Library Research Guide for E-HIST 1636: Introduction to Harvard History

See the first, second, and third H Book of Harvard Athletics at the bottom of the Harvard sports-related publications and websites box. 

Harvard History: A Selected Bibliography

Bailyn, Bernard et al. Glimpses of the Harvard past. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1986, 149 p. 
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive full text --  Copy 1  --  Copy 2  --  Copy 3  --  Copy 4

Batchelder, Samuel Francis. Bits of Harvard History. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1924.  Another copy

Bentinck-Smith, William, ed. The Harvard Book: Selections from Three Centuries, Revised Edition. Revised edition. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 1982. Internet Archive access (1953 edition) (Register with Internet Archive)

Bethell, John T. Harvard Observed: An Illustrated History of the University in the Twentieth Century. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1998. (Register with Internet Archive)

Bethell, John T., Richard M. Hunt, and Robert Shenton. Harvard A to Z. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2004. Internet Archive access.

Bissell, Richard. You Can Always Tell a Harvard Man. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1962. (Register with Internet Archive)

Bunting, Bainbridge. Harvard: an architectural history. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1985. -- Information on planning and construction of the stadium, with footnotes. Internet Archive access

A century to celebrate : Radcliffe College, 1879-1979, by Dorothy Elia Howells. Cambridge, Mass. : Radcliffe College, 1978, 152 p.
HOLLIS Record   ---   Online Version

Gershon, Livia. “How Harvard Became Harvard.” JSTOR Daily, April 11, 2016.

Keller, Morton, and Phyllis Keller. Making Harvard Modern: The Rise of America’s University. Updated. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.

Holden, Harley P. “Student Records: The Harvard Experience.” The American Archivist 39, no. 4 (1976): 461–67.

Moran, Susan Drinker. “Thomas Shepard and the Professor: Two Documents from the Early History of Harvard.” Early American Literature 17, no. 1 (1982): 24–42.

Morison, Samuel Eliot. Harvard College in the Seventeenth Century. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1936. Part I and Part II.

———. The Founding of Harvard College. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1935.  (Register with Internet Archive)

———. Three Centuries of Harvard, 1636-1936. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1964.  Another copy  (Register with Internet Archive)  

The Development of Harvard University since the inauguration of President Eliot, 1869-1929, edited by Samuel Eliot Morison.  Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1930.
--Chapters on the history of Harvard departments. In the online version hit Contents to see the full text.

Peabody, Andrew Preston. “HARVARD IN THOREAU’S DAY.” The Thoreau Society Bulletin, no. 174 (1986): 1–5.

Peirce, Benjamin, ed. “Peirce’s History of Harvard University.” The North American Review 38, no. 83 (1834): 381–404.

Quincy, Josiah. The history of Harvard University,  Boston: Crosby, Nichols, Lee & Co., 1860. 2 v. 
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust full text

Schlesinger, Andrew. Veritas: Harvard College and the American Experience. Chicago: Ivan R. Dee, 2007. (Register with Internet Archive)

Smith, Richard Norton. The Harvard Century: The Making of a University to a Nation. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1986. (Register with Internet Archive) Another copy.

Sollors, Werner, Caldwell Titcomb, and Thomas A. Underwood. Blacks at Harvard: A Documentary History of African-American Experience at Harvard and Radcliffe. New York: University Press, 1993.

Story, Ronald. The Forging of an Aristocracy: Harvard & the Boston Upper Class, 1800-1870. 1st ed. Middletown, Conn. : Irvington, N.Y.: Wesleyan University Press ; distributed by Columbia University Press, 1980. (Register with Internet Archive)

Urbanus, Jason. “Harvard Reconnects with Its Native American Past.” Archaeology 61, no. 2 (2008): 33–35.

Wilder, Craig Steven. Ebony and Ivy: Race, Slavery, and the Troubled History of America’s Universities. New York: Bloomsbury Press, 2013.