Home
Welcome
This guide contains recommended primary and secondary source resources for researching Environmental Law. The focus is on the United States, but selected international materials are also included.
Photo by Belle Co via Pexels
Secondary Sources
Using Secondary Sources
Whether you're looking for a general overview of environmental law or an in-depth treatment of a specific law or subject area, there are secondary sources that can help. Visit the following guide to learn more about secondary sources and how to use them:
Treatises and Other Texts
For a general overview, try Environmental Law in a Nutshell or Understanding Environmental Law. For treatises on specific legislation, see also the items under the federal legislation section.
Environmental Law Handbook by
The environmental field and its regulations have evolved significantly since Congress passed the first environmental law in 1970, and the Environmental Law Handbook, published just three years later, has been indispensable to students and professionals ever since. The authors provide clear and accessible explanations, expert legal insight into new and evolving regulations, and reliable compliance and management guidance. The Environmental Law Handbook continues to provide individuals across the country-professionals, professors, and students-with a comprehensive, up-to-date, and easy-to-read look at the major environmental, health, and safety laws affecting U.S. businesses and organizations. Because it is written by the country's leading environmental law firms, it provides the best, most reliable guidance anywhere. Both professional environmental managers and students aspiring to careers in environmental management should keep the Environmental Law Handbook within arm's reach for thoughtful answers to regulatory questions like: -How do I ensure compliance with the regulations? -How do the latest environmental developments impact my operations? -How do we keep our operations efficient and our community safe? The Handbook begins with chapters on the fundamentals of environmental law and on issues of enforcement and liability. It then dives headfirst into the major laws, examining their history, scope, and requirements with a chapter devoted to each. The 23rd edition of this well-known Handbook has been thoroughly updated, covering major changes to the law and enforcement in the areas of Clean Air, Clean Water, Climate Change, Oil Pollution, and Pollution Prevention. This is an essential reference for environmental students and professionals, and anyone who wants the most up-to-date information available on environmental laws.
Call Number: KF3775 .E473 2017ISBN: 9781598888652Publication Date: 2016-12-23
Environmental Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF3775.Z9 F56 2019ISBN: 9781640201132Publication Date: 2019-05-22
Federal Environmental Law by
This newly revised text is excellent as recommended reading or as a supplement for any class covering NEPA, RCRA, CERCLA, the Clean Air Act, or the Clean Water Act. The authors walk the reader through each chapter, discussing the policy and substance of the major statutes and citing recent cases, law reviews, and other secondary sources. This book greatly enhances classroom discussions of critical baseline issues because it helps students quickly understand key concepts and controversial issues.
Call Number: KF3775 .M69 2011ISBN: 9780314160454Publication Date: 2010-10-06
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell by
This well received book, informed by its interdisciplinary framework, succinctly yet accurately traverses and illuminates the full gamut of international environmental issues, laws and policies challenging the world today. The sixth edition responds to important developments arising subsequent to the fifth edition, relating, inter alia, to sustainable development, climate change, and energy. These developments include the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of 2015, the 2015 Paris Agreement on Climate Change that replaced the Kyoto Protocol, and the challenges posed by renewable energy and global poverty. In sum, the book offers a synoptic overview, and instructive analysis of the relevant treaties, customary law, and soft law instruments governing all areas of international environmental law.
Call Number: K3585.6 .G87 2022ISBN: 9781647087999Publication Date: 2021-11-08
The Making of Environmental Law by
The unprecedented expansion in environmental regulation over the past thirty years—at all levels of government—signifies a transformation of our nation's laws that is both palpable and encouraging. Environmental laws now affect almost everything we do, from the cars we drive and the places we live to the air we breathe and the water we drink. But while enormous strides have been made since the 1970s, gaps in the coverage, implementation, and enforcement of the existing laws still leave much work to be done. In The Making of Environmental Law, Richard J. Lazarus offers a new interpretation of the past three decades of this area of the law, examining the legal, political, cultural, and scientific factors that have shaped—and sometimes hindered—the creation of pollution controls and natural resource management laws. He argues that in the future, environmental law must forge a more nuanced understanding of the uncertainties and trade-offs, as well as the better-organized political opposition that currently dominates the federal government.
Call Number: KF3775 .L398 2004 OffsiteISBN: 0226470377Publication Date: 2004-10-22
Principles of Environmental Law by Call Number: KF3775.J6452 2016ISBN: 9780314195180Publication Date: 2015-12-15Understanding Environmental Law - 3d ed. by
Call Number: KF3775 .W45 2013ISBN: 9780769854953Publication Date: 2013
Research Databases and Websites
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)Visit the Environmental Protection Agency's website to begin research on environmental topics including air, water, climate change, pollution/chemicals, waste, mold and radon. Find laws and regulations by topic and business sector.
- Energy & Environmental Law Secondary Sources - WestlawFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Environmental Law Secondary Sources - LexisFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Environmental Law Reporter (ELI)Access is controlled by HLS IP address and is limited to the Harvard Law School community. Off-campus access is controlled by HLS Account username and password.
