Databases for Journal Articles and Essays
Searching with the Everything option will bring up articles, both academic and non-scholarly. You can limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles, and refine them further by language, publication date, subject, etc.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Use the "Try Harvard Library" links for access to full text of articles.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography of articles and books on Latin America, selected and annotated by scholars, and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Using the Expert Search, enter keywords for the title, the subject, and/or the annotation (abstract). "Find It" links don't work; instead, copy and paste article titles into a HOLLIS search.
This database provides abstracts for scholarly articles from nearly 2,000 historical journals, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Many articles are available in full text.
Social Science Premium Collection
Scholarly articles from the disciplines of economics, sociology, political science, and history.
Women's Studies International
Includes articles on women's participation in resistance movements in Latin America.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
This database searches more than 345 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day. If you're looking for criticism of a particular film, use the film's title as a search term and limit to "Production Title."
Film and Television Literature Index
This database covers journals and magazines for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. To find articles about a particular film or show, type the title and limit your search to "SU Subject Terms."
MLA International Bibliography
This is the standard comprehensive database of scholarly articles on literature, as well as dissertations, essays, and conference papers.
Journal Articles on the Visual Arts: Art Full Text
(Other databases of art criticism: ARTBibliographies Modern; International Bibliography of Art; Bibliography of the History of Art, 1975-2007)