Finding Secondary Sources
Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Online are literature guides in several humanities and social sciences areas, including African American Studies and Criminology. A search on Incarceration as an Article title yields 21 bibliographies in African American Studies, Criminology, Political Science and Sociology.
Periodical Indexes
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975- ) is an index of books, book chapters, and journal articles. Some social sciences material is included. More information on this complex database.
PubMed (1947- ) is the National Library of Medicine's index to biomedical journal articles.
--Be sure to look at the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) where available in item records. "Indexed for Medline" will appear well below the abstract in these cases.
America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews.
Race Relations Abstracts 1(975-Present)
Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. More information.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many historical journals. List of included journals.
Periodicals Index Online indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Includes 218 journals in American history and 840 journals in world history. Also numerous journals in related subjects. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals.