Contact the research librarians
Gutman librarians are available to answer your questions Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm EST.
Email: Use our Ask Us form
Drop in at the Library Services Desk on Gutman's 2nd floor: Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm EST
Need more in-depth research help? Make a virtual appointment to work with a research librarian.
To schedule a time, use the Gutman Library Research Appointment tool.
Get a Harvard Library bookmark
Install the "Check Harvard Library" button in your web browser to link easily to Harvard Library's full-text access.
Find articles & books
Ex: "How young teachers experience their professional work in Chile"
Ex: "International education: an encyclopedia of contemporary issues and systems"
Help with your assignments
Get help from experts:
- Your professor or TF can discuss your ideas with you and help you connect them to course readings and assignments.
- Librarians can help you develop a research strategy and identify relevant resources and search terms.
- A Writing Center TF can help refine a research question and review drafts of papers.
Search subject databases
It's okay to begin with Google or HOLLIS, but then switch to specialized databases to find the best research from your discipline(s).
- "3-in-1" education articles search
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
- All databases @ Harvard Library
Manage and cite my research
Use Zotero to:
- create reference lists in APA and other formats
- create a searchable database of your research
- import citations, abstracts, and more from online sources
- organize notes and full text documents, such as PDFs, images, spreadsheets
Begin in HOLLIS to find books and articles available through the Harvard Library.
In HOLLIS but not available online?
- Go to Access Options on the HOLLIS record and click the "Scan & Deliver" or "Interlibrary Loan (now includes Borrow Direct)" link to request digital copies of articles and book chapters (only two chapters per book). Learn more about Scan & Deliver | Learn more about interlibrary loan
Not in HOLLIS or not available at Harvard?
- Go to Access Options on the HOLLIS record and click the "Interlibrary Loan (now includes Borrow Direct)" link to request materials from our partner libraries. Learn more about Borrow Direct | Learn more about interlibrary loan