Skip to main content

South Korean Legal Research

Guide to Researching the Law of the Republic of Korea (South Korea)

Introduction

The following guide selectively covers sources for South Korean law and academic research materials available at Harvard Law School, Harvard University, or through open internet sources.  Aimed at U.S.-based researchers, English-language sources are preferentially featured.

Main Source

Research Guides and Subject Overviews

Research Guides

Subject Overviews of South Korean Law in English

Romanization and Dictionaries

Romanization Systems

Print Collections

Library Print Collection for South Korean Materials

South Korean legal materials are shelved in the Reading Room on the fourth floor of the library. The call number range is KPA 1 to KPA 4990.

The Law School Library has a good subject collection, but the Yenching Library has the larger collection for South Korea.

Legislation

Bills

Administrative Law

Cases

South Korea is a civil law system. Case law is secondary. The body of available case law in English is limited.

Articles and EBooks

Law Journal Articles

Academic Journal Articles

Collections with International or Foreign Law Coverage

News

Law Governing Lawyers

Getting Help

Contact Us!

  Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.

 Email research@law.harvard.edu

 Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu

Drop-In Reference Visit our online Office Hours

 Meet with Us  Schedule an online consult with a Librarian

Hours  Library Hours

Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class

 Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728