Library Research Guide for History 60o: American Indian History in Four Acts.

“Dakota Indians Wars, 1862-1865” AND (“Personal narratives” OR diaries OR correspondence OR sources)

The United States Army and the Indian wars in the trans-Mississippi West, 1860-1898, by Bruce Reber, with additional assistance from Louise Arnold, and Richard Sommers. Carlisle Barracks, Pa. : US Army Military History Institute, [1978] viii, 186 p.
HOLLIS Record with online access

The late 19th century U.S. Army, 1865-1898 : a research guide, by Joseph G. Dawson III. NY: Greenwood Press, 1990, 252 p.
HOLLIS Record

A bibliographical guide to the history of Indian-white relations in the United States, by Francis Paul Prucha. Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press, 1977, 454 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive full text

Supplement:
Indian-white relations in the United States : a bibliography of works published 1975-1980, by Francis Paul Prucha. Lincoln, Neb. : University of Nebraska Press, c1982, 179 p.
HOLLIS Record

Encyclopedia of American Indian wars, 1492-1890, by Jerry Keenan. Santa Barbara, ABC-CLIO, 1997, 278 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive full text

The War Department and Indian affairs, 1800-1824 offers documents from the U.S. National Archives

Eyewitnesses to the Indian Wars, 1865-1890 / edited by Peter Cozzens. Mechanicsburg, PA : Stackpole Books, 2001-2005. 5 v.
HOLLIS Record
--Vol. 1. The struggle for Apacheria -- v. 2. The wars for the Pacific Northwest -- v. 3. Conquering the southern plains -- v. 4. The long war for the northern plains -- v. 5. The Army and the Indian.