Current News Sources: Databases
- Nexis Uni a standard library database for English language news, it allows you to search thousands of newspapers and newswires as well as radio and TV news broadcasts. The full text of articles is available back to about 1980. Searches can cover international, national, regional and local news sources. Note: also used by lawyers and legal scholars for its case law and law journal components.
- Academic Search Premier a great source for magazine articles, ASP also includes articles from newspapers and academic journals (over 4,000 publications!), so make sure to filter your searches appropriately. Coverage begins in the mid-1990s for most publications.
- AP Multimedia Archive (AP Photo Archive) a searchable database of over 700,000 Associated Press photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present. Accompanying captions and credits are also included. Images can be downloaded for later use (NOTE: personal, scholarly use only). This database can be searched by topic, location, date and concept.
Newspaper Holdings at Harvard
Note: the library catalog uses "journals" to mean any kind of periodical publication---newspapers, magazines, academic journals, and even monograph series are all categorized as "journals."
Links to Newspaper, Television, and Radio Station Websites
Current News Sources: Individual Titles
Newspaper websites v. newspaper articles
For many newspapers, you can find content via a "digital edition" and/or the newspaper's own website that is not included in the official print edition of the newspaper. Harvard Library offers you online access to the contents of the official print edition for almost all major newspaper titles, sometimes via an aggregator such as Nexis Uni or Factiva. Access ot the digital edition and/or newspaper website may require a special login (see the title list below for specific cases). In some cases, Harvard Library is unable to provide access to the digital edition and/or newspaper website.
The Boston Globe
- The Boston Globe's home page
- The Boston Globe - main HOLLIS record
- Alternate access: Harvard's access to the Boston globe is via Factiva, which limits the number of simultaneous users, but Massachusetts state residents can get online access to the Boston Globe (1980- ) via Gale, an unlimited-use platform.
- The Economist's home page (reload via Harvard Key or access via HOLLIS for full access)
- The Economist - main HOLLIS record (select "E-Journals" option for Harvard Key access to the digital edition)
- The Financial Times's home page
- The Financial Times - main HOLLIS record
- Alternate access: full text access by registering for a special "premium" account for the FT.com website with a Harvard e-mail address. After the initial registration process, you can use your id and password to access the Ft.com web site directly.
New York Times
- The New York Times's home page
- The New York Times - main HOLLIS record (Nexis Uni has the best coverage for current issues)
The Wall Street Journal
The Washington Post
- The Washington Post's home page
- The Washington Post - main HOLLIS record. For historical coverage, see the HOLLIS records for The Washington Post, Times Herald (1959-1973), The Washington Post and Times Herald (1954-1959), and The Washington Post (1877-1954).
- Alternate access: use your Harvard email address for a free digital account - follow the "Single Journals" link from the main HOLLIS record. After the initial registration process, you can use your id and password to access the wapo.com web site directly.