Gov 63: Topics and Resources in Political Theory

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work with essays written and maintained by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished editorial board before they are made public.

Oxford Bibliographies Online offers peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies on topics in disciplines including Philosophy and Political Science.

Cambridge Companions to Philosphy, Religion and Culture is part of a series from Cambridge University Press, offering introductions to major writers, artists, and philosophers, as well as special topics and periods. The collections are cross-searchable and updated as new editions are made available.

Multidisciplinary

HOLLIS is a tool that allows you to search books, article and other materials in the Harvard collection.

Social Science Premium enables you to search across databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, and education.

Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. It also allows you to find who has cited an article since its publication.

Philosophy, History & Politics

Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars.

PhilPapers (Philosophical Research Online) is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. It offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

WorldWide Political Science Abstracts indexes the journal literature in political science and its related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy.

HeinOnline is a digital collection of primary and secondary materials relating to law organized into several modules.

America: History & Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

Area Studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies covers articles on all subjects related to East, Southeast, and South Asia from 1971 to the present (primarily in the humanities and social sciences). The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies are included.

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) is an index to research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.

At Harvard

If you're looking for books on a topic, use the default search in HOLLIS, which is a keyword search:

• pacifism
  • Note the options on the right hand side of the screen.  These will allow you to refine your searches by author, language, subject, etc.
• Subjects can be used to refine your searches to the most relevant material.
  • Just war doctrine
  • Deliberative democracy
  • War -- Moral and ethical aspects

If you find an item that you think the Harvard Library should own, please submit a Collections Purchase Request.

• Check Harvard Library Bookmark - Search for full-text access.
• Research Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect and to organize your sources and to create bibliographies quickly. Harvard Guide to Using Sources provides information about using and citing sources in your academic work.
• Ask a Librarian is our virtual reference service.