United Nations
UN Data Access System/United Nations
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Topics included are agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, industry, national accounts, population, trade and tourism.
Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
Complete contents of the most recent issue of the Statistical Yearbook in both database and book format.
FAOSTAT (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) (HOLLIS E-Resource)
On-line and multilingual database containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the areas of Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, Fertilizers and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agriculture Machinery and Agriculture Production. Chronological coverage extends from 1961 to the present and offers some projections.
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
The UNDP produces many data related reports and some are available on the website including the Human Development Reports and Democratic Dialogues in Latin America and the Caribbean. Other UNDP publications available throughout the Harvard library system include the Arab Human Development Report and the China Human Development Report. To find more UNDP publications, search HOLLIS.
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
Provides access to major publications including Foreign Investment in Latin America and the Caribbean, Latin America and the Caribbean in the World Economy and Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
While UNCTAD mainly focuses on trade and development, they also provide a wealth of information relating to country finance, technology, investment and sustainable development. There are many UNCTAD databases available throughout the Harvard library system (in CD-ROM format), as well as on the UNCTAD website.
Millenium Indicators Database
Provides data relating to the eight goals developed by the United Nations Secretariat and IMF, OECD and the World Bank to combat universal problems (hunger, education, gender inequality, child mortality, maternal health, environmental sustainability, AIDS/HIV and other diseases, and partnerships for development). There are over 40 variables available with most data ranging from 1990-present.
National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
National accounts data for over 200 countries from 1970-present. Over 20 national accounts variables with data available in %, US dollars and national currency. Downloadable to .csv format that can be opened with MS Excel.