Presents FBI documentation of James Meredith’s battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Includes Meredith's correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
Digital edition of approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of nearly 300 Black abolitionists in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany, first issued on microfilm. Includes correspondence, speeches, sermons, and lectures; articles, essays, editorials, and other major writings from abolitionist and reform newspapers; and receipts, poems, and other miscellaneous documents.
Fully indexed, full-text database of monographs, essays, articles, speeches and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the early 19th century to 1975. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass, and will include works by W.E.B. DuBois, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Malcolm X, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others. Approximately 20% of the collection has not been previously published.
This digital archive of the NAACP Papers consists of six sections: the Minutes of the Board of Directors Meetings, 1909-1950; Monthly Reports of NAACP Officers, 1918-1950; Annual Conference Proceedings, 1910-1950; Proceedings of the Annual Business Meetings, 1912-1950; and Special Correspondence, 1910-1939.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007 is a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today."