The Environmental Law Reporter is published by the Environmental Law Institute. Find the full text of federal statutes, state and international materials, recent agency and court developments, and articles and analysis of environmental law issues.
Environmental Law Journals
Although you may find articles about environmental law in any law journal, there are many journals that specialize in this area. For example:
- Environmental & Energy Law & Policy Journal
- Environmental Lawyer
- Environmental Law Reporter News and Analysis
- Harvard Environmental Law Review
- Journal of Environmental Law & Litigation
Links are to the Law Journal Library in HeinOnline, which is an excellent source for PDF versions of articles. Search for other publications via the database link below.
- Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)Access via HarvardKey
Full-text, page image access to law reviews and journals. Coverage begins with a journal’s first volume but does not usually include its most recent issues. Use the HeinOnline ScholarCheck citator to locate bar journals and law reviews that cite an article.
Westlaw and Lexis also offer a number of journals. For interdisciplinary research, look to the Environment Index database.
- Energy & Environmental Law Journals - WestlawFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Environmental Law Reviews and Journals - LexisFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Environment IndexAccess via HarvardKey
Find abstracts and indexing for over 1,000 titles covering environmental policy and studies, and citations for nearly 700,000 articles published since 1973. Areas covered include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Updated monthly.
Federal Legislation & Regulations
Major Federal Legislation
Each drop down box below covers the major federal environmental laws. Links are provided to the text of the law and its major amendments, selected legislative history materials, and some websites and treatises to further your research.
Note that there may be additional legislation for minor changes to the laws. Check the history sections of the codified version at Lexis or Westlaw for complete history of any given section.
Clean Air Act (CAA)
To improve, strengthen, and accelerate programs for the prevention and abatement of air pollution.
United States Code
- Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C § 7401 et seq. (Chapter 85) - via GovInfo
- Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C Clean Air Act, § 7401 et seq. (Chapter 85) in U.S. Code Annotated -- Annotated edition of the U.S. Code from Westlaw. Historical editions also available on Westlaw to 1990.
- Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C Clean Air Act, § 7401 et seq. (Chapter 85) in U.S. Code Service -- Annotated edition of the U.S. Code from Lexis.
Statutes at Large
- Clean Air Act of 1963, P.L. 88-206, 77 Stat. 392 - via GovInfo
- Clean Air Act Amendments of 1970, P.L. 91-604, 84 Stat. 1676 - via GovInfo
- Clean Air Act Amendments of 1977, P.L. 95-95, 91 Stat. 685 - via GovInfo
- Clean Air Act Amendments of 1989, P.L. 101-549, 104 Stat. 2399 - via GovInfo
Legislative History
- Legislative History of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 by the Environment and Natural Resources Policy Division of the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress
- Legislative History of the Clean Air Act of 1990 Public Law 101-549
- Legislative History materials for the CAA Amendments of 1990 on ProQuest Congressional -- A full legislative history is not available. At the link, use the search by number option to search for P.L. 101-549.
- Proquest Congressional Legislative History of the CAA Amendments of 1977 -- Proquest legislative histories contain the text of bills, hearings, House and Senate reports, CRS reports, and other material related to the passage of the law.
- Proquest Congressional Legislative History of the CAA Amendments of 1970
- Legislative History materials for the Clean Air Act of 1963 on Proquest Congressional -- A full legislative history is not available. At the link, use the search by number option to search for P.L. 88-206.
CAA Treatises
- Clean Air Act Handbook (via Westlaw)
- Clean Air Act: Essentials, Roy S. Belden, 3d ed. (2021) - Harvard Law School Library - KF3812.B45 2021
- The Clean Air Act Handbook, Julie R. Domike and Alec C. Zacaroli eds, 3d ed. (2011) - Harvard Law School Library - KF3812 .C554 2011
- More environmental law treatises - for more treatises covering environmental law generally, click here to go to this guide's secondary sources page
CAA Websites
Clean Water Act (CWA)
Formally known as the Federal Water Pollution Control Act.
United States Code
- Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251 et seq. (Chapter 26) - via GovInfo
- Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251 et seq. (Chapter 26) in U.S. Code Annotated - Annotated edition of the U.S. Code from Westlaw. Historical editions also available on Westlaw to 1990.
- Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251 et seq. (Chapter 26) in U.S. Code Service - Annotated edition of the U.S. Code from Lexis.
Statutes at Large
- Clean Water Act Amendments of 1977, P.L. 95-217, 91 Stat. 1566 - via GovInfo
- Clean Water Act of 1972, P.L. 92-500, 86 Stat. 816 - via GovInfo
Legislative History
- Clean Water Act of 1977 by Covington & Burling (legislative history)
- Proquest Congressional Legislative History of the Clean Water Act of 1977 - Proquest legislative histories contain the text of bills, hearings, House and Senate reports, CRS reports, and other material related to the passage of the law.
- Proquest Congressional Legislative History of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972
CWA Treatises
- The Clean Water Act Handbook, Mark A. Ryan, ed., 4th ed. (2018) - Harvard Law School Library KF3790.C545 2018
- Clean Water Act, Joel M. Gross, 2d ed. (2012) - Harvard Law School Library KF3790.G76 2012
- More environmental law treatises - for more treatises covering environmental law generally, click here to go to this guide's secondary sources page
CWA Websites
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA)
See also Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA)
United States Code
- Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act, 42 U.S.C. § 9601 et seq. (Chapter 106) - via GovInfo
Statutes at Large
- Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980, P.L. 96-510, 94 Stat. 2767 - via GovInfo
Legislative History
CERCLA Texts and Treatises
- CERCLA : Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (Superfund), Carole Stern Switzer and Peter Gray, 2d ed. (2008) - Harvard Law School Library KF1299.H39 S953 2008
- The Superfund Handbook: A Practitioner's Guide to CERCLA Litigation, Peter L. Gray (2016) - Harvard Law School Library KF1299.H39 G73 2016
- More environmental law treatises - for more treatises covering environmental law generally, click here to go to this guide's secondary sources page
CERCLA Websites
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA)
United States Code
Statutes at Large
Legislative History
- Proquest Congressional Legislative History of the RCRA of 1976 - Proquest legislative histories contain the text of bills, hearings, House and Senate reports, CRS reports, and other material related to the passage of the law.
RCRA Texts and Treatises
- RCRA: Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, John Teets (2003) - Harvard Law School Library KF3946 .T44 2003
- RCRA Demystified: The Professional's Guide to Hazardous Waste Law, David B. Kopel (1996) - Harvard Law School Library KF3946 .K67 1996
- More environmental law treatises - for more treatises covering environmental law generally, click here to go to this guide's secondary sources page
RCRA Websites
Emergency Planning & Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA)
United States Code
- Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act, 42 U.S.C. § 11001 et seq. (Chapter 116) - via GovInfo
Statutes at Large
- Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986, P.L. 99-499, 100 Stat. 1613 - via GovInfo
Legislative History
- Proquest Congressional Legislative History of EPCRA - Proquest legislative histories contain the text of bills, hearings, House and Senate reports, CRS reports, and other material related to the passage of the law.
EPCRA Texts and Treatises
- EPCRA compliance manual : interpreting and implementing the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986
- More environmental law treatises - for more treatises covering environmental law generally, click here to go to this guide's secondary sources page
EPCRA Websites
National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA)
United States Code
Statutes at Large
Legislative History
- National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 by Covington and Burling - 2-volume set containing hearings, reports, debates, and other materials related to NEPA's passage through Congress
- Sources of Compiled Legislative History: NEPA - Bibliography of books and journal articles about NEPA.
NEPA Texts and Treatises
- NEPA Law and Litigation 2d (via Westlaw)
- More environmental law treatises - for more treatises covering environmental law generally, click here to go to this guide's secondary sources page
NEPA Websites
State Legislation
50 State Surveys
- 50 State Surveys - Environmental Law (Lexis)For HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- 50 State Surveys - Environmental Law (Westlaw)For HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
State Legislation
- State Codes - Environmental Law (Lexis)For HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Energy & Environment Statutes and Court Rules (Westlaw)For HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
Cases
Environmental Law Cases
- Energy & Environment Cases - WestlawFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Environmental Law Cases (Federal) - LexisFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Environmental Law Cases (State) - LexisFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
News & Current Awareness
Blawgs
Legal blogs ("blawgs") can be a great way to tap into the conversations scholars, practitioners and interested organizations are having about current issues. Justia and ABA are two aggregators of blawgs on a range of subjects. Besides environmental law, you might also check out related areas like energy law, animal law, and agricultural law.
News
- Law360Access is available on the Harvard Law School campus. Off-campus access is available to current HLS affiliates and controlled by Harvard Key.
Law360 contains the latest legal news with the ability to filter news results on over thirty practice areas, nine jurisdictions, and eighteen industries. Law 360 also includes expert analysis on breaking legal issues.
- E&E News (via Politico Pro)Access via Harvard Key
Energy industry and environmental news - Legal Newspapers and Newsletters - WestlawFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
- Environmental Law Legal News - LexisFor HLS affiliates only. Individual login required.
EPA Library
EPA Region 1 Library
- Region 1 Library ServicesThe EPA region 1 library, which serves Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont and the NE Tribal Nations, is located at 5 Post Office Square in Boston, and is open to the public Monday-Thursday 9:00am-12:00pm and 12:30pm-3:30pm. Please call ahead to make sure the librarian is available.
The region 1 library may be able to suggest the best way to search for something online or help you find obscure EPA documents.
EPA National Library Network
Many materials published by the Environmental Protection Agency can be found by searching the EPA National Library Catalog or the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP). Some materials will be available directly in PDF, while others will be at one of the EPA libraries in print or microfiche. If they are available in one of the latter formats, you can request them through HLS's interlibrary loan form.
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class
CC License
CC License
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.
You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included and it is shared in the same manner.