Welcome

This guide provides a starting point for researchers using United States Census Data in electronic format. Additional census material is located in Research Services in Lamont, Level B. 

 

Get Help

Diane Sredl

Data Reference Librarian, Lamont Library

 

Census 2010

United States Census Bureau

  • Access information about the 2010 Census
  • Use American Fact Finder to generate tables from the 2010 U.S. Census and other Census Bureau surveys.

Social Explorer
Presents current and historical census data for the United States through the use of interactive maps and reports. Currently provides access to data from 1790 to present at census tract, county, state and national level.

Policy Map (TRF)
Fully web-based Geographic Information System. It captures data in visually powerful ways through custom demographic maps, tables, reports and an analysis tool called Analytics. PolicyMap's GIS mapping services can incorporate your own data and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

SimplyMap (Geographic Research, Inc.)
Enables creation of maps and tables for the United States that incorporate data such as population, age, race, income, employment, and education. Harvard subscribes to premium content including Experian Simmons Local for market research data and D&B for business demographics.

Estimates premium 2010 (Geolytics, Inc.)
Provides 2010 U.S. population estimates and 2015 population projections. Datasets for variales in 5 geographies: states, counties, tracts, block groups, and zip code datas. Also includes information about towns (MCDs), cities (Places) and cities including their suburbs (MSAs). Variables include geographic identifiers, summaries, population, households, housing, income, consumer expenditures, profiles, school enrollments, education attainments, family income, poverty, labor and occupation.

Redistricting 2010 (Geolytics, Inc.)
Contains Census 2010 redistricting data.

Summary File 1 2010 (Geolytics, Inc.)
Provides details about the population of the United States and has variables including race, age of head of household, age of children, presence of older relatives, composition of the family, family size, rent vs. own, and more.

Summary File 1 2010 in 2000 Boundaries (Geolytics, Inc.)
Provides details about the population of the United States and has variables including race, age of head of household, age of children, presence of older relatives, composition of the family, family size, rent vs. own, and more.