Essential Tools and Services

Course readings are on the course website at canvas.harvard.edu.  Select "Library Reserves" to view library-provided content. Course Readings tutorial (28 sec).

Note:  Some publishers limit concurrent users, so plan ahead.

HOLLIS is Harvard’s library catalog.  Sign in to see licensed digital content, delivery options, and to access your account. Hollis tutorial (1 min).

Our most important religion databases don't share information with HOLLIS.   Use Religion Databases Cross-Search to complement your HOLLIS results. Religion Databases Cross-Search tutorial (1:24 min).

Religion Databases Cross- Search searches prominent religion databases covering thousands of scholarly publications -- Academic Search Premier, ATLA Religion Database, Bibliography of Asian Studies, Christian Periodical Index, Index to Jewish Periodicals, Index Islamicus, New Testament Abstracts, Old Testament Abstracts, and Philosopher's Index.

Additional specialized databases can be accessed from the library’s website. We curate a list of  key databases that align with the HDS curriculum.  These selections are a subset of all Harvard Library databases.

When you find an article that costs money, use the Lean Library browser extension or our Bookmarklet  to access the Harvard Library subscription.  More information.

Can't get to the library to pick something up?  Scan and Deliver is a free electronic document delivery service for the Harvard community. Submit a request and we'll scan a journal article or book chapter and deliver it to you via email. Scan and Deliver tutorial (54 sec).

Zotero is a citation management software that allows you to manage your research materials, create bibliographies, format citations, take notes, and collaborate with others.

To get the most out of Zotero, use the Zotero: Getting Started guide. It will walk you through installation and configuring the tool to work with Harvard Library resources.

Get to know the Research Librarians at Harvard Divinity School Library— Gloria and Rebecca. 

We can help you locate information, develop a research strategy, find sources on any topic, and work on any research-related question, problem, or skill.  

No library problem is too small.  We are here for you!  Ask Us.