Visit the GSD Materials Collection
Register (one time)
All users of any collection in Special Collections must create an account in HOLLIS Special Request; this includes users of the GSD Materials Collection. In addition, a Harvard ID or government issued ID must be presented to staff at each visit. Save time upon your first visit to the Materials Collection by creating your HOLLIS Special Request account prior to arrival.
Make an Appointment (each time)
Book your appointment.
Special Collections Hours
Monday - Friday, 10:30 AM to 4:00 PM, appointments accepted.
For holidays and other closures, please expand “Show Detailed Hours” on the Frances Loeb Library’s hours page.
Materials Samples Circulate!
1-week loan for GSD students and faculty. Materials do not circulate during Design Discovery.
Samples are for reference use only. No testing or damage to samples is permitted.
Discover the GSD Materials Collection
- Material Order SEARCHMaterial Order SEARCH is the collaborative online materials catalog that currently searches the materials collections of the Harvard Graduate School of Design, Rhode Island School of Design (RISD), and Columbia University GSAPP Preservation Technology Lab (Avery Library).
- Material Order SEARCH [GSD Materials Collection]Limit search to the GSD Materials Collection.
Learn about the GSD Materials Collection
- GSD Materials Collection PrimerThe primer serves as an introduction for students investigating material topics in design and describes the organizational structure of the Materials Collection at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD). Basic material terms and definitions provide a point of departure for students seeking more advanced resources.
Key E-Resources
- Granta EduPack (HarvardKey Required)Licensed by the Frances Loeb Library, Granta EduPack, formerly CES EduPack, provides a comprehensive database of materials and process information, powerful materials software tools, and a range of supporting resources: textbooks, lectures, projects, and exercises. It is an application that requires installation on a researcher's personal computer. Installation instructions provided via resource link.