Home
Grantors
- GuideStar Pro (Harvard Login)Database maintained by Candid. (formerly Foundation Center & GuideStar). Information about the missions, programs, and finances of more than 1.7 million IRS-recognized organizations, including public charities and private foundations. From 1998 to present. Register to download results.
- Foundation Directory Online (Harvard Login)Another Candid (formerly Foundation Center and Guidestar) product. Comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Includes a database of over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.
- Inside Philanthropy (HKS Login)In depth reporting and research tool on how foundations and major donors are giving away their money, and their motivations for making grants. HKS Affiliates only. Contact HKS Library for access information
* This resource is currently inactive while renewal is negotiated with the publisher. - Charity NavigatorLargest and most-utilized evaluator of charities. Rating system examines each charity's financial health, accountability & transparency and results reporting.
Grants
- Grants.govThis site helps organizations to electronically find and apply for competitive grant opportunities from all Federal grant-making agencies
- Harvard Office for Sponsored ResearchList of external sources of funding. Includes federal, non-federal and private sources of funding.
- Pivot (Harvard Login)Largest database of funding. Search federal and private funding opportunities in all fields. Updates daily.
- SPIN (Harvard Login)Lists grants available from government and non-profit organizations.
Organizations
- Candid (formerly the Foundation Center & GuideStar)A gateway to philanthropy and grant seeking on the Internet. Also includes IRS 990 tax forms for many foundations.
- IssueLabA project of Candid, the IssueLab provides free access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs.
- Urban Institute, Center on Nonprofits and PhilanthropyConducts and disseminates research on the role and impact of nonprofit organizations and philanthropy. Site includes reports, studies and access to charitable giving statistics.
- National Center for Charitable StatisticsNational repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States
Staff Directories
- Gale Directory Library (Harvard Login)Includes Encyclopedia of Associations and National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations
- Leadership Connect (Harvard Login)Includes nonprofit organization directory with contact information for senior staff members including board members, directors and other staff in key management roles at foundations.
Articles & Working Papers
Individual Journals
This is a short list of popular nonprofit sector journals. However, you should use a Harvard database to find a more comprehensive coverage of articles across a variety of journals.
- Chronicle of Philanthropy (Harvard Login)Important journal on non-profit giving and philanthropy. Full-text is provided from 1998 to the present.
- Leader to LeaderFocus on non-profit leadership and management. Published four times a year.
- Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly (Harvard Login)Full-text is provided from 1972 to the present
- Nonprofit Management & Leadership (Harvard Login)Journal sponsored by: the Mandel Center for Nonprofit Organizations, Case Western Reserve University, and the Centre for Voluntary Organisation, the London School of Economics and Political Science,
- Nonprofit Policy ForumOpen Access journal international journal that publishes original research and analysis on public policy issues and the public policy process critical to the work of nonprofit organizations.
- Nonprofit World (Harvard Login)Periodical published four times a year. Not peer reviewed. Articles written for and by practitioners in nonprofit management.
- Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations (Harvard Login)The journal of the International Society for Third-Sector Research. Full-text is provided from 1997 to the present
Non-Profit (Business) Literature Databases
Business literature databases may include articles on how to create, lead and manage non-profit organizations.
- Business Source Complete (Harvard Login)Locate citations, abstracts and full text articles from business academic journals, magazines,and trade publications.
- Business Premium Collection (Harvard Login)Articles from over 1000 academic management, marketing, and general business journals.
- Factiva (Harvard Login)Contains content from more than 200 countries. Material is drawn from newspapers, news sites, newswires, TV and radio transcripts.
Social Science Literature Databases
- Academic Search Premier (Harvard Login)Large, interdisciplinary database that includes citations, abstracts and full text articles.
- Proquest Social Science Premium Collection (Harvard Login)Academic articles in social science disciplines including politics, public policy, economics and international relations.
Books
HOLLIS Search Strategy
HOLLIS is the library catalog for Harvard University. It contains records for millions of books, journals, government documents, data files, and more.
Rather then searching by keyword, a more precise way to search for items owned by Harvard Libraries is to conduct an advanced search in HOLLIS. You can conduct a subject search to find books on similar topics. Below are some popular searche for nonprofit sector topics on specific topics.
Nonprofit organizations Finance
Selected Books
Engine of Impact: Essentials of Strategic Leadership in the Nonprofit Sector by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0804796432Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Practical Program Evaluation by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119171386Publication Date: 2015
Integrating Mission and Strategy for Nonprofit Organizations by Call Number: HKS HD62.6 .P47 2005 & ONLINEISBN: 0195171284Publication Date: 2005This book applies and adapts the core body of general management knowledge about mission, strategy, and execution to help nonprofit leaders deal with the special challenges they face.
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780470392508Publication Date: 2016
The Nonprofit Sector: A Research Handbook (3rd Ed) by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1503608042Publication Date: 2020
The Oxford Handbook of International Organizations by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780199672202Publication Date: 2017
The Palgrave Handbook of Global Philanthropy by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1137-34151-8Publication Date: 2015
Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search
Search using Google conventions (i.e. putting quotation marks around phrases).
Inclusion Policy
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
Other Lists
- Policy File Index (Harvard Login)Abstracts of and links to domestic and international public policy issue published by think tanks, university research programs, & research organizations.
- Policy Commons: Global Think TanksCollection of research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. At last count it contains over 3 million publications from more than 24,000 organizations.
- Open Research Reports from JSTORMore than 39,000 research reports from over 140 policy institutes around the world are freely accessible to everyone on JSTOR. The open research reports are discoverable alongside journals, books, and primary sources, and are clearly labeled as their own content type.
- Find PolicyA side project of Transparify, search think tank sites grouped by topic and location.
- Open Think Tank DirectoryA global collection of 2700 think tanks and related organisations.
- Think Tank Review
Repository of think tank publications on EU affairs from the Library of the General Secretariat of the Council of the EU.