Welcome
This guide provides information on the Le Corbusier Research Collection in the Frances Loeb Library's Special Collections, how to find and access items in the collection, and a Le Corbusier bibliography.
About the Le Corbusier Research Collection
The Le Corbusier Research Collection is a curated collection of printed materials by and about the Swiss-French architect Le Corbusier (1887-1965), from first editions to current-day publications. The collection was established when the Frances Loeb Library was dedicated in 1972. The first volume in the collection was Le poème de l’angle droit, a gift from the Fondation Le Corbusier to former Dean Josep Lluis Sert who wanted “a corner in the library” dedicated to his friend and colleague. Special Collections also includes original items by Le Corbusier in our archival collections, a group of paintings and drawings in various media, two tapestries, and an unpublished sketchbook. The collection of publications is a browsing collection and does not require advance requests of items, but researchers can make requests in HOLLIS. The collection can only be accessed in the reading room.
About Le Corbusier
|
Le Corbusier (born Charles-Édouard Jeanneret-Gris, 1887–1965) was a Swiss-French architect, urban planner, painter, designer, and writer. He is widely regarded as one of the most influential figures in modern architecture. His work and ideas helped shape the development of architecture and urban planning in the 20th century. To explore Le Corbusier's archives, please visit Fondation Le Corbusier. |
|