Finding Periodical Articles on Film
Film index international, 1930- .
Lists articles on films, including documentary films, short subjects, and made-for-TV movies, as well as feature films. Includes information on over 90,000 films.
Other Film Indexes
Art Full Text, 1984- .
Indexes periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins publications in European languages.
For earlier indexing:
Art index retrospective, 1929- 1984.
Artbibliographies modern, 1974- .
LOCATION: Fine Arts: Reading Room RFA 110.51 (1969- )
The critical index; a bibliography of articles on film in English, 1946-1973, arranged by name and topics.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM PN1993.7.Z99 G4x
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2971. 17
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository PN1992.5.Z99 G47x
Covers 22 American, British, and Canadian film, and 60 general, periodicals.
Film & Television Literature Index, 1914- ; mainly 1980- ) international coverage on all aspects of television and film.
FIAF International FilmArchive Database, 1972- .
- Directory of film/TV documentation collections
- Bibliography of Latin American cinema
- Electronic version of:
- International index to film periodicals
- International index to television periodicals
The Film index: a bibliography.
LOCATION: Baker Business: Z5784.M9 W75 Non-circulating. Library has: v. 2 .
LOCATION: Fine Arts: RFA1805.28
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2971. 12 Library has: v. 1-3
Covers English-language publications, including fan and trade magazines but not newspaper articles, through 1935, with a few later entries. Arranged by subject.
Film literature index: A quarterly author-subject index to the international periodical literature of film and television/video, 1973- .
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2971.15 Latest 10 years; WID-LC PN1993.F57x earlier
Indexes about 300 English-language film and general periodicals. Excludes fan magazines and technical journals. Major coverage of television dates from 1977, of video from 1986. Online version: Film Literature Index (1976-2001) cumulates 25 years - for earlier and later dates see print version.
Film review annual, 1981- .
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2971.15.10
Reprints film reviews of full-length American films and lists reviews not included.
Film review index. 2 v.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM PN1995.Z99 F54 1986x
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2971. 15.5
Lists criticism of significant films from 1882-1985. Citations drawn from English-language general, trade, and scholarly periodicals, newspapers, and books.
Filmmakers in the Moving Picture World: an Index of Articles, 1907-1927.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC PN1995.z99 D342 1997x
Indexes the periodical, Moving Picture World. Aranged by persons: actors, directors, publicity, costume designers, screenwriters etc.
French XX bibliography, v. 5- . 1969- .
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3162.13 Latest 5 years WID-LC PQ305.F7x Earlier
List of books and periodical articles arranged in two parts: topically and under subject authors. Has section on Cinema.
Continues: French VII bibliography; critical and biographical references for the study of contemporary French literature. v. -4 (no. 6-20); 1953-68.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC PQ305.Z99 F73x
A guide to critical reviews. 3rd ed. Pt. 4. The Screenplay, 1927-1963 & supplement, 1963-80.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2952. 13
Index to critical film reviews in British and American film periodicals, together with: Index to critical reviews of books about film.
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM PN1995.Z99 B6x Library has: 3 v. in 2
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2971. 2.5
Indexes, sometimes incompletely, 31 American and British film journals. Coverage ends in 1971; few of the periodicals indexed were published prior to 1950, some back to 1939.
Index to motion pictures reviewed by Variety, 1907-1980. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1982.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC PN1995.A39 1982
An index to short and feature film reviews in the Moving picture world : the early years, 1907-1915.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC PN1995.Z99 D34 1995x
International Index to the Performing Arts (46 periodicals indexed 1864-1997; 155 periodicals indexed 1998- ).
Some abstracts. Indexes the New York Times and the Washington Post.
Magill's survey of cinema.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC PN1993.45.M3
- English language films, first series.
- English language films, second series.
- Foreign language films.
- Silent films.
Media review digest, 1973- .
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Ref Index LB 1043.Z9.M4
Covers films, filmstrips, videotapes, educational and spoken-word records and tapes, slides, charts, and other audiovisual media.
The new film index; a bibliography of magazine articles in English, 1930-1970.
LOCATION: Fine Arts: Reading Room RFA1805.53
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM PN1993.7.Z99 M29 x
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2971. 12.10
Covers film and general periodicals. Arranged by subject.
ProQuest - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880–2000) covers film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre.
Readers' guide to periodical literature, 1900- .
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Ref Index AI3.R48 (1925-90)
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM AI 3.R48 (1900-2004)
LOCATION: Law School: Lang Ref Index AI 3.R48 Library has: Latest 10 years.
Film reviews were listed under "Moving picture plays-Criticisms, plots, etc." until 1973, then under "Motion pictures-Reviews".
Electronic version: Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Retrospective index to film periodicals, 1930-1971.
LOCATION: Fine Arts: Reading Room RFA1809.6
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Z5784.M9 B39
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM PN1993.45.Z92 x
LOCATION: Widener: RR 2971. 20
Covers articles and reviews in 14 English-language film periodicals and the Village Voice.
To find bibliographies of books and articles in the HOLLIS Catalog, in Expanded Search do a variety of keyword searches (Keywords Anywhere) plus the standard term "bibliography" (Subject words). Notice the Subjects on pertinent records for terms for additional searches. Example: <Motion Pictures> and <bibliography>, <Musical films> and <bibliography>.
Wulff, Hans Jurgen. Bibliographie der Filmbibliographien. 1987.
LOCATION: Fine Arts: Reading Room RFA1805.96.1
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC PN1994.Z99 W85 1987x
Bibliographies (Media Resources Center, UC Berkeley)
Finding Film Reviews and Critical Analysis (Media Resources Center, UC Berkeley)
Internet Movie Database
--Includes Newsgroup reviews
The New York times film reviews, 1913/68- .
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Ref PN 1995.N4
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM PN1995.N4
LOCATION: Widener: Thr 179.70.10F
Variety film reviews, 1907-1980.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC PN1995.V34 1983 F Library has: 16 v.