Houghton Library: A Student's Guide

Full-text database of newspapers published in the United States. Includes titles from all 50 present states, in various, separately searchable, series: Early American Newspapers Series 1-10, 1690-1922; 20th-Century American Newspapers Series 1-3, 1690-1993; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971 and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. OCR-generated ASCII text is associated with each page image. Searchable by key word; searches may be limited by date, era, article type, language, place of publication, and newspaper title.

This resource is based on the microform collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides issued in America from 1639 to 1800, recorded in Charles Evans' American Bibliography and Roger P. Bristol's Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography, which includes material on virtually every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. The database provides for simple and advanced searching, and for browsing by a variety of subject terms, genre, author, and printer/publisher. Searchable, OCR-generated ASCII text is associated with each page image.

STC I

Early European Books

Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Collection of rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Part I contains material from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Part II contains material from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin. Part III includes newspapers and periodicals published 1680-1816,from the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and Cambridge University Library. Part IV includes newspapers and periodicals published between 1708-1820, from Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds. Please add the following to the listing that is already in E-research. Part V. The Lady's magazine (1770-1832) and other relevant titles.

This database contains nearly a million descriptions of archival and manuscript collections, divided between brief catalog descriptions (from the RLG Union Catalog, a Eureka database) and collection guides (detailed lists describing the content of collections, often referred to as finding aids or inventories) linked from the web sites of the individual repositories. Records for many Harvard archives and manuscripts plus over 2100 Harvard collection guides are included. A search for archives and manuscripts should include ArchivesUSA and WorldCat (both Harvard Libraries E-Resources) as well as ArchiveGrid.

The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. It bridges the gap between a diverse user community and the limited resources of libraries by means of sample imaging and extensive rather than intensive cataloguing.

Europeana is a web portal to the digital resources of Europe’s cultural and scientific heritage found in its museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.

The HathiTrust Digital Library is a shared repository of works digitized by more than 50 research library members. The catalog provides information about more than 5 million books and journals and is growing daily. More than 2.5 million titles are in the public domain so may be viewed in full text.