Context and Background
Oxford Bibliographies Online provides scholarly annotated bibliographies leading you to key sources on topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Annual Reviews offer comprehensive collections of critical reviews by leading scholars.
Research Handbooks and Companions offer introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship on a subject. The articles included review key issues and major debates in a field of study.
Government & Law
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - a database covering the journal literature in all areas of political science.
- HeinOnline - a digital collection of primary and secondary law and government materials. Primary sources include U.S. Congressional publications and U.S. Supreme Court documents. Secondary sources include large collections of law reviews and law journals, U.S. and foreign.
History & Philosophy
- Historical Abstracts - key database for material on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. U.S. and Canadian history are covered in the companion database, America: History and Life.
- PhilPapers: Philosophical research online
- Bibliography of Asian Studies - resource covering all subjects related to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index - a resource for scholarly articles published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.
- Africa-wide Information: NiPAD - a collection of databases covering all subjects in African studies.
- ABSEES: American bibliography of Slavic and East-European Studies Online.
- Web of Science - a database enabling you to search across disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
- Once you have done a search, limit to "reviews" to find literature reviews on your topic.
- Use this resource to find how many times an article has been cited since publication.
Helpful Services & Tools
- Research Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect and to organize your sources and to create bibliographies quickly. You can sign up for a workshop in Zotero or EndNote on this page.
- Check Harvard Library Bookmark gets you to online material to which Harvard subscribed.
- Ask a Librarian is our virtual reference service.
- Scan & Deliver is a free electronic document delivery service for Harvard students, faculty and staff.