- American Presidents - Life PortraitsC-Span television series chronicling the lives of presidents from Washington to Clinton.
- The PresidentsBrief biographies from the White House.
Performance Opinion & Analysis
- Presidential Performance Data (Harvard Login)Users can view indicators, both across time and by president, to explore the role the executive plays in the U.S. federal system. While some data dates back to George Washington, the focus is on the second half of the 20th century to the present.
- Confidence in the U.S. PresidentOpinion poll results by country from the Pew Research Center's Global Indicators Database. Covers 2003-present.
- Presidential ApprovalArticles and reports on presidents' approval ratings from the Pew Research Center.
- Presidential Job Approval CenterPresidential job approval ratings dating back to Harry S. Truman, according to the Gallup Poll.
To download the underlying data, go to Gallup Analytics (Harvard Login).
Papers & Documents
- The American Presidency ProjectCollection of documents related to the presidency including inaugural address, executive orders, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
- Search Presidential Libraries WebsitesSearch collections by president and/or keyword.
- Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive OrdersThis site from the National Archives is an online version of the out-of-print Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders. It covers documents from April 13, 1945 to January 20, 1989.
- HeinOnline U.S. Presidential Library (Harvard Login)This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents related to U.S. Presidents.
- Presidential VetoesFrom the U.S. Senate Library, Presidential vetoes from 1789 to the present are listed with accompanying historical context.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesThe papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary. Volumes prior to 1991 are made available through GPO’s digitization efforts and are viewable at the volume-level, rather than individual statements, remarks, part, appendices, and photograph level.
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsOfficial publication of presidential statements, messages and remarks, as released by the White House Press Secretary. Electronic access begins in 1993.
Speeches & Transcripts
- American President Speech ArchiveTranscripts as well as audio and/or video files.
- Presidential RhetoricTranscripts and video of a variety of presidential speeches. Includes links to other resources.
- The American Presidency Project Media ArchiveAudio and video files of speeches from Presidents Hoover to Trump
- The American Presidency Project: Inaugural AddressesText of all inaugural addresses. If video is available there is a link to YouTube on the right.
- Vital Speeches of the DayMonthly publication of text of speeches on wide range of political topics.
- Presidential Recordings Digital EditionOnline portal for annotated transcripts of Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes published by the Presidential Recordings Program (PRP).
Search Websites about the American Presidency
Search the content of all free websites listed in this research guide. Content in Harvard subscription databases is not included.