Chamber Music Research at Harvard

Image: Johann Andreas Amon, Principal viola part, String Quartet op. 18, no. 1. Manuscript, between 1802 and 1825. Merritt Room Mus 613.651.348 (available online)

This guide provides quick access to the Harvard Library resources that will be most helpful for program notes assignments in Music 189r: Chamber Music Performance. Look here for links to encyclopedias and bibliographies, tips on finding scores and recordings, and tools to help you credit your sources and save you time.

Looking for something further? Contact Kerry Masteller for a personalized suggestion.

Video Tutorials

Get some quick tips from these short videos:

Start Your Research

HOLLIS is Harvard's main library catalog: use it to find books, articles, scores, recordings, and more in one search.

  • Pick the Library Catalog dropdown to exclude articles from your search (or use Everything to keep them)
  • Enter keywords like the composer's name and words from the title (or instrumentation)
  • Use opus or thematic catalog numbers if you know them (eg. op. 48, BWV 1001, K. 504)
  • Try adding keywords like criticismanalysis, or interpretation
  • Use filters to limit your results by format, language, library, etc.
  • Sign in to make requests, pin favorites, and see articles visible only to Harvard users

sample HOLLIS search for beethoven "op. 18" criticism, showing search results and filters

Learn more tips in our HOLLIS Help guide.

Bibliographies like these save you time by giving you an annotated list of citations to check.

Once you've found a book or article that interests you in one of these bibliographies, search for it in HOLLIS to find our copy.

Bibliographies like these will help you find scholarship focused on music theory and analysis.

Once you've found a book or article that interests you in one of these bibliographies, search for it in HOLLIS to find our copy.

Loading ...

Find Online Scores and Recordings

Loading ...

Cite Your Sources

Save yourself time and keep your research organized with a citation management program like Zotero:

  • Collect the information you'll need to cite your sources (author, title, publication year, etc.) with one click
  • Quickly create citations and bibliographies in almost any citation style
  • Organize, tag, and annotate your sources

Harvard librarians teach classes in the basics of Zotero and Endnote. Learn more and check the class schedules: Citation and Research Management Tools.

Loading ...