General Library Resources
Course Reserves Information for Faculty and Instructors
Copyright First Responders can answer many copyright questions
FAS Library Liaisons: connect with the librarian for your department, center, or program to navigate Harvard Library's resources
First Year Fundamentals: Offered by Librarians, this is a program to address common academic research questions experienced by First Year Students to get an edge academic study skills.
Customized Guide for Freshman Seminars
Would you like a custom-tailored online research guide developed especially for your seminar? Librarians in the Harvard Library can create such a guide, working from your syllabus. Here are a few sample guides to consider:
Freshman Seminar 61c, Spanish-American Culture and Society in the 1960s – The Last Utopia?, Professor Diana Sorensen
Freshman Seminar 40e, Law and Society through the Cinematic Frame, Professor Ofrit Liviatan
Freshman Seminar 24n: Child Health in America, the Library Guide, Professors Judy and Sean Palfrey
Freshman Seminar 30g: Digging Up the Past: Harvard and Egyptian Archeology, the Archives and Library Research Guide, Professor Peter der Manuelian
If you would like a guide developed for your seminar, please contact Freshman Seminar Librarian.
Chicago Manual of Style: the fully searchable online version of the 16th and 15th editions
Journals Search: the fast way to find full-text e-journal articles from printed citations
Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard: citation and research management tools to help you organize your research and keep track of your references
Harvard Library: the web gateway to most of Harvard's electronic resources (journals, indexes, online databases)
Basic Library Information
Information about libraries, collections, and services in the Harvard Library, including:
- Library Hours
- HOLLIS: a discovery catalog that lets you search for books and articles at the same time
- Get It services: Scan & Deliver, Borrow Direct, and Interlibrary Loan
- Making Library Purchase Recommendations
- Research Guides for subjects and courses
Course Sites, Media Resources, Media Services, and Data
Canvas Course Websites for FAS Courses: get help with your course site from the Academic Technology group
FAS Instructional Media Services: Media & Technology Services / Media Production Center: get help with
- Classroom Support: Outline of supported classroom technologies
- Event Support: Description of full-service support provided by Media & Technology Services
- Equipment Rental: Portable equipment available to rent through Media & Technology Services
- Media Production Center: Creating custom audio, video, and multimedia productions
- Videoconferencing: Conference with people in remote locations via simultaneous, two-way multimedia communication
Multimedia Resources and Computers and Data & Government Information Collections offer help with:
Really Good Study Spaces... and More!
Lamont Library has, during the academic year, a student operated and run cafe with late-night service and access, during off-hours, to a self-serve espresso machine and vending. Lamont's hours during the academic year are the longest of any library in the Yard.
Cabot Science Library reopened after a major renovation, and it now has "diner-style study booths, flat-screen TVs, multiple social collaboration spaces, and a new “Discovery Bar” with the traditional stacks of books familiar in any library setting" [from the Harvard Gazette]. One of the best new features: the many reservable study rooms (using Roombook — an online reservation system).
Widener Library, the largest library at Harvard, has a Collaborative Learning Space in Widener Room 240. It is open to library users for group and individual study when not reserved for library instruction.
Use the Find a Space app to locate spaces in the Harvard Library with particular types of study space, equipment, and even the availability of food & drink!
E-Resources Useful to Nearly Every Seminar
CQ Researcher: weekly in-depth reports covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects, written by experienced journalists and produced by Congressional Quarterly
Google Scholar: scholarly material in Google; use this particular link to be recognized as a Harvard affiliate
Web of Science: actually a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences, humanities, and the arts
- Ask a LibrarianGet personalized help! Search Harvard Library FAQs, chat with a librarian, e-mail your question, or request a research appointment.