It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clinical Practice: Home
An overview of key sources for clinical practice information from Countway Library
The most trusted textbook in medicine -- featuring the acclaimed Harrison's DVD with 57 additional chapters and exclusive video and tutorials Now presented in TWO VOLUMES As reviwed by JAMA: "With the 18th edition, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine retains its standing as a definitive clinical reference and remains an outstanding foundation for any physician or physician-in-training..."
This trusted annual text offers the most current insight into symptoms, signs, epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. Strong emphasis on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management throughout the broad field of internal medicine Many helpful diagnostic and treatment algorithms and an annual review of advances in HIV treatment Recent references with PMID numbers for easy online access Many full-color photographs and illustrations
Stat!Ref is a web-based platform that aggregates core health sciences books (textbooks, handbooks, drug books, etc.) from leading publishers. It enables you to cross search medical textbooks and resources: also gives access to the full-text of these books through the table of contents. Other content include Stedman's Medial Dictionary and MedCalc, a collection of medical algorithms, risk prediction tools, and other handy clinical calculation tools.
Ideal for cardiologists who need to keep abreast of rapidly changing scientific foundations, clinical research results, and evidence-based medicine, Braunwald's Heart Disease is your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of contemporary cardiology.
Call Number: Countway Medicine WM 145.3 L686n 2004
Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Well-known as the "bible" in its field, this text/reference has been thoroughly revised and updated by a team of internationally recognized and clinically experienced neuropsychologists. Drawing on their diverse interests, they provide authoritative, broad-based, and in-depth coverage of current research and clinical practice in neuropsychology.
The Washington Manual® of Medical Therapeutics offers current information you need delivered in a time-saving, quick-reference style. Its portability, comprehensiveness, and ease of access makes it a favorite on-call resource for housestaff and faculty around the world. With this edition you have online and mobile access to fully searchable text, images and links to pub medicine references so you have access to the content anytime, anywhere.
Areference source for medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, internists, surgical oncologists and others who treat cancer patients, Timely information on biology, immunology, etiology, epidemiology, prevention, screening, pathology, imaging and therapy. Cancer Medicine 8 brings scientific principles into clinical practice. Features hundreds of 4-color illustrations, photographs, tables, graphs and algorithms that make this text an invaluable clinical tool in recognizing characteristic appearances of both patient and tissue. The 137 chapters are organized into 5 sections: I: Cardinal Manifestations of Cancer II: Scientific Foundations of Cancer III: Principles of Cancer Diagnosis IV: Principles of Therapeutic Modalities V: Principles of Multidisciplinary Management
Call Number: Countway Medicine WM 100 K173 2009 [Currently in Reserve]
Publication Date: 2009-06-08
"CTP" has been established as the cornerstone text in the field of psychiatry and mental health. This Ninth Edition provides updated information in neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacotherapy, and other key areas. The book includes case histories, the most current DSM-IV-TR criteria and tables, and up-to-date comparative classification codes from ICD-10. A companion Website will offer the fully searchable text.
Most Popular Databases
These popular databases allow you to search for journal articles by subject
This link will take you to PubMed through the Harvard proxy server. This will allow you easy access to the full text of journals with a Harvard subscription. When you open an article abstract you will see the Find It@Harvard icon on the upper right. Click on this icon and you should either see the full text article or Harvard's print holdings in the HOLLIS catalog.
EMBASE is a European biomedical database. It indexes approximately 1,500 biomedical journals that are not indexed in PubMed. EMBASE excels in indexing drug information.
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing abstracts and citations from 1974 to the present. The records reflect all current developments in biomedical and drug-related fields. The EMBASE journal collection is international in scope, covering subjects including Drug Research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), Basic Biological Research, Health Policy and Management, Public, Occupational and Environmental Health, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science and Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation
PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO® provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PsycINFO indexes and provides abstracts for the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines (psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, etc.) It indexes over 1800 journals in more than 24 languages annually, as well as books, book chapters, dissertations, reports, etc. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
CINAHL provides indexing for close to 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. This database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full text material includes many journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Consists of 4 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane controlled trials register (CCTR); and Cochrane review methodology database (CRMD)
A database designed to help users identify measurement tests used in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science; provides source, abstract, and reviewer(s) when applicable.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavior measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
Point of care quick reference, calculators and decision support tools
Evidence-based reference tool containing summaries for nearly 2000 topics of diseases, disorders, and symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources. Continuously updated. Available for download to smart phone or tablet.
DynaMed is a point-of-care reference resource designed to provide doctors and medical researchers with the best available evidence to support clinical decision-making.