY required) Database of scholarly journal articles published since 1945 by over 1,200 research institutions in South Korea. Covers humanities, social sciences, and science. Searchable metadata and full image reproductions in PDF format are provided. Previous titles of journals are indicated in parentheses after the current title. It is also possible to search by publisher under the "association" link.
- DBpia 누리미디어 학회지 (Harvard KEY required) Full-text article database of Korean scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and science. Searching is by title, author, keyword and journal title, and articles are provided in PDF format.
- Kyobo Scholar 교보스콜라 (Harvard KEY required) Full-text article database of Korean scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and science, maintained by Kyobo Mun'go. Searching is by title, author, keyword and journal title, and articles are provided in PDF format.
- E-Article (Harvard KEY required) Full-text article database of Korean scholarly journals, maintained by Haksul Kyoyugwŏn.
- New Nonmun 뉴논문 (Harvard KEY required) Full-text article database of Korean scholarly journals, maintained by Hakchisa.
- Moazine 모아진 Database of about 200 Korean e-magazines including Wŏlgan Chosŏn, Sisa chŏnŏl, and Ssine 21, and so forth. This database provides more than a year of magazine back issues; Keyword searching available from full-texts in 700,000 magazine articles.
Government documents, reports, and publications
- 정부 24 : 정책정보 Provides full-texts of news, reports, and e-publications on DMZ (비무장지대) as open access
- Government Publications open access 정부간행물 Includes scanned images of public domain publications published by government and affiliated research institutes. Searchable by titles and dates even from TOC. Scanned images can be saved in PDF or JPG